LVFNL Reconciliation Round Football Preview


Demons turn up heat against Inglewood

CALIVIL United’s push to claim a place in the Loddon Valley FNL’s top five relies a lot on winning Saturday’s round seven clash with Inglewood.

The Anthony Dennis-coached Calivil United starts the match two wins adrift of the fifth-placed Blues.

The Demons have Northern Territory FNL legend Cameron Ilett in for a one-off match.

Ilett’s connection to Calivil United is through Anthony Dennis when they were team-mates at Tongala.

A multiple premiership winner with Nightcliff, Ilett brings plenty of experienced and skill from a career of more than 600 matches.

A tally of seven goals put the Demons within 14 points of Bears-Lagoon Serpentine at half-time of last Saturday’s clash.

By the final siren the BLS line-up led by 80 points.

Best for Calivil United were Lewis Fisher, Cody Thompson, Hamish Wall, Sam Maher, Mitchell Stephens and Evan Ritchie.

The Demons’ team to tackle the Blues includes Sam Green, Jordan Lea, Jack Maher and Brodie Wagner.

After a nil-two start, Inglewood has won its past three matches.

Key players in the charge by the Fergus Payne-coached Blues include Daniel and Sam Polack, key defender Will Allen, Campbell Love and Liam Marciano.

The Blues line-up bound for Calivil includes Bowen Cauchi, Mitch Conlan, Tarran Kilcullen, Callum March and Keelan Payne.

Maiden Gully YCW Eagles are home at Marist College Oval to take on Marong.

Massive challenge for the Eagles against the Panthers who are unbeaten as they chase a premiership hat-trick.

The Maiden Gully YCW team coached by Shawn Filo, non-playing, and Angus Monfries, playing, was held to a tally of 3.7 in last Saturday’s loss at Walker’s Donuts Riverside Oval in Newbridge.

A powerful Marong attack includes Kain Robins, Ryley Taylor and Ryan Wellington.

Equally impressive have been tall defenders Shaun Knott and Richard Tibbett with their intercept marks or spoils.

A talented Panthers team includes Nathan Devanny, Jimmy and Will Gadsden, Corey Gregg, Jack and Noah McCaig.

Pyramid Hill will be back on home turf at Mitchell Park to take on Newbridge.

The Nathan Fitzpatrick-coached Pyramid Hill marked a big win at Mitiamo’s John Forbes Oval before the bye.

The Bulldogs cannot afford to take Newbridge lightly.

Last round Newbridge won at home against Maiden Gully YCW by 88 points.

Key players for Pyramid Hill include Dylan Morison, Brad Ladson and Gavin James in defence, Dameon Hemphill, Seb Relouw, Dylan Collis and captain Steven Gunther.

The Bulldogs’ attack is led by Zac Alford, Bailey Scott, Jesse Sheahan and Jaydon Cowling.

Was a superb effort by the Sam Gale and Daniel Smith-coached Newbridge to mark its first victory of the season.

Will Copland, captain Will Daly, Tyler Constable, Dylan Lloyd, Tyler McLeod, Matt McArthur, Ricky Cathie and Caleb Sanders will play crucial roles for the Maroons.

Mitiamo is home at John Forbes Oval to take on Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

Massive test for the Jon Varcoe-coached Mitiamo in limiting the impact Bears gun forward Josh Mellington has on this game.

Mellington kicked 12 goals in the win against Calivil United.

The Jake Mellington-coached Bears are brilliantly led by captain Charlie Gadsden and have the experience of Tyler Miles, Justin Laird, Ross Turner and Ryan Prendergast.

Others  to watch in the purple and gold include Nathan Twigg, Doolan Nihill and Beau Roy-Clements.

Bridgewater has the bye.

Loddon Valley FNL senior footy ladder:

Marong 286 per cent, 24 points; Bridgewater 143, 16; Bears-Lagoon Serpentine 134, 16; Pyramid Hill 250, 12; Inglewood 79, 12; Newbridge 64, 4; Calivil United 41, 4; Maiden Gully YCW 55, 0; Mitiamo 42, 0.

Leading goalkickers:

57 Josh Mellington, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

41 Lachlan Sharp, Bridgewater.

21 Kain Robins, Marong.

21 Ryan Wellington, Marong.

19 Zach Alford, Pyramid Hill.

14 Bailey Scott, Pyramid Hill.

14 Jesse Sheahan, Pyramid Hill.

13 Mitch Conlan, Inglewood.

13 Ryley Taylor, Marong.

12 Noah McCaig, Marong.

10 Andy Collins, Bridgewater.

10 Chris Dixon, Newbridge.

10 Will Farrer, Maiden Gully YCW.

10 Keelan Payne, Inglewood.

9 Ben Baker, Calivil United.

9 Nathan Devanny, Marong.

8 Jaydon Cowling, Pyramid Hill.

8 Todd Delaney, Maiden Gully YCW.

8 Anthony Dennis, Calivil United.

8 Liam Marciano, Inglewood.