Kangaroos win thriller against Gisborne

ANOTHER dramatic showdown was played out by Kangaroo Flat and Gisborne in Saturday’s 12th round of A-grade netball in the Bendigo Bank Bendigo Football Netball League.

The Roos and Bulldogs drew 43-all in the round three clash on Gisborne’s court at Gardiner Reserve.

Latest hit-outs between two of the league’s best was played at Bendigo Mazda Oval in Kangaroo Flat’s Dower Park.

The Kangaroos fought on to score a 40-38 victory in a match where there plenty of pressure and skill from both teams in all thirds of the court.

Strathfieldsaye marked the trek to Barkers Oval in Maryborough’s Princes Park by scoring a six-goal win against the Magpies.

In recent weeks team had been beaten by Kyneton and Gisborne, but the team in blue and white played great netball to win at Maryborough.

There were 100 goals scored as Storm beat the Magpies, 53-47.

South Bendigo was too strong for Kyneton at Queen Elizabeth Oval.

A talented Bloods line-up won 50-21.

Sandhurst outgunned Golden Square at Fur Life Vet Oval in Wade Street.

The team in maroon and blue won 70-22.

Eaglehawk had a bye in A-grade, but the Two Blues took on Castlemaine in the lower grades in Magpies’ territory at Camp Reserve.

Standings in the Bendigo FNL A-grade netball competition:

Sandhurst 188 per cent, 40 points; Kangaroo Flat 188, 38; Gisborne 153, 34; South Bendigo 106, 32; Eaglehawk 91, 24; Kyneton 66, 16; Strathfieldsaye 71, 12; Golden Square 51, 12; Maryborough 65, 8.

In next Saturday’s play, Sandhurst and Kangaroo Flat clash at Queen Elizabeth Oval.

Earlier in the season the Roos beat the ’Hurst by five goals at Bendigo Mazda Oval.

Gisborne and South Bendigo meet in another keenly-anticipated match at Gardiner Reserve.

Strathfieldsaye and Golden Square meet in the Storm’s zone at Triple M Park in Tannery Lane.

Eaglehawk takes on Maryborough at S & R Park in Eaglehawk’s Canterbury Park.

Kyneton has a rest in A-grade, but the Tigers will play Castlemaine in the lower grades at Kyneton Showgrounds.


Written by Nathan Dole.