LVFNL Netball Preliminary Final | Mitiamo wins another thriller this time


FOR the second week running, Mitiamo was involved in a dramatic A-grade netball match in the Bendigo Bank Loddon Valley FNL finals series.

Mitiamo took on Marong in Saturday’s preliminary final at Calivil.

At stake was a place in the grand final, a feat Mitiamo has achieved many times in recent years.

The Jen Wilson-coached Superoos were on the rebound after being beaten in overtime of the second semi-final by Maiden Gully YCW Eagles.

On Saturday, Mitiamo led by seven goals at just over five minutes to play in the clash with Marong.

The Sue Borserio refused to give up and poured in the goals.

The Panthers clawed their way back into the contest and had a chance to force the match into overtime after Mia McCrann-Peters was awarded a penalty at seconds to go.

The shot missed and the Superoos were through to the season decider after a 50-49 victory.

It was a brilliant fightback by the Sue Borserio-coached Marong which in the previous two games with the Superoos had been beaten by margins of 12 and 29 goals.

Among Mitiamo’s best in the preliminary final were goalshooter Carly Scholes and wing attack Alicia Hay.

In defence, Caitlyn Hocking and Abbey Battersby had great duels with their opponents.

Marong’s defenders in Tracey O’Donnell and Abby Thompson were superb, as was Tess Teggelove at goal attack.

Preliminary final day included wins for Maiden Gully YCW in B-grade, C-reserve, and 13-and-under.

Marong won the C-grade match, and Bears-Lagoon Serpentine the 17-and-under clash.

Bridgewater advanced to the 15-and-under grand final.

Loddon Valley FNL netball preliminary finals scoreboard:

A-grade: Mitiamo d Marong 50-49.

B-grade: Maiden Gully YCW d Bridgewater 63-37.

C-grade: Marong d Pyramid Hill 44-39.

C-reserve: Maiden Gully YCW d Newbridge 46-29.

17-and-under: Bears-Lagoon Serpentine d Marong 38-29.

15-and-under: Bridgewater d Maiden Gully YCW 39-36.

13-and-under: Maiden Gully YCW d Bridgewater 37-24.

On grand final day there will be six clubs represented across the seven grand finals.

It’s a rematch of 2022 grand finalists Maiden Gully YCW Eagles and Mitiamo in A-grade.

Now coached by Adam Boldiston, Maiden Gully YCW is chasing back-to-back premiership victories.

The Eagles will have five teams in action on grand final day, and Marong Panthers will be represented by three teams in the season deciders.

At junior level it’s the young stars from Bridgewater in the 17-and-under and 15-and-under finals, plus Bears-Lagoon Serpentine’s 17-under team.

Calivil United will be chasing a premiership double as the 15-under and 13-under teams take to the court.

Schedule for Saturday’s grand finals at Inglewood’s Dissy Machinery Oval:

A-grade at 3.15pm: Maiden Gully YCW v Mitiamo.

B-grade at 1.30pm: Marong v Maiden Gully YCW.

C-grade at 10am: Maiden Gully YCW v Marong.

C-reserve at 1.30pm: Marong v Maiden Gully YCW.

17-and-under at 11.45am: Bridgewater v Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

15-and-under at 10.30am: Calivil United v Bridgewater.

13-and-under at 11.45am: Calivil United v Maiden Gully YCW.