LVFNL Football Under 18’s | Grand Final WRAP UP

Panthers claim under-18s premiership

MARONG kicked off a memorable Bendigo Bank Loddon Valley Football Netball League grand final day by winning the under-18s footy clash with Bridgewater.

The Panthers went into the match as favourites at Marist College Bendigo oval in Maiden Gully.

At the end of a closely-fought first quarter, Marong led 14-8.

The Zack Turnbull and Patty Gretgrix-coached Panthers then scored 4.1 to a goal in the second to hold a 25-point margin by half-time.

A score of 5.2 to 2.0 in the third put Marong well in control of the contest.

The Panthers scored 1.2 to a point in the last to complete a 79-27 victory.

Jacob Manning kicked five goals in a best-on-ground performance as Kynan Baldwin and Kai Terrill added two goals and Jack Collins, Lachlan Hale and Jake Reid chipped in with one each.

Goalkickers for Bridgewater were Hudson Pidoto and Cale Woodhatch on two each.

Marong’s best were Jacob Manning, Noah McCaig, Ben Cruise, Kai Terrill, Brodie Coombs, Bailey Holland.

Best for the Wayne Naughton-coached Bridgewater were Aaron Gauci, Cale Woodhatch, Terry Nitschke, Oscar Horan, Cooper Rooke and Toby Naughton.

The grand final victory capped a great year for Marong which achieved a win-loss record of 13-2 in the four-team competition and had scored a 45-point win against Bridgewater in the second semi-final.

It was Marong’s first under-18s premiership since 2015.

The Panthers premiership-winning team of 2022:

Xavier Baldock, Kynan Baldwin, Taigue Blandthorn, Jack Collins, Brodie Coombs, Ben Cruise, Isaac Gillman –Sharp, Lachlan Hale, Josh Hall, Bailey Holland, Zac Justice, Jacob Manning, Kobe McCaig, Noah McCaig, Oskar Porad, Jake Reid, Byron Rogers, Spencer Taylor, Kai Terrill, Jobe Thomson, Rhys Wakefield, and Mitchell Worme.

Coaches: Zack Turnbull and Patty Gretgrix.



Written by Nathan Dole.