NCFL Round 11 Review | Tigers tame Bulls at Birchip


SEA Lake Nandaly was able to tame the Birchip-Watchem Bulls in Saturday’s 11th round of the Goldacres North Central FNL senior footy action.

The unbeaten Tigers made their way to George Cartwright Oval in Birchip to take on the reigning premiers.

Sea Lake Nandaly led 19-8 at quarter-time and then scored 5.3 to 3.1 in the second to build a 25-point lead by half-time.

In the third it was the Trevor Ryan-coached Bulls who charged back into the contest by scoring 4.4 to 1.1.

Aiming for a 10th consecutive victory the SLN team jointly coached by Bryce Delmenico and Billy McInnes was able to score three straight goals in the last and hold the Bulls to a tally of 2.1.

At the final siren the Tigers led 77-68.

Former Adelaide and Geelong key forward Josh Jenkins was in superb touch as he kicked seven goals for Sea Lake Nandaly.

The Bulls’ attack was led by Ben Edwards, four; Nathan Gordon and Cormacc Wilson, two.

Best for SLN were Trent and Wade Donnan, Jack Poulton, Austin Mertz, Luke Martin and Tyson McKenzie.

Nicholas Rippon, Dale Hinkley, Nathan Gordon, Lachlan Ryan, Sam Simmons and Jonty Randall played well for the Bulls.

Charlton marked its second win of the season as it won three quarters at Boort Park to claim a 15-point victory.

The Andy Nisbet-coached Charlton led 22-14 at quarter-time before the Magpies fought back to win the second term, 20-19.

A seven-point buffer for the Navies at the long break was 13 by the final change.

Led by the play of Nick Thompson, Sam and Rhyen Woods it was Charlton which kicked on for a 78-63 result.

Six goals by Nick Thompson earned best afield honours as Chris Gavaghan and Mason Heenan booted two goals for Charlton.

Boort’s leading goalkickers were Ethan Coleman, Jarrod Fitzpatrick and Cameron Ross on two.

Best for Charlton included Jed Thompson, Jesse and Harry Taylor.

Alex Davis, Tom Potter, Ryan McGhie, Jarrod Fitzpatrick, Angus Trethowan and Keiren Wilson played well for the Dale Cameron-coached Magpies.

Wycheproof-Narraport won a great contest away from home at Wedderburn’s Donaldson Park.

The Boe Bish-coached Demons led 37-31 at quarter-time and then added 2.3 as it kept Wedderburn scoreless in the second.

Term three went Wedderburn’s way, 26-18, and the Redbacks outscored the Demons in the last, 26-20, but it was Wycheproof-Narraport which held on for a 90-83 victory.

Former North Melbourne star Corey Jones dominated in the Demons attack to kick six goals as Dane McLennan added two.

Multiple goalkickers for Wedderburn were Tom Campbell, three; Jackson and Mitchell McEwen, two.

Best for Wycheproof-Narraport were Tom Trewin, Spencer Allan, Josh Walsh, Gedd Hommelhoff, Joe Kenny and Joel Turner.

Jackson McEwen, Isaac Holt, Tom Campbell, Darcy Jackson, Louis Holt and Mitchell McEwen played well for the Sam Barnes-coached Redbacks.

Nullawil marked a 93-point victory on St Arnaud’s turf at Lord Nelson Park.

It was the Anthony Bourke-coached Saints who made a great start to lead 24-10 at quarter-time.

Nullawil lifted its pressure and run in the second to slam on 9.4 and kept St Arnaud scoreless.

Maroons’ captain Jordan Humphreys went on to kick seven goals in a best on ground performance as Nicholas Grigg booted four and Adam Thomson added three.

At the final siren the Brett Barker-coached Nullawil led 137 to 43.

The Saints’ attack was led by Anthony Bourke and Jake Hicks with two each.

Best for Nullawil were Jordan Humphreys, Zac Caccaviello, Matt Quigley, Andrew Casey, David Isbister and Dean Putt.

Zaccariah MacDonald, Nick Birthisel, Harley Durward, Jake Hicks, Owen and Kurtis Torney were St Arnaud’s best.

Donald had the bye.

North Central FNL senior footy ladder:

Sea Lake Nandaly 245 per cent, 40 points; Nullawil 170, 28; Birchip-Watchem 171, 24; Donald 111, 24; Wycheproof-Narraport 91, 22; Wedderburn 95, 16; Boort 94, 14; Charlton 45, 8; St Arnaud 30, 0.

In next Saturday’s 12th round, Donald is at home to play Wedderburn.

Wycheproof-Narraport faces Boort at Wycheproof.

Sea Lake Nandaly takes on St Arnaud at Sea Lake Oval.

Charlton tackles Birchip-Watchem at Charlton Park.

Nullawil has the bye.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

43 Sam Dunstan, Donald.

39 Ben Edwards, Birchip-Watchem.

31 Adam Thomson, Nullawil.

29 Billy McInnes, Sea Lake Nandaly.

25 Sam Barnes, Wedderburn.

25 Nathan Gordon, Birchip-Watchem.

24 Tom Campbell, Wedderburn.

24 Josh Jenkins, Sea Lake Nandaly.

22 Gedd Hommelhoff, Wycheproof-Narraport.

20 Daniel Castellano, Birchip-Watchem.

20 Will Simpson, Sea Lake Nandaly.

20 Nick Thompson, Charlton.

19 Mitch Farmer, Nullawil.

17 Jarrod Fitzpatrick, Boort.

17 Nicholas Rippon, Birchip-Watchem.

15 Danny Benaim, Wedderburn.

14 Thomas Cox, Sea Lake Nandaly.

14 Cody Green, Wycheproof-Narraport.

14 Jordan Humphreys, Nullawil.

14 John Summerhayes, Sea Lake Nandaly.

12 Andrew Casey, Nullawil.

12 Ben Fraser, Wycheproof-Narraport.

11 Jake Hicks, St Arnaud.

11 Natnael McLaren, Boort.

11 Dean Smith, Nullawil.

10 Andrew Oberdorfer, Nullawil.