Ladder leaders meet at Weeroona

COMPETITION leaders Golden Square and Bendigo Thunder meet at Weeroona Oval in this Sunday’s eighth round of the Champions IGA-backed CVFL women’s football competition.

Thunder’s six-game winning streak began after a four-goal loss to Golden Square in the season’s opening round played on April 10.

Unbeaten premier in 2019, Golden Square has chalked up seven consecutive wins this year.

In last Sunday’s play, Thunder fought on for a 43-34 win on Kangaroo Flat’s ground at Bendigo Mazda Oval in Dower Park.

Three goals by Thunder star Britney Mueck lifted her season tally to 29.

Thunder’s best against the Roos were Brianna Burt, Megan Williamson, Jodie Palmer and Arylea Bailey-McClanahan.

Pressure in and around the contest will be crucial to Thunder’s chances of upsetting the blue and gold at the Napier Street ground.

A powerful Golden Square line-up includes Tiahna Cochrance, 17 goals; Lily Campbell, 10 goals; as well as Amanda Carrod, Bree Heiden, Andrea Wilson, Ella Cochrane, Sarah Baldwin and Carly Ladson.

Thunder’s attack includes Georgia Gordon and Brianna Burt.

Another big match will be at Bendigo Mazda Oval where Kangaroo Flat takes on Eaglehawk.

It’s third against fourth.

The Roos’ best in a hard-fought clash with Bendigo Thunder were Ashlye Faulker, Shelby Knoll, Lily McNair and Ruby Campbell.

Bridget O’Dwyer kicked three goals for the Kangaroos.

A talented attack for the Flat includes Shelby Knoll, 12 goals;  Eloise Gretgrix and Kelly Mensforth on seven each.

The Hawks scored a 40-33 victory in last Sunday’s match against Strathfieldsaye at S & R Park in Canterbury Park.

When the Hawks and Roos clubs met under the Eaglehawk lights in round one it was a 35-26 win for the Borough at S & R Park.

Charlotte Edlin and Ebony Whiley kicked two goals apiece.

In-form players for Eaglehawk include Grace and Charlotte Edlin,  Taylor Bellesini and Emily Field.

Leading goalkickers for the Two Blues are  Grace Edlin on 17, and Ebony Whiley on 11.

Players to watch for Kangaroo Flat include Ruby Campbell, Chloe Green, Brit Jackson and Molly Metcalf.

Kyneton hosts North Bendigo at Kyneton Showgrounds.

The Tigers will be determined to bounce back from a 94-1 defeat on home turf to Golden Square.

Key players for Kyneton include leading goalkicker Teagan Ainslie, nine goals; Jennifer Schellekens, Jordan Savoia, Ursula Van Dyk, Belinda Hateley and Shannon White.

It’s been a tough season for a North Bendigo line-up which will be desperate to break its goal drought.

Key players for the team in red, white and blue include Madelin Jelbart, Alyssa Johnstone, Mikaela McGrath, Bianca Rogers and Cassandra Coughlan.

Kerang chases consecutive victories when it hosts Strathfieldsaye at Riverside Park.

The round one match between the Blues and Storm ended in an 81-9 victory on Strathfieldsaye’s turf at Triple M Park.

The margin is likely to be closer this time.

Sharni Ferrari marked her first match for Kerang by kicking five goals in last Sunday’s win against North Bendigo.

Best in Kerang’s first win were Jemma Meehan, Donal and Tenay Fellows, Maddison Price and Remi Maher.

The Blues also have Sophie Peacock, Tiahna Shepherd and Abbey Free in form.

In round one, Tameeka Morrissey kicked six goals for Storm and she again looms as major danger for the Blues.

Alana Long, Roweena Ilsley, Claire Macgill, Emily Galtieri, Chelsea Reeves and Jessica Jackson will play roles in Storm’s bid to return to the winner’s list.

Standings in the Champions IGA-backed CVFL women’s football competition:

Golden Square 735 per cent, 28 points; Bendigo Thunder 389, 24; Eaglehawk 186, 20; Kangaroo Flat 155, 16; Strathfieldsaye 131, 12; Kyneton 58, 8; Kerang 34, 0; North Bendigo 0.1, 0.

All of Sunday’s matches start at 2.30pm.


Written by Nathan Dole.