NCFL Round 10 Review | Bulls charge to victory at Nullawil


THE Bulls from Birchip-Watchem charged in and took the four premiership points from Nullawil in Saturday’s 10th round of senior footy in the Goldacres North Central FNL season.

In a crucial match for the league newcomer and the reigning premier, Birchip-Watchem led 19-15 at quarter-time on Nullawil’s turf.

The Trevor Ryan-coached Bulls scored 3.3 to 2.0 in the second to hold a 13-point lead by half-time.

Birchip-Watchem’s buffer was 20 points going into the final term.

The Brett Barker-coached Nullawil lifted its play to win the last quarter, 27-13, but it was the Bulls who marked a 71-65 victory.

Ben Edwards and Nicholas Rippon led the Bulls’ attack on three goals apiece as Daniel Castellano and Nathan Gordon added two each.

Nullawil captain Jordan Humphreys kicked four goals as Nicholas Grigg chipped in with two.

Best for Birchip-Watchem were Nicholas Rippon, Jos Builder, Marshall Rippon, Ben Hogan, Dale Hinkley and Tom Batarilo.

Zachary Caccaviello, Dean Smith, Matt Quigley, Dean Putt, Andrew Casey and Jordan Humphreys played well for Nullawil.

Donald surged clear in the final quarter to score a 65-33 win against Wycheproof-Narraport at Wycheproof.

The Rohan Brown-coached Donald led 33-27 at three quarter-time and then seized control in the last to score 5.2 to a goal.

Sam Dunstan led Donald’s attack on three goals as Cooper Anderson and Will Burke added two each.

Ben Fraser kicked a match-high four goals for the Demons.

Best for the Royal Blues were Ryley Barrack, Ross Young, Will Burke, Dyson Bell-Warren, Rory O’Shannessy and Blake Grant.

Koby and Gedd Hommelhoff, Jed Bish, Josh Walsh, Rick Allan and Ben Fraser were best for the Boe Bish-coached Demons.

Sea Lake Nandaly was too strong for Boort at Sea Lake.

The Tigers led 15-9 at quarter-time and then scored 4.2 to just two behinds in the second.

Trent and Wade Donnan and Callan Noonan were in great form as SLN went on for an 82-26 victory.

Co-coach Billy McInnes kicked four goals for the Tigers as John Summerhayes and Will Simpson kicked two each.

There were no multiple goalkickers for Boort.

Best of a Tigers team jointly coached by Bryce Delmenico included Luke Martin, Thomas Cox and Brody Weir.

Ryan McGhie, Jack Smith, Alex Davis, Nathan Twigg, Keanu Padula and Ethan Coleman were best for the Dale Cameron-coached Magpies.

After an evenly-fought first half, Wedderburn kicked away for a 26-point victory at Charlton.

Scores were locked on 14-all at quarter-time.

The Sam Barnes-coached Wedderburn added 2.4 to 1.1 in the second term.

Jackson and Mitchell McEwen and Isaac Holt played crucial roles as Wedderburn won the second half, 39-22, to complete a 69-43 victory.

Sam Barnes, Danny Benaim and Jordan Rosengren all kicked two goals for the Redbacks.

There were six individual goalkickers for Charlton.

Wedderburn’s best included Darcy Jackson, Danny Benaim and Jayden Jones.

Jesse Taylor, Anthony Judd, Cobi Fitzpatrick, Sam Woods, Bailey Dixon and Jed Thompson played well for the Andy Nisbet-coached Navies from Charlton.

St Arnaud had the bye.

North Central FNL senior footy ladder:

Sea Lake Nandaly 271 per cent, 36 points; Birchip-Watchem 184, 24; Nullawil 158, 24; Donald 111, 24; Wycheproof-Narraport 89, 18; Wedderburn 96, 16; Boort 95, 14; Charlton 41, 4; St Arnaud 29, 0.

Highlight of next Saturday’s round 11 action will be Birchip-Watchem against Sea Lake Nandaly at Birchip’s George Cartwright Oval.

St Arnaud is home at Lord Nelson Park to play Nullawil.

Boort tackles Charlton at Boort Park.

Wedderburn and Wycheproof-Narraport meet at Wedderburn’s Donaldson Park.

Donald has the bye.

Leading goalkickers:

43 Sam Dunstan, Donald.

35 Ben Edwards, Birchip-Watchem.

28 Billy McInnes, Sea Lake Nandaly.

28 Adam Thomson, Nullawil.

24 Sam Barnes, Wedderburn.

23 Nathan Gordon, Birchip-Watchem.

21 Tom Campbell, Wedderburn.

21 Gedd Hommelhoff, Wycheproof-Narraport.

20 Daniel Castellano, Birchip-Watchem.

20 Will Simpson, Sea Lake Nandaly.

19 Mitch Farmer, Nullawil.

17 Josh Jenkins, Sea Lake Nandaly.

17 Nicholas Rippon, Birchip-Watchem.

15 Jarrod Fitzpatrick, Boort.

14 Danny Benaim, Wedderburn.

14 Thomas Cox, Sea Lake Nandaly.

14 Cody Green, Wycheproof-Narraport.

14 John Summerhayes, Sea Lake Nandaly.

14 Nick Thompson, Charlton.

12 Ben Fraser, Wycheproof-Narraport.

10 Andrew Casey, Nullawil.

10 Natnael McLaren, Boort.

10 Dean Smith, Nullawil.