Kyneton triumphs on Storm’s turf in Strathfieldsaye

KYNETON marked a successful trek to Strathfieldsaye’s Triple M Park in Sunday’s ninth round of the Champions IGA-backed AFLCV women’s football competition.

The Tigers took on Storm at the Tannery Lane ground.

Led by a best afield performance by Jordan Savoia, who also kicked two goals, Kyneton won 5.6 (36) to 3.6 (24).

Heidi Erasmus, Shaelyn Evans and Elizabeth Snell chipped in with goals for the Tigers.

Storm’s goalkickers included Tameeka Morrissey and Chelsea Reeves.

Kyneton’s best included Ursula van Dyk, Natalie Korinfsky, Evans, Snell and Shannon White.

Alana Long, Claire Macgill, Reeves and Amy Cameron were Strathfieldsaye’s best.

Eaglehawk scored a 35-point victory against Kerang in Sunday’s match at S & R Park in Eaglehawk’s Canterbury Park.

The Hawks led 13-1 at quarter-time and then added 3.1 to 1.1 in the second to hold a four-goal buffer by the long break.

Eaglehawk added three goals straight to 1.1 in the third.

Both teams added 19 points in the last term as the Hawks won 69-34.

Jasmine Burzacott and Charlotte Edlin kicked three goals apiece for the Borough as Samantha Heron chipped in with two.

Goalkickers for Kerang were Donal Fellows, Kelly Hogan, Toni Kelly, Remi Maher and Maddison Price.

Eaglehawk’s best were Kristal Lugosi, Rochelle Daley, Danielle Jeffery, Aleesha Daffy, Olivia Murley and Anya Cardilini.

Hannah Spencer, Hannah Stewart, Sophie Peacock, Tiahna Shepherd, Donal Fellows and Remi Maher played well for Kerang.

The competition’s leading goalkicker, Britney Mueck kicked seven goals as Bendigo Thunder took on North Bendigo at Hibo Hotel Oval in Atkins Street.

Goalless after eight rounds, North Bendigo marked its first major of the season as Kayla-Brea McIntosh was on target.

A strong Thunder attack was led by Mueck; Brianna Burt, four goals; and Phoebe Cuttriss, two, in a 17.19 (121) to 1.0 (6) victory.

Thunder’s best were Phoebe Cuttriss, Brianna Burt, Lucy Junor, Britney Mueck, Jessica Ross and Sharni Barker.

Melissa Freestone, Leonie Schulz, Madelin Jelbart, Creeley Sarah, Mackenzie Brouwer and Rose Wilkens were North Bendigo’s best.

The round kicked off under Golden Square’s lights at Fur Life Vet Oval on Friday night.

The unbeaten Golden Square kept Kangaroo Flat scoreless after quarter-time on the way to a 37-2 victory at the Wade Street ground.

Tiffany Bradley, Tiahna Cochrane, Danielle Fitzpatrick, Emma Heaney and Mia Ward all kicked goal.

Golden Square’s best were Madeleine White, Carly Ladson, Sarah Baldwin, Tiahna Cochrane, Danielle Fitzpatrick and Bree Heiden.

Jemma Finning, Abbey Barber, Molly Metcalf and Ruby Campbell worked hard for the Kangaroos.

Standings in the Champions IGA-sponsored AVLCV women’s football competition:

Golden Square 675 per cent, 36 points; Bendigo Thunder 316, 28; Eaglehawk 181, 24; Kangaroo Flat 130, 16; Kyneton 75, 16; Strathfieldsaye 108, 12; Kerang 43, 8; North Bendigo 0.88, 0.

Leading goalkickers:

36 Britney Mueck, BT; 21 Tiahna Cochrane, GS; 18 Grace Edlin, Eh; 17 Tameeka Morrissey, S’saye; 13 Ebony Whiley, Eh; 12 Brianna Burt, BT; 12 Georgia Gordon, BT; 12 Shelby Knoll, KF; 10 Amanda Carrod, GS; 10 Lily Campbell, GS.

Teams take a break this weekend.

The 10th round will be played on Sunday, July 11 from 2.30pm.

Kangaroo Flat takes on Kerang at Bendigo Mazda Oval in Kangaroo Flat’s Dower Park.

Eaglehawk and Bendigo Thunder clash at S & R Park in Canterbury Park.

Golden Square faces North Bendigo at Fur Life Vet Oval in Wade Street.

Bendigo Thunder and Strathfieldsaye Storm collide at Weeroona Oval.


Written by Nathan Dole.