LBU jumps to top spot after thrashing White Hills

LOCKINGTON Bamawm United jumped to top spot on the senior football ladder after Saturday’s thrashing of White Hills in the eighth round of the Bendigo Bank Heathcote District Football Netball League season.

In the clash of the previously unbeaten teams it was LBU which dominated after quarter-time to win 25.17 (167) to 4.10 (34) at Tint A Car Oval in Scott Street, White Hills.

The Demons went into the contest without playing coach Sam Kerridge and full-forward Jed Lamb because of the travel restrictions imposed on those from metro regions, and also sustained several injuries during the game.

The Brodie Collins-coached Cats showed no mercy.

LBU led 31-15 at quarter-time and 60-22 by the long break.

It was one-way traffic in the second half as the Cats slammed on 17 goals and White Hills added just one.

Jarod Bacon led the onslaught with six goals as Tom Leech, four; Lachlan Collins, Patrick Gardiner, Ben McPhee and Rhys Woodland capitalised on the onball and midfield dominance to score three goals apiece.

The only multiple goalkicker for White Hills was Lachlan Collihole on two.

Bart Phillips was best afield for LBU as Jarod Bacon, Gardiner, Tyler Phillips, Woodland and Ben McPhee racked up plenty of possessions.

Coach for the day, Jack Fallon worked hard all match for the Demons, as did Rhys Irwin, centreman Patrick Eefting, Kaiden Skelton, Jake Allport and Nathan Moffat.

Mount Pleasant unearthed another goalkicker as Blake Grant booted five majors in the Blues win on Heatchcote’s turf at Pigeon Park in Barrack Reserve.

The Blues led the Saints, 34-9 at quarter-time and kicked away to lead by 44 points at the long break.

The Wayne Primmer-coached Saints worked hard to score 13 goals for the match, but Mounts was too strong in a 148-88 victory.

It was Grant and rising star Fletcher White who led the Mounts attack on five goals as Travis Baird, a triple premiership-winning star for Golden Square added four goals.

Heathcote’s attack was led by Codie Price, a premiership winner with Sandhurst, on four goals.

Best for the Blues were Liam Collins, Jesse Tuohey, Adam Baird, Michael Whiting, Fletcher White and Travis Baird.

Jake Condon, Louis Piccolo, Ben Connelly, Codie Price and Nathan Bake played well for the Saints.

Key forwards Dylan Klemm and Shane Harris kicked seven and five goals as North Bendigo scored a 46-point win against Elmore.

The Bulldogs led 43-18 at quarter-time of the clash played at Hibo Hotel Oval in North Bendigo’s Atkins Street.

It was 58-31 in favour of the Matt Dillon-coached Bulldogs at the long brak and they then scored 7.4 to 3.1 in the vital third term.

Elmore fought on to win the last quarter, 33-25, but it was North Bendigo which won the contest, 129-83 and in the process climbed back to the third rung on the ladder.

Klemm and Harris starred in attack and Manny Thalasinos also added two goals.

Elmore’s leading goalkicker was James Harney on four as Mitch Cricelli, coach Dylan Friedberger and Dylan Oaff added two each.

Klemm was again North Bendigo’s best and had great support from Aarryn Craig, Harris, Bailey Wingrave, Tom Metherell and Jordan Ford.

Best for Elmore were Zack Holmberg, James Harney, Nic Kellow, Zac Laffy, Callan Wilson and Mitch Cricelli.

A 10-goal haul by Flynn Campbell in his eighth senior game was a highlight of Huntly’s win against Leitchville Gunbower at Degroot Roof Painting Oval in Leitchville.

The Hawks raced a 38-8 lead by quarter-time and kept the pressure on.

Although Huntly added just 11 points in the second term it kept the Bombers scoreless.

The Hawks added 5.2 to a goal in the third and 6.3 to three goals in the last to complete a 120-32 victory.

Jordan Formosa won plenty of the ball and also kicked three goals to be Huntly’s best as Flynn Campbell, Tyler Miles, Jay McDonald, Matt Jeffries and Jake Maher starred for the brown and gold.

Leitchville Gunbower’s leading goalkicker was Zeb Ellwood on two.

Tom Brereton, Lincoln Sieben, Ellwod, Ayden Walton, Darcy Elliott and Bailey Taylor played well for the Bombers.

Colbinabbin had the bye.

Heathcote DFNL senior footy ladder:

Lockington Bamawm United 306 per cent, 28 points; White Hills 131, 28; North Bendigo 106, 20; Colbinabbin 149, 16; Mount Pleasant 97, 16; Huntly 104, 12; Elmore 63, 8; Heathcote 70, 4; Leitchville Gunbower 33, 0.0.

Leading goalkickers:

54 Jed Lamb, WH; 23 Ben Weightman, MP; 22 James Harney, Elm.; 22 Jarod Bacon, LBU; 19 Thomas Leech, LBU; 18 James McPhee, LBU; 18 Shane Harris, NB; 16 Lachlan Collins, LBU; 16 Stephen Tuohey, Colbo.; 14 Dylan Klemm, NB; 13 Jed Brain, Colbo.; 13 Mitch Dole, WH; 12 Anthony McMahon, LBU; 12 Flynn Campbell, Huntly; 12 Rhys Deacon, MP.

Match of the day in next Saturday’s ninth round will be at Lockington’s Nichol Oval where LBU meets North Bendigo in the battle of the Cats and Dogs.

Elmore takes on Heathcote at Elmore Recreation Reserve.

Huntly and White Hills clash at Specialist Breeders Australia Oval in Huntly’s Strauch Reserve.

Another big match will be at Toolleen where Mount Pleasant and Colbinabbin renew their fierce rivalry.

Leitchville Gunbower has the bye.

Written by Nathan Dole.