LVFNL Football Reserves | Grand Final WRAP UP

Marong marks unbeaten run to premiership glory

THE 18th victory of the season was the sweetest of all as Marong’s reserves football team won the Bendigo Bank Loddon Valley Football Netball League’s grand final on Saturday.

The Jarrod Harris-coached Marong went into the clash with Pyramid Hill at Marist College Bendigo oval in Maiden Gully as hot favourite.

Previous meeting between the teams had ended in a 35-25 win for Marong in the second semi-final.

The grand final began with Pyramid Hill making the better start to lead 9-3 at quarter-time.

The Panthers lifted to score 2.3 to a point in the second.

Pyramid Hill’s tally of two goals as Marong frittered chances by scoring five points in the third meant the premiership favourites were just a point up going into the last quarter.

As it had done so often this season, Marong lifted when under pressure to score 3.4 to a point in the last to claim a 45-23 victory.

Adrian Pappin kicked a match-high three goals for Marong as Zack Turnbull was also on target.

The Panthers’ other goalkicker was not listed.

Pyramid Hill’s attack was led by Rowan Pollock on two goals and Luke Pollock.

Best for the Panthers were Josh Cooper, Adrian Pappin, Thomas Wilson, Matthew Willox, Sam Taylor and Brodie Hartland.

Jordan Mathers, Bradley Moon, Luke Padgham, Greg Quinn, Mitch Gunther and Matthew Moon played well for the Bulldogs.

It was the Panthers’ first reserves premiership since ’94.


Marong’s premiership-winning team:

Harry Baker, Cameron Berry, David Blume, Aaron Collins, Josh Cooper, Patrick Gretgrix, Reece Gretgrix, Brodie Hartland, Rhian Hender, Ben Langridge, Philip Loomes, Bradley Matthews, Kane Newton, Adrian Pappin, Gus Reade, Billy Stewart, Sam Taylor, Tucker Thach, Zack Turnbull, Matthew Willox, and Thomas Wilson.


Written by Nathan Dole.