LVFNL Netball | Preliminary Final WRAP UP

Eagles soar into A-grade premiership decider

MAIDEN Gully YCW Eagles has soared into the A-grade netball grand final in the Bendigo Bank Loddon Valley Football Netball League.

The Eagles struck back from a 14-goal loss to Mitiamo in the second semi-final the previous Saturday to control most of last Saturday’s preliminary final clash with Calivil United at Holloway Air Riverside Oval in Newbridge.

A brilliant goalshooting combination of league best and fairest Tia Webb and  runner-up Meg Patterson capitalised on the play of a mid-court led by Leisa Barry to mark a 56-42 win against the Demons.

Just as importantly for Maiden Gully YCW was the defensive work of Rachael Gray and Laura Butler.

Playing coach Christie Griffiths was rapt the team earned a chance at premiership glory.

The Eagles have not won an A-grade premiership since it beat Mitiamo in 2013.

There were some closely-fought and high-scoring matches on preliminary final day.


In B-grade, Maiden Gully YCW Eagles beat Newbridge, 45-40.

Bridgewater won the C-grade clash with Marong, 39-27.

In C-reserve, Marong marked a 20-goal win against Newbridge.

Calivil United won the 17-and-under match against Newbridge, 39-26.

Pyramid Hill worked hard to win the 15-and-under matches and 13-and-under matches.

In the 15-under match, Pyramid Hill beat Bears Lagoon Serpentine, 40-26.


It was a thrilling finish to the 13-and-under match as Pyramid Hill held on for a 26-25 result against Calivil United.

There will be six clubs represented across the seven grand finals.

Maiden Gully YCW will feature in five of them – B-grade, C-grade, C-reserve and 17-and-under.


Schedule for Saturday’s grand finals at Marist College Bendigo in Maiden Gully:

13-and-under at 10.30am: Marong v Pyramid Hill.

17-and-under at 10.30am: Maiden Gully YCW Eagles v Calivil United.

15-and-under at noon: Marong v Pyramid Hill.

C-grade at noon: Maiden Gully YCW Eagles v Bridgewater.

B-grade at 1.30pm: Bridgewater v Maiden Gully YCW Eagles.

C-reserve at 1.30pm: Maiden Gully YCW Eagles v Marong.

A-grade at 3pm: Mitiamo v Maiden Gully YCW Eagles.


Written by Nathan Dole.