Maiden Gully YCW marks first victory of season

MAIDEN Gully YCW Eagles marked their first win of the Bendigo Bank Loddon Valley FNL’s senior footy season in Saturday’s clash at Calivil.

Eagles’ coach Wayne Mitrovic showed he is still a huge danger in attack as he kicked a match-high four goals in the 90-76 win.

The Eagles were up against a Demons line-up which had beaten Bridgewater the previous round.

Maiden Gully YCW led 39-20 at quarter-time, but the Jack Daley-coached Demons fought back to within a goal at half-time and four points at a quarter to go.

Led by the play of Jessi Lampi, Hamish McCartney and ruckman Chris Howgate it was the Eagles who showed plenty of dare to win the last term, 29-19, and the match.

Mitrovic and Jason Butty kicked four goals apiece as Mitchell Dean added two.

The in-form Jacob Greenwood booted four goals for the Demons.

The Eagles’ best included Clinton Angove, key defender Steve Turner, and Will Anderson.

Best for the Demons were Phil Ryan, Ben Daley, Nick McPherson, Jacob Greenwood, Jake Lawry and Mitchell Deering.


Despite a points tally of 22, Pyramid Hill fought on to claim a 52-44 win on Mitiamo’s ground at John Forbes Oval.

The Marcus McKern-led Mitiamo led 34-26 at half-time, but the Bulldogs took control in the third as they added 2.6 to a point.

The Superoos kept working hard and were rewarded with two goals in the last, while the Bulldogs peppered the goals to add 1.8.

At the final siren the Nathan Fitzpatrick-coached Pyramid Hill led 5.22 (52) to 7.6 (48).

Best for the Bulldogs were Steven Gunther, Scott Mann, Nathan Catherwood, Ben Dalton and James Arratta.

Mitiamo’s best were Lee Dale, Jack Vinnicombe, Doug Thomas, Lachlan Twigg, Ben Parry and Daniel Mowat.


A five-goal haul by coach Justin Laird played a big part in Bears Lagoon Serpentine’s win against Newbridge.

The Bears led 36-22 at half-time of the clash at Gadsden Finance Serpentine Reserve.

A tally of 1.7 in the third kept Newbridge in the game as the Maroons scored 3.1 to be within 14 points at the start of the final term.

Inspired by the play of Laird, Charlie Gadsden and Ryan Prendergast it was BLS which won the final term, 13-7, and the match, 68-48.

The Bears’ best included James Bailey, Kalem Paxton and Josh Walsh.

Best for the Maroons were Mitch Hocking, Logan Dixon, Thomas Hobson, Dylan Lloyd, Cameron Grant and Tyler McLeod.


A 14-goal haul by star forward Brandyn Grenfell earned best on ground honours in Marong’s big win at Inglewood’s Dissy Machinery Oval.

It was a huge test for the Darrell Billett-coached Inglewood as it pursued its fourth win of the season.

Marong led 47-2 at quarter-time and the pressure did not ease as the Panthers added four goals in the second quarter, six in the third, and 10 in the last.

Grenfell capitalised on Marong’s dominance around the packs and through midfield in a 27.16 (178) to 7.5 (47) result.

Other multiple goalkickers for the Panthers were Adrian Pappin, three; Nathan Devanny and Ryley Taylor, two.

Inglewood’s attack was led by Charlie McGaw on three.

Best for the Panthers were Brandyn Grenfell, Kyle Manley, ruckman Justin Hynes, Corbin Fleming, David Johnstone, and wingman Jack McCaig.

The Blues’ best were Luke Matheson, Bregon Cotchett, Charlie Ingham, Cody Wright, Nathan Angelino and Charlie McGaw.

Bridgewater had the bye.


Loddon Valley FNL senior footy ladder:

Marong 253 per cent, 20 points; Pyramid Hill 210, 20; Mitiamo 130, 16; Inglewood 84, 12; Bridgewater 96, 8; Bears Lagoon-Serpentine 68, 8; Calivil United 89, 4; Newbridge 51, 4; Maiden Gully YCW 42, 4.


Leading goalkickers:

44 Brandyn Grenfell, Mar.

16 Bailey George, PH.

14 Jacob Greenwood, CU; Josh Martyn, B’water; Jay Reynolds, Miti.

13 Jason Butty, MGYCW; Andy Collins, B’water.

12 Justin Laird, BLS; Harry Whittle, New.

11 Adrian Pappin, Mar.

10 Traiton Kendal, I’wood; Charlie McGaw, I’wood; Kain Robins, Mar.

9 Braidy Dickens, PH; Chris Dixon, New.; Ryley Taylor, Mar.

8 Alex Lowe, I’wood; Lloyd Needs, B’water; Cody Wright, I’wood.

7 Nathan Devanny, Mar.; Harrison Gadsden, BLS; Steven Gunther, PH; Jake Lawry, CU; Rhonen Maher, BLS; Kyle Manley, Mar.; Lucas Matthews, Miti.; Wayne Mitrovic, MGYCW; Carl Nicholson, Miti.; Richard Tibbett, Mar.; Ryan Wellington, Miti.

Goals from Inglewood’s round one win at Calivil to be added.

In next Saturday’s seventh round, Newbridge takes on Bridgewater at Holloway Air Riverside Park in Newbridge.

Marong faces Bears Lagoon Serpentine at Malone Park.

Pyramid Hill and Calivil United clash at Mitchell Park.

Maiden Gully YCW and Mitiamo meet in the Eagles’ next at Marist College.

Inglewood has the bye.


Written by Nathan Dole.