Just two senior matches to be played

THERE will be just two senior matches played in Saturday’s 16th round of the Goldacres North Central Football League season.

Restrictions on Melbourne-based players have hit some clubs harder than others.

It’s Road Safety Round for leagues across AFL Central Victoria so all players and officials will wear the blue armbands to promote the campaign.

Donald has forfeited the seniors and reserves matches against Sea Lake Nandaly which were to have been played on the Royals’ turf at Donald Recreation Reserve.

The under-16s match between Donald and Sea Lake Nandaly will be played.

All matches between Boort and Wycheproof Narraport at Boort have been called off as the Demons forfeited.

Seniors, Reserves and under-16s contests between Charlton and St Arnaud are on at Charlton Park.

All matches between Birchip Watchem and Wedderburn at George Cartwright Oval in Birchip are on.

There is plenty for the Bulls and Redbacks to play for in the seniors match.

Win and Wedderburn stays second and can prepare for a second semi-final showdown with Sea Lake Nandaly Tigers.

Should the Bulls be victorious then they will jump to the second rung and earn the double chance for the finals series.

For this clash, Birchip Watchem regains Sam Simmons, Jack Ryan and Bill Lee, but Daniel Ratcliffe and Daniel Castellano are out.

Wedderburn has brought in Ryan Butters and Will Holt for Jayden Leach and Ashley Younghusband.

When these clubs met in round four on May 1, Wedderburn fought back to beat the Bulls by four points at Donaldson Park.

The Redbacks led 33-23 at half-time, but the Bulls held sway, 45-44 at a quarter to go.

Led by the play of Jackson Guan, Jordan Hargreaves and Jordan Rosengren, Wedderburn scored a great victory.

Will Holt led the Redbacks attack on two goals.

Daniel Castellano kicked two majors as Riley Hogan, Lachlan Ryan and Daniel Ratcliffe were Birchip Watchem’s best.

In the 14th round played on July 31, Wedderburn won at Boort by four goals.

Tom Campbell, Ben DeAraugo and Jordan Rosengren all kicked two goals in the victory.

Best for the Redbacks were Corey Lowry, Rosengren, Joseph Lockhart and Louis Holt.

Most recent hit-out for the Bulls ended in a 68-point win at Charlton where Will Sheahan kicked five goals in a best afield performance and Daniel Castellano added four.

Clayton Hinkley, Stefan Pye and Brady Hore were in top form.

The round four clash between the Saints and Navies ended in a one-point win for the visitors at Lord Nelson Park in St Arnaud.

The Navies led 34-22 at half-time, but the Saints fired up to lead 49-42 by three quarter-time.

Charlton scored 2.6 to 1.4 in a dramatic final term.

Rhys Thompson kicked three goals and Joe McGrath added two in Charlton’s victory.

The Saints’ attack was led by Angus Grant, three, and Jason Rogers, two.

Thomas Finlay, Ben Walklate, Darcy McCallum and Angus McKenzie were Charlton’s best in that contest.

Best for the Saints were Daniel Gifford, Lachlan McQuilken, Conlan Gunn and Nic Birthisel.

Both clubs are on the rebound from round 14 defeats.

Two weeks ago, Charlton went down to Birchip Watchem by 68 points.

Joe McGrath kicked three goals as Luke Mulquiny, Joseph Tormey, Jordan Collins and Angus McKenzie were best for the Navies against the Bulls.

The Saints were beaten by 13 goals on Donald’s turf.

Thomas Douglas kicked three goals and Dillon Baldock added two.

Mitch Birthisel, Jason Rogers, Brad Organ and Lachlan McQuilken were best in St Arnaud’s most recent hit-out.

Goldacres North Central FL senior footy ladder:

Sea Lake Nandaly 306 per cent, 36 points; Wedderburn 150, 34; Birchip Watchem 199, 32; Donald 125, 22; Boort 64, 12; Charlton 60, 12; St Arnaud 42, 8; Wycheproof Narraport 43, 4.

Goalkicking ladder:

28 Daniel Castellano, BW; Billy McInnes, SLN.

23 Brendan Goss, D.

22 Will Sheahan, BW.

20 Will Holt, W.

19 Wade Donnan, SLN; Cody Gunn, B; Joe McGrath, C.

18 Angus Grant, SA.

17 Tom Campbell, W; Rhys Thompson, C.

16 Braeden Deary, B.

14 Ben DeAraugo, W; Will Simpson, SLN.

13 Leigh Burke, D; Thomas Douglas, SA.

12 Jordan Rosengren, W; John Summerhayes, SLN.

11 Nathan Gordon, BW; Isaac Holt, W.

Written by Nathan Dole.