Mounts beat Dogs to claim Russell Roulston Cup

MOUNT Pleasant claimed the Russell Roulston Cup as it beat North Bendigo by 29 points in Saturday’s seventh round of the Bendigo Bank Heathcote District Football Netball League’s senior footy season.

The Blues were desperate for victory and a chance to climb into the top five.

The match on Mounts’ turf at Toolleen also honoured Russell Roulston, a star forward with the Blues in the 1980s, and premiership-winning forward with North Bendigo in 1974 and ’77.

The Roulston brothers, Russell and Doug were key targets in a formidable Bulldogs attack, especially the run to an unbeaten premiership in 1977 when John Plim was captain-coach.

A great run of grand final wins for Russell Roulston included being full-forward as Golden Square won the BFL flag in 1976.

On Saturday it was the Blues who outplayed the North Bendigo breed of Bulldogs for most of the contest.

A key inclusion for Mounts was gun onballer and 2019 Michelsen medallist Adam Baird.

Co-coach of the Blues with Darren Walsh, Baird is a multiple premiership winner with Golden Square.

In his first match for Mounts, Baird won plenty of the footy and set up a lot of attacks.

The Blues led 16-14 at quarter-time and then scored 5.4 to 3.2 in the second term.

A closely-fought third term was won by Mounts, 15-9.

The Matt Dillon-coached North Bendigo kept working hard, but the Blues had the answers as they won the final term, 23-16, to complete a 12.16 (88) to 8.11 (59) victory.

Rhys Deacon led the Blues attack on six goals to be best on ground as Fletcher White and Ben Weightman chipped in with two apiece.

The in-form Dylan Klemm led North Bendigo’s attack on three goals.

Best for Mounts included Adam Baird, Bryce Hinneberg, Riley McNamara, Liam Collins and Weightman.

Jordan Ford, Bailey Wingrave, Clay Davies, Klemm, Storm Giri and Ryan Alford were best for the Bulldogs.

White Hills star forward Jed Lamb passed the 50-goal mark as he kicked a game-high six in the Demons win at Elmore by 51 points.

The Bloods played an outstanding first quarter to be within nine points of the ladders leaders at the first break.

White Hills dominated most of the next term as it added 4.3 to 1.1 to lead 61-32 at half time.

It was more of the same in the third quarter as the Demons scored five goals and held the Bloods to just one.

The final term was to be Elmore’s best as it added four goals straight to 3.3.

Lamb finished with a game-high six goals as Lachlan Collihole, four, and coach Sam Kerridge, three, were on target in the 17.13 (115) to 10.4 (64) victory.

Elmore’s attack was led by Farran Priest and Dylan Oaff on three apiece.

Best for the Demons were Jake Allport, Kerridge, Collihole, Rhys Irwin, David Wright and Doolan Nihill.

Mitch Cricelli, James Harney, Nic Kellow, Oaff, Sam Lees and Joe Harney played well for Elmore.

Colbinabbin won every quarter on its way to a 16.13 (109) to 6.5 (41) victory against Heathcote at M.J. Morgan Reserve.

The Grasshoppers made a strong start on their turf to lead 34-7 at quarter-time.

The margin was 31 by the long break and the Grasshoppers did not let up as they scored 4.6 to a goal in the third term.

Stephen Tuohey kicked six goals in a best on ground performance and Laine Fitzgerald added three for the green and gold.

Heathcote’s attack was led by Matt Mikic, three, and Liam Edwards, two.

Colbo’s best included Ben Barton, Nick Knight, Ben Southam, Laine Fitzgerald and Patrick O’Brien.

Tom Pain, Mitch McLean, Dillon Hardy, Mikic, Nathan Bake and Louis Piccolo were best for the Saints.

A seven-goal haul by James McPhee was a highlight of Lockington Bamawm United’s big win against Leitchville Gunbower.

The Cats had 38 scoring shots on their way to a 22.16 (148) to 3.3 (21) result at Lockington’s Nichol Trading Oval.

Those to join in LBU’s goalscoring spree included Patrick Gardiner, Anthony McMahon and Ben McPhee on three apiece.

Goalkickers for the Bombers were Zeb Ellwood, Billy Hawken and Nathan McLellan.

Joseph Wolfe, James McPhee, Ben McPhee, Patrick Gardiner, Jacob Gardiner and McMahon were best for the Cats.

Ayden Walton, Bailey Taylor, Tom Brereton, Josh Hawken, Lee Pollock and Austin Windridge were Leitchville Gunbower’s best.

Standings in the Heathcote DFNL’s senior footy competition:

White Hills 260 per cent, 28 points; Lockington Bamawm United 282, 24; Colbinabbin 149, 16; North Bendigo 97, 16; Mount Pleasant 86, 12; Huntly 85, 8; Elmore 55, 8; Heathcote 73, 4; Leitchville Gunbower 34, 0.

Match of the day in next Saturday’s eighth round will be at White Hills where the Demons take on Lockington Bamawm United at Tint A Car Oval in Scott Street.

North Bendigo meets Elmore at Hibo Hotel Oval in Atkins Street.

Heathcote and Mount Pleasant clash on the Saints’ turf at Pigeon Park in Barrack Reserve.

Leitchville Gunbower tackles Huntly at Degroot Roof Painting Recreation Reserve in Gunbower.

Colbinabbin has the bye.

Written by Nathan Dole