Mitiamo completes unbeaten run into finals series

MITIAMO has capped an unbeaten run into the Bendigo Bank Bendigo Football Netball League’s senior footy finals series after an 18th round win against Bridgewater.

The Superoos took on the Mean Machine in Saturday’s clash at Mitiamo’s John Forbes Oval.

It was Bridgewater which made a brilliant start to the contest.

The Mean Machine slammed on five goals to nil in the first term and led 33-2 at quarter-time.

Mitiamo struck back brilliantly and slammed on nine goals and kept Bridgy to a goal.

By the long break it was Mitiamo in front, 59-42.

The Superoos kept the intensity at the contest at a high level in the third term as it scored 4.3 to 1.1.

An evenly-fought final quarter was won by Mitiamo, 20-16, to complete a 106 to 65 victory.

Co-coach Tyrone Downie led Mitiamo’s attack on four goals as Brayden Baines and Brent Downie added three apiece.

The skilful Andy Collins led Bridgewater’s attack on three goals and Alex Pollock chipped in with two.

Mitiamo’s best were Ross Turner, Tyrone Downie, Matt Grant, Max Simpson, Luke Lougoon and Brent Downie.

Boden Alexander, Jack Symons, Jake Rusbridge, Cameron Ross, Peter Rothacker and Nic Naughton played well for Bridgewater.

An elimination final showdown arrived a week earlier as Bears Lagoon Serpentine took on Pyramid Hill at Serpentine.

The Bears made a flying start to the game and led 37-19 at quarter-time.

Pyramid Hill struck back to be within four points of BLS at the long break.

After a high-scoring first half in which Bears Lagoon Serpentine led 51-47, defences were on top in the third.

The Bears added 2.3 to 3.1 as scores were locked on 66-all at a quarter to play.

Led by the play of Jacob Heavyside, Dylan Morison and James Blood it was Pyramid Hill which finished strongly to score 2.4 to just two points in the final term to seal an 82-68 victory.

Braidy Dickens and Jacob Heavyside kicked three goals apiece for the Bulldogs and Mitch Cheesman added two.

The Bears attack was led by Rhys Smith, four; Andy Gladman and James Rippingale, two.

Best for the Bulldogs included ruckman Adrian Holland, Bailey Goodwin and Micheal Bateman.

Josh Walsh, Rippingale, Darcy Poulter, Jeremy Hancock, Gladman and Tannar Cerrone were best for the Bears.

Both clubs meet in next Sunday’s elimination final at Discover Marong Park in Marong’s Malone Park.

It was a tough afternoon for Newbridge in its final match of the season against Marong at Simonds Homes Riverside Oval in Newbridge.

The Panthers have one of the strongest attacks in the league, but it was Marong’s defence which was superb in this contest.

Marong led 53-nil at half-time.

Jack Clark kicked what would be Newbridge’s only goal of the match in the third term.

A sign of Marong’s dominance was 32 shots on goal to just two, although Panthers’ coach Linton Jacobs will be keen to see greater accuracy in the final.

Adrian Pappin kicked a team-high four goals as Kain Robins, three, and Simon Weekley, two, were the other multiple goalkickers in a 102-7 victory.

Marong’s best were Ben Gregg, Nathan Devanny, Harry Graham, Braden Hender, Josh Cooper and Jacob Ede.

Ryan Burt, Hugh McGillivray, Logan Dixon, Austin Fithall, Ricky Cathie and Tom Hobson were Newbridge’s best.

There were 40 goals scored in the Inglewood and Maiden Gully YCW Eagles showdown at Inglewood’s Dissy Machinery Oval.

The Eagles blooded six first-game players and coach Wayne Mitrovic starred in attack.

Maiden Gully YCW led 70-24 at quarter-time and scored six goals in the second to gain a 76-point margin by half-time.

With Chris Howgate dominating the ruck contests, the Eagles added 6.4 to 2.0 in the third term.

In the final quarter of a tough season for both clubs, Maiden Gully YCW added 10 goals to complete a 33.13 (211) to 7.3 (45) victory.

Mitrovic was the main avenue in attack and had great support from Matt Gray and Josh Worsley, five goals; and Sam Barnes on four.

Traiton Kendal played a great game for the Blues to boot four goals as Cody Stobaus added two.

Best for the Eagles were Howgate, Barnes, Tori Ferguson, Luke Gray and Grayson Brown.

Inglewood’s best were Stobaus, Matt Rowe, captain Jaxon Billett, Jasper McClelland, Kendal and Jack Nevins.

Loddon Valley FNL senior footy ladder:

Mitiamo 292 per cent, 100 per cent won; Marong 275, 83; Bridgewater 216, 83; Pyramid Hill 163, 58; Bears Lagoon Serpentine 112, 45; Maiden Gully YCW Eagles 115, 36; Newbridge 45, 18; Calivil United 36, 18; Inglewood 13, 0.

Schedule for next weekend’s finals:

Saturday at Serpentine:

Seniors qualifying final: Marong v Bridgewater.

Reserves qualifying final: Mitiamo v Maiden Gully YCW Eagles.

Under-18s first sem-final: Bridgewater v Inglewood.

Sunday at Discover Marong Park, Marong’s Malone Park:

Seniors elimination final: Pyramid Hill v Bears Lagoon Serpentine.

Reserves elimination final: Pyramid Hill v Bridgewater.

Written by Nathan Dole.