Kangaroos present season awards

KEY position player Matt Clifford has earned the Ron Wicks Medal as senior football best and fairest at Kangaroo Flat Football Netball Club for the 2019 season.

Clifford was one of the highly-prized recruits at Kangaroo Flat this season and his consistency in attack and defence was a highlight in many matches in the Bendigo Bank Bendigo Football Netball League.

Recruited from Hastings, Clifford was an assistant coach for the club based at Bendigo Mazda Oval in Dower Park.

Gun midfielder Jonathon Lanyon was runner-up for the Wicks Medal.

A great year on the netball court for the Roos included the A-grade team being runner-up to Sandhurst.

Joint captain and centre Chelsea Sartori claimed the Bingham Medal as team champion for A-grade.

Goal attack Julia Clarke was runner-up.

The Jason Stevens-coached under-18s football team celebrated the club’s long-awaited premiership.

The Roos’ young guns fought their way from an elimination final to beat Sandhurst in the grand final.

Winner of the George Symons Medal as fairest and best for the league, Mitch Trewhella was team champion at Kangaroo Flat.

He also earned the best in finals award, as captain Mitchell Rovers was runner-up for the team champion award.

Club champion Nicholas Lang was also presented with life membership of the Roos.

Another premiership-winning star, Emily Gray was the B-grade netball best and fairest.

The Roos scored a three-goal victory in the grand final against Sandhurst.

Brilliant in midfield or from a half-back flank, Lily Campbell was the senior women’s footy team champion.

Star forward and league goalkicking winner Kelly Mensforth was runner-up.

The Roos were beaten in the grand final by Golden Square.

First recipient of the Jenni Holborn award as the 17-under netball best and fairest was Charlotte McMurray.

The award was renamed this season to recognise Holborn’s outstanding contribution to Kangaroo Flat, which started as a player in the 1990s and continued as a coach and member of the netball sub-committee.

President’s Award for best clubperson was presented to A-grade netball coach Jayden Cowling.

A superb year for Kangaroo Flat’s netballers included A-reserve being runner-up, and B-grade reaching an elimination final.

The Kangaroo Flat FNC award winners for the 2019 season:


Seniors – Best and fairest, Wicks Medal: Matt Clifford. Runner-up: Jonathan Lanyon. Most determined: Nathan McHugh. Coaches award: Brodie Fry. Rising Star: Kyle Symons.

Reserves – Best and fairest: Brandon Etherington. Runner-up: Caleb Williams. Most determined: Hayden McSwain. Coaches award: Justin Williams. Most improved: Ryan Duncan.

Under-18s – Best and fairest: Mitchell Trewhella. Runner-up: Mitchell Rovers. Most consistent: Jade Mayes. Coaches award: Darcy Kelly. Most improved: Josh Leersen. Best in finals: Mitchell Trewhella. EJ Hynam Award for leadership and club spirit: Nick Keogh.

Senior women’s – Best and fairest: Lily Campbell. Runner-up: Kelly Mensforth. Coaches award: Kate Hare. Most improved: Emily Connor. Most determined: Sarah Moerke. Best in finals: Ruby Campbell.


A-grade – Best and fairest, Bingham Medal: Chelsea Sartori. Runner-up: Julia Clarke. Coaches award: Kate Burton. Best in finals: Alicia McGlashan.

A-reserve – Best and fairest: Brooke Lawry. Runner-up: Emma Moroney. Coaches award: Emma Moroney. Best in finals: Ava Lowndes.

B-grade – Best and fairest: Emily Gray. Runner-up: Rachel Winfield. Coaches award: Lucy Lang. Best in finals: Elise O’Callaghan.

B-reserve – Best and fairest: Molly Drum. Rrunners-up: Lydia Lowndes and Ella Bates. Coaches award: Kate Guy. Best in finals: Maddi Bigas.

17-and-under – Best and fairest, Jenni Holborn Award: Charlotte McMurray. Runner-up: Isabella Pitto. Coaches award: Lily Dickson.

Development – Best and fairest: Theresa Buchanan. Runner-up: Sophie Walsh. Coaches award: Darcy Squire. Best in finals: Theresa Buchanan.