In-form Hawks aim to silence Thunder

THE in-form Eaglehawk takes on Bendigo Thunder in this Sunday’s 11th round of the Champions IGA-backed AFLCV women’s football competition.

It’s second against third on the Hawks’ turf at S & R Park in Canterbury Park from 2.30pm.

In the past three rounds, Eaglehawk has beaten North Bendigo by 131 points, Kyneton by 88 points, and Kerang by 35 points.

Key players for the Borough include Grace Murley, Grace Edlin, Samantha Heron, Shanae Sawyer, Rachel Thomas and Ebony Whiley.

A major challenge for Eaglehawk will be limiting the chances for Thunder star Britney Mueck who is joint leader in the league’s goalkicking race on 38.

Thunder won its latest match at Kyneton by 116 points as Ayrlea Bailey-McClanahan and Sharni Barker kicked four goals, Brianna Burt and Hannah Perry chipped in with three majors.

A talented Thunder line-up includes Jessica Gould, Phoebe Cuttriss and Sharni Barker.

When these clubs last met in round four on May 2, Thunder’s accuracy played a key role in a 12-point victory.

Thunder scored 5.2 to 2.8 as Georgia Gordon kicked three goals to be among the best along with Jacinta Louttit, Briget Fellows and Shardae Sharp.

The Hawks best in that contest included Charlotte Edlin, Rachel Thomas and Hannah Kenny.

Strathfieldsaye has struck in fine style to now be fourth in the premiership race.

Storm faces a huge challenge this round against the unbeaten Golden Square on Strathfieldsaye’s turf at Triple M Park in Tannery Lane.

Wins in the past two rounds against Bendigo Thunder by 16  points and then at Kangaroo Flat by four goals have put Storm a win clear of the Kangaroos in the race for a finals berth.

Young gun Octavia Di Donato was best afield for Strathfieldsaye against Kangaroo Flat and looms as a major danger to Square.

Storm also has Amy Cameron, Tia Davidge, Alana Long, Claire Macgill and Taylah Moore in form.

A tally of 17 goals has Strathfieldsaye’s Tameeka Morrissey in fifth place in the league’s goalkicking race.

The unbeaten Golden Square has a formidable attack.

Tiahna Cochrane kicked seven goals in Square’s win against Kerang and is now joint leader in the CVFLW goalkicking race on 38.

Sarah Baldwin, Amanda Carrod, Jessica Cox, Brea Ross and Monique Williams all kicked two goals in Golden Square’s latest victory.

In-form players in the blue and gold include Amanda Carrod, Bree Heiden, Carly Ladson, Madeleine White and Liz Watkins.

The Storm and Bulldogs will do battle from 2.30pm.

Kerang and Kyneton will clash from 1.30pm at Kerang’s Riverside Park.

The previous clash between the Blues and Tigers ended in a 79-point win for Kyneton on home turf.

The margin is likely to be much closer this time.

Key players for Kerang include Donal and Tenay Fellows, Sophie Peacock, Jemma Meehan and Hannah Stewart.

Kyneton will look to Heidi Erasmus, Freya Goddard, Urusla Van Dyk, Mikaela Holman, Natalie Korinfsky, Jordan Savoia and Rachael Williams to lead the way.

North Bendigo faces Kangaroo Flat at Hibo Hotel Oval in North Bendigo’s Atkins Street from 2.30pm.

Key players for North Bendigo include Jade Crotty, Madelin Jelbart, Teagan Stuchbery, Alyssa Johnstone, and Cassandra Coughlan.

Beaten in its past four matches, Kangaroo Flat is now out of the top four.

Eileen Mitchell, Ruby Campbell, Millient Hipwell, Jemma Finning, Kylie Thompson and Brianna Boldiston were the Roos best in the latest hit-out against Storm.

Standings in the AFLCV women’s footy competition:

Golden Square 901 per cent, 44 points; Eaglehawk 266, 36; Bendigo Thunder 308, 32; Strathfieldsaye 117.9, 20; Kangaroo Flat 117.4, 16; Kyneton 51, 16; Kerang 39, 12; North Bendigo 0.69, 0.

The competition’s leading goalkickers:

38 Tiahna Cochrane, GS; Britney Mueck, BT.

20 Grace Edlin, Eh.

19 Ebony Whiley, Eh.

17 Tameeka Morrissey, S’saye.

15 Brianna Burt, BT.

14 Amanda Carrod, GS; Georgia Gordon, BT; Shelby Knoll, KF.

12 Samantha Heron, Eh.

11 Eloise Gretgrix, KF.

10 Sarah Baldwin, GS; Lily Campbell, GS.