LVFNL Round 4 Football Preview


Big clashes at Pyramid Hill, Marong

THE top four teams across the Bendigo Bank Loddon Valley FNL senior footy competition team do battle in this Saturday’s fourth round.

Match of the day status could go to Pyramid Hill versus Bridgewater at Pyramid Hill’s Mitchell Park, or Marong against Bears-Lagoon Serpentine at Marong’s Malone Park.

Both matches will start at 2.15pm.

At Pyramid Hill the Bulldogs will strive to break Bridgewater’s winning run.

Pyramid Hill put in a superb effort to almost defeat Marong last round.

Best for the Bulldogs in a 79-71 result in the Panthers den were Brodie Carroll, Damon Hemphill, Gavin James and Lachlan Sidebottom.

Massive challenge for the Nathan Fitzpatrick-coached Bulldogs in limiting the impact Bridgewater’s gun forward Lachlan Sharp has on the contest.

Sharp kicked 15 goals in Bridgewater’s victory against Inglewood.

A formidable attack for the Rick Ladson-coached Mean Machine includes Harry Conway, captain Josh Martyn, and Lee Coghlan.

Pyramid Hill will need strong defensive efforts from Dylan Morison, Jack Timmins, Tom McGregor and Gavin James.

The Bulldogs’ attack is led by Zach Alford, Dylan Collis and Jaydon Cowling.

It’s first against third as Marong takes on Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

The Linton Jacobs-coached Panthers clawed their way to an eight-point victory against Pyramid Hill.

There are plenty of goalscoring options for Marong through Kain Robins, Matt Riordan and Ryan Wellington.

Panthers ruckman Michael Bradbury often provides first use of the footy for the likes of Will Gadsden, Nathan Devanny and Jack McCaig.

Been a brilliant start to the season by Bears gun forward Josh Mellington who is equal leader in the goalkicking race on 35 goals.

Key players for the Bears include coach Jake Wilkinson, Ross Turner, Charlie Gadsden, Tyler Miles, Justin Laird and Orion Downing.

Inglewood is home at Centre State Scaffolding to take on Newbridge.

Both teams were well beaten last round.

The Fergus Payne-coached Blues will be keen to break their winless run.

Look for Tom Kennedy, Daniel Polack, Liam Marciano, Keelan Payne, Callum March, Will Allen and Lachlan Ford to be driving forces for Inglewood.

Newbridge will be equally desperate to mark its first win of ’24.

Key players for a Maroons team coached by Sam Gale, playing, and Daniel Smith, non-playing, include Caleb Sanders, Will Copland, Tyler McLeod, captain Will Daly, Aidan Moore, Ricky Cathie and Chris Dixon.

Calivil United clashes with Mitiamo at Calivil Recreation Reserve.

The Demons had the bye last round as Mitiamo was beaten by Maiden Gully YCW Eagles.

A Calivil United squad coached by Anthony Dennis includes Dan Canfield, Sam Green, Jordan Lea, Sam Maher, Hamish McGregor and Thomas Piazza.

Mitiamo’s best against the Eagles were Andrew Cussen, Ryan Duncan, Kobe Galvin and Alex Lloyd.

The Jon Varcoe-coached Superoos will look to captain Luke Lougoon, Nathan Twigg, Jack Vinnicombe, Bryce Laird and Jackson Falls to lead the way to victory.

Maiden Gully YCW Eagles have the bye.

Loddon Valley FNL senior footy ladder:

Marong 431 per cent, 12 points; Bridgewater 258, 12;  Bears-Lagoon Serpentine 172, 12; Pyramid Hill 183, 4; Maiden Gully YCW 70, 0; Newbridge 39, 0; Mitiamo 35, 0; Inglewood 28, 0; Calivil United 24, 0.

Leading goalkickers:

35 Josh Mellington, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

35 Lachlan Sharp, Bridgewater.

13 Jesse Sheahan, Pyramid Hill.

11 Zach Alford, Pyramid Hill.

9 Kain Robins, Marong.

9 Ryan Wellington, Marong.

8 Todd Delaney, Maiden Gully YCW.

8 Ryley Taylor, Marong.

7 Noah McCaig, Marong.

6 Bailey Scott, Pyramid Hill.

5 Andy Collins, Bridgewater.

5 Harry Conway, Strathfieldsaye.

5 Jaydon Cowling, Pyramid Hill.

5 Will Farrer, Maiden Gully YCW.