Mitiamo marks 11th consecutive victory

MITIAMO marked its 11th consecutive victory when the 2021 Bendigo Bank Loddon Valley Football Netball League’s senior footy season resumed on Saturday.

The Superoos led 15-8 at quarter-time of the clash on Pyramid Hill’s turf at Mitchell Park and then scored 4.1 to 1.2 in the second term to gain a four-goal buffer.

Mitiamo co-coach Tyrone Downie was a danger to the Bulldogs’ defence all match and went on to kick five goals as Tim Brooks and Andrew Cussen added three each in the 90-39 victory.

Goalkickers for the Bulldogs were James Blood, Mitch Cheesman, Ashton Dye, Gavin James and Jake Willcocks.

Ruckman Nathan Twigg was best afield for the Superoos and had great support from Tyrone Downie, key defender Max Simpson, Jarryd Wiegard, Cussen and Jackson Falls.

Jake Willcocks, centreman Scott Mann, ruck rover Matt Ladson, Bailey Goodwin on a wing, Brad Ladson at half-back and the versatile Bailey George were Pyramid Hill’s best.

Marong dominated the second half of its clash with Bears Lagoon Serpentine at Serpentine.

The Panthers led 66-41 at half-time and scored 11.12 to 3.2 in the final hour to complete a 144 to 61 victory.

Nathan Devanny and Brandyn Grenfell kicked four goals apiece and Zac Turnbull added three.

Justin Laird led the Bears attack on four majors.

Marong’s best were ruckman Justin Hynes, Devanny as rover, Adam Ward off a half-back flank, on-baller Ben Gregg, key defender Harry Graham and key forward Kain Robins.

Laird, defenders Orion Downing and Jeremy Hancock, Darcy Poulter and Anthony Lewin played well for the Greg Gadsden-coached BLS line-up.

The Linton Jacobs-coached Marong has a win-loss record of 9-2.

The third-placed Panthers take on Inglewood at home, and then play Newbridge at Simonds Homes Riverside Oval in Newbridge to complete the home and away series.

Calivil United unleashed a second-half blitz on Inglewood’s turf at Dissy Machinery Oval.

The Demons led 34-13 at quarter-time and 63-26 by the long break.

It was in the third quarter where Calivil United upped its run and pressure to score eight goals and hold Inglewood to just one major.

The Demons added seven goals in the last as the Blues scored two.

Jake Lawry capped a best on ground performance by kicking eight goals in the 166-46 result for the Demons.

Ben Baker was also in hot form as he kicked six goals for Calivil United.

Inglewood’s attack was led by Cody Stobaus on three goals.

Best for Calivil United were Jake Lawry, Jayden Manderson, Tim Lloyd, Jedd Thompson, Sam Green and Tain Piercy.

Cody Stobaus, Shaun Morgan, captain Jaxon Billett, Luke Matheson, Tynan Hywood and Kyle Simpson played well for the Inglewood Blues.

A tally of 46 points was Inglewood’s best since 45 against Bears Lagoon Serpentine in the fourth round played on the Bears’ ground at Serpentine Recreation Reserve.

Bridgewater scored a 10-goal win against Maiden Gully YCW Eagles at Marist College Oval.

Josh Martyn and Jarrod Fitzpatrick both kicked three goals apiece for the Mean Machine as Darren Clutton and Alex Pollock chipped in with two each.

The Eagles attack was led by Matt Gray on two.

Boden Alexander earned best afield honours for Bridgewater in match where Caillum Brady, Fitzpatrick, Peter Rothacker, Harry Symons and Cameron Ross played well for the red and white.

Hamish McCartney, Cody Wright, Tom and Tori Ferguson, Josh Worsley and Sean Moyle were best for the Eagles.

Beaten just once this year by Mitiamo, Bridgewater is back on home turf at Bridgewater Bakehouse Oval for next Saturday’s clash with the fourth-placed Pyramid Hill.

The Mean Machine went into Saturday’s match without Andy Collins, Adam Filippi, Lloyd Needs and Alex Powell.

Newbridge had the bye.

Loddon Valley FNL senior footy ladder:

Mitiamo 313 per cent, 100 per cent won; Bridgewater 245, 90; Marong 259, 81; Pyramid Hill 168, 54; Bears Lagoon Serpentine 115, 50; Maiden Gully YCW Eagles 95, 30; Newbridge 49, 20; Calivil United 25, 10; Inglewood 11, 0.

Leading goalkickers:

56 Josh Martyn, B; 47 Braidy Dickens, PH; 46 Kain Robins, Mar.; 38 Tyrone Downie, Miti.; Brandyn Grenfell, Mar.; 29 Tim Brooks, Miti.; Ryan Wellington, Miti.; 28 Bailey George, PH; 27 Alex Powell, B; 20 Mitch Cheesman, PH; Jarrod Fitzpatrick, B; 18 Adrian Pappin, Mar.; 17 Andy Collins, B; Brent Downie, Miti.; Jesse Evans, BLS; Lloyd Needs, B; Harry Whittle, N; 16 Matt Gray, MGYCW.

In next Saturday’s 17th round, Bridgewater takes on Pyramid Hill at Bridgewater Bakehouse Oval.

Maiden Gully YCW Eagles face Bears Lagoon Serpentine at Marist College Oval.

Marong and Inglewood clash at Discover Marong Park in Malone Park.

Calivil United and Newbridge clash at 5 Star Stockfeeds Oval in Calivil.

Mitiamo has the bye.


Written by Nathan Dole.