McPhee earns George Ilsley Medal as Hawks’ best once again

GUN onballer or forward Ben McPhee won a dramatic showdown for the George Ilsley Medal as Eaglehawk Football Netball Club’s senior footy best and fairest for the 2019 season.

McPhee earned the Hawks’ top honour for the third time in four years.

Gun netballer Ash Ryan followed up her Betty Thompson Medal victory as best in the Bendigo Bank Bendigo FNL A-grade competition by winning the Two Blues’ award.

It was the second year running that Ryan was the A-grade team champion.

McPhee and key forward/ruckman Cam McGlashan were in an absorbing duel for the Ilsley Medal.

After the final card was called, McPhee was on 88 votes and McGlashan was on 85.

Next best were wingman/forward Gedd Hommelhoff, 66; Dillon Williams and Brodie Collins, 55; and Sam Harper, 49.

The John Ledwidge coaches award and best player in finals trophy were presented to dashing defender Joel Mullen.

The Borough Blood award was earned by key forward Shaun Knott.

The Travis Matheson-coached Eaglehawk was beaten in last month’s grand final by Strathfieldsaye by 14 points.

A star in the mid-court, Ryan polled 53 votes to again be A-grade best and fairest at Eaglehawk.

Runner-up was Allira Holmes on 39 votes

A tally of 30 votes put Abbey Ryan in third place.

The Hawks also played great netball to reach the preliminary final.

Coached by Mali Roberts, Eaglehawk put in a spirited effort throughout the finals campaign to win the elimination final against South Bendigo by 12 goals, and the first semi against Gisborne by a goal.

The preliminary final against Kangaroo Flat ended in a 50-36 win for the Roos.

Ash Ryan also won the best in finals trophy, while Imogen Davies took out the coaches award.

The Linton Jacobs-coached reserves also played great footy to reach the preliminary final.

Winner of the Allan ‘Bruiser’ Williams Medal as reserves best and fairest was Brendan Tanner on 84 votes.

Next best were Jack Thompson, 77; Mali Cross, 71; Corey Jacobs, 56; and Ben Thompson, 50.

The coaches award was presented to Brody Brown.

Clay Davies was best in finals and Henry Miller took out the Borough Blood award.

In the under-18s, Zack Bulger maked the rare feat of winning the Darren Thompson Medal in consecutive years.

Bulger scored 118 votes as Reardon McIvor was runner-up on 88.

Next best were Jake O’Brien, 72; Kyal Zass, 68; and Corey Webb, 64.

Coaches award went to Corey Webb, Jacob O’Brien was most consistent and Connor Attwater was most determined.

Georgie Hyett won the inaugural senior women’s football best and fairest award.

Hyett polled 78 votes to finish 13 clear of Beppina Marshall, with Taylor Bellsini, Megan Bagnall and Emily Field in the top five.

The coaches award was presented to Lisa Hilson

Emma McLean was the leading goalkicker.

Most consistent was Sophie O’Brien, and Lauren Maloney earned the most improved award.

The Kylie Piercy Medal in A-reserve netball was won by Eleisha Lay on 40 votes.

Runner-up was Renee Sheridan, 36, and Gracie Berryman was third on 25.

Coaches award was won by Emily Kinder and Amy Jackman was best in finals.

Despite being off-court for some games, Maddy Atherton polled 73 votes to be a runaway winner of the B-grade best and fairest.

Joint runners-up were Kate Clow and Jasmine Kinder on 28 votes, as Phoebe Baines scored 25 to be third.

Coaches award was presented to Charli Dean.

It was a closely-fought race for B-reserve honours.

Tess Doran scored 42 votes to be the team champion ahead of Georgie Hyett, 37, and Lydia Barri on 24.

Coaches award went to Shelby Hickman.

Best in finals for a  team which was runner-up to Strathfieldsaye in the grand final was Georgie Hyett.

It was another 17-and-under best and fairest award for Jasmine Condliffe as she polled 58 votes as Tia Reaper and Ariah Keogh were locked on 30 to be joint runners-up.

The coaches award went to Imogen Kinder, and best in finals was Jasmine Condliffe.

A key off-field player at Eaglehawk FNC, Kevin Price earned the George Ennor Award for best clubperson.

Price is a regular at working bees, runs the bar at Thursday training and game days, and also assists with the junior football club.