NCFL Round 10 Preview


Big matches at Wycheproof, Birchip

MATCHES which have a huge bearing on the top four will be played at Wycheproof and Birchip in Saturday’s 10th round of the Goldacres North Central senior footy season.

Wycheproof-Narraport is back home at Wycheproof to tackle Donald from 2.30pm.

It’s fifth against third.

Last Saturday’s home win against Nullawil has put the Wayne Mitrovic-coached Demons level with Nullawil on 16 premiership points.

The Demons start the round almost seven per cent behind Nullawil.

Donald won its latest hit-out at Wedderburn by 57 points.

When the Royals and Demons met in round one it was Donald which scored a 27-point victory.

The Demons charge to a 58-point win against Nullawil was led by Nicholas and Josh Grabowski, Chris Cox and Morgan Fawcett.

Wycheproof-Narraport’s team for this round includes captain Spencer Allan, Koby Hommelhoff, Lachlan Van Schaik, Cody Green and Rick Allan.

Players to watch for the Royals include captain Hayden Geddes, coach Josh Potter, Ryley Barrack, Andrew Browne, Daniel Pearce and Jamie Papalia.

Birchip-Watchem takes on Nullawil at Birchip’s George Cartwright Oval.

It’s first against fourth.

The Trevor Ryan-coached Birchip-Watchem won the first-round clash at Nullawil by four goals.

The Bulls had the bye last Saturday which  followed a 31-point win against Wycheproof-Narraport.

In-form players for the Bulls include Daniel Bell, Meyrick Buchanan, Ty Colbert and Sam Simmons.

Nullawil will be determined to hit back from a nine-goal loss at Wycheproof.

Best for the Daryl Wilson-coached Maroons in the Demons’ den were Daniel Watts, Mitch Farmer, Ben Brennan, Billy Forrester and Dude Kelly.

Boort and Sea Lake Nandaly meet in the battle of Magpies and Tigers at Boort Park.

In the season opener the Tigers beat the Magpies by 41 points.

The Dale Cameron-coached Boort played well to win last Saturday’s home game against St Arnaud by 16 goals.

Best for the Magpies were Jhye Baddeley-Kelly, Tom Potter, Ethan Coleman and James Keeble.

The Boort squad includes Malachi and Ethan Coleman, Natnael McLaren, Jarrod Starr and James and Keiren Wilson.

Beaten just once this season, Sea Lake Nandaly has plenty of scoring power.

The reigning premiers have co-coach Billy McInnes, Lachy McClelland, Tyson McKenzie and Will Simpson.

A powerful team in yellow and black includes Ryan O’Sullivan, Wade and Kane Donnan, co-coach Bryce Delmenico and Brody Weir.

Wedderburn faces St Arnaud at Wedderburn’s Donaldson Park.

The Tom Metherell-coached Wedderburn must win to keep the heat on Nullawil and Wycheproof-Narraport.

The Redbacks will be determined to rebound from a 57-point loss at Donald.

Key players for the Redbacks include Tom Campbell, Jordan Hargreaves, captain Joe Lockhart, Danny Benaim, and Louis, Oscar and Rhordan Holt.

St Arnaud’s latest match at Boort Park ended in a 16-goal loss.

Best for the Scott Driscoll-coached Saints were Harley Durward, Owen Lowe, Daniel Gifford and Matt Goode.

The St Arnaud squad includes Mitch Birthisel, Hamish Darby, Mitch Egan Jacob Tillig and Kurtis Torney.

Charlton has the bye.

North Central senior footy ladder:

Birchip-Watchem 196 per cent, 30 points; Sea Lake Nandaly 205, 28; Donald 120, 22; Nullawil 102, 16; Wycheproof-Narraport 95, 16; Wedderburn 115, 14; Boort 89, 14; St Arnaud 40, 4; Charlton 41, 0.

Leading goalkickers:

49 Ben Edwards, Birchip-Watchem.

28 Josh Jenkins, Sea Lake Nandaly.

27 Mitch Farmer, Nullawil.

25 Trent Grant, Donald.

24 Tom Campbell, Wedderburn.

24 Nicholas Rippon, Birchip-Watchem.

21 Jack Exell, Nullawil.

19 Anthony Zelencich, Wedderburn.

18 James Keeble, Boort.

17 Nicholas Grabowski, Wycheproof-Narraport.

17 Billy McInnes, Sea Lake Nandaly.

14 Joseph Reid, Birchip-Watchem.

13 Oscar Holt, Wedderburn.

12 Ethan Coleman, Boort.

11 Blake Grant, Donald.

11 Lachy McClelland, Sea Lake Nandaly.

10 Will Perryman, Boort.

9 Noah Berry, Donald.

9 Ty Colbert, Birchip-Watchem.

9 Chris Gavaghan, Charlton.

9 Darcy Jackson, Wedderburn.

9 Tyson McKenzie, Sea Lake Nandaly.

9 Will Simpson, Sea Lake Nandaly.

8 Daniel Bell, Birchip-Watchem.

8 Thomas Cox, Sea Lake Nandaly.

8 Corey Jones, Wycheproof-Narraport.

8 Steven Kennedy, Wycheproof-Narraport.

8 Mitchell McEwen, Wedderburn.

8 Natnael McLaren, Boort.

8 Wayne Mitrovic, Wycheproof-Narraport.

8 Maysen Murgov, Wycheproof-Narraport.

8 Josh Potter, Donald.

8 Rylee Smith, Nullawil.

8 Adam Thomson, Nullawil.