Charlton eyes another chance for breakthrough victory

CHARLTON has a chance to mark a long-awaited victory when it plays on St Arnaud’s turf at Lord Nelson Park in Saturday’s 13th round of the Goldacres North Central Football League season.

It will be a tough ask for the Navies, but they almost upset the Saints in round six.

On that occasion St Arnaud won 67-54 at Charlton Park.

The Saints run to victory was led by Jack Tillig, Jacob Tillig, Kurtis Torney and Daniel Gifford.

Key players for the Torin Petrie-coached St Arnaud include Matthew Goode, Mitch Egan and Thomas Bertalli.

The Andy Nisbet-coached Charlton will look to Tim Hill, Kade Blow, Riely Thiesz, Bailey Kemp, Cobi Fitzpatrick and Rhys Thompson to win plenty of the footy.

Jed Thompson, Jackson Zagame, Patrick Soulsby, Aaron Walklate and Anthony Judd were the Navies’ best in last Saturday’s away game at Birchip Watchem.

It’s Wedderburn against Donald at Donaldson Park in Wedderburn.


The fourth-placed Redbacks face a huge challenge against the third-placed Royals.

In round six, Donald scored a 68-point win on home turf against Wedderburn as Brody Haddow, Ryley Barrack, Sam Griffiths and Will Burke were best.

Key players for the Sam Barnes-coached Redbacks who capped a great final quarter fightback to win at Boort last Saturday include Jaran McKay, Luke Holt, Corey Lowry and Sam Lockh

Wedderburn will look to Danny Benaim, Tom Campbell and Jordan Rosengren to finish off the attacks, and for strong games by ruckman Jordan Hargreaves, Hamish Winter-Irving and Jackson Guan in defence.

In-form players for the Rohan Brown-coached Donald include rover Brody Haddow, Leigh Burke, Ryley Barrack, Sam Griffiths, Reece McNally and Josh Potter.

The Royals also have Ross Young in the centre, Rian McGough on a wing, and classy forward Seamus Young.


The ladder-leading Birchip Watchem makes the trek to Wycheproof to tackle Wycheproof-Narraport.

The Trevor Ryan-coached Bulls will start favourite to take the points.

In round six, Wycheproof Narraport turned up the heat in a 102-72 loss to the Bulls.

Best for the Boe Bish-coached Demons in that match were Gedd Hommelhoff, Jack McHutchison, Cody Green and Lachlan Van Schaik.

Matthew Beckmans, Damien Horbury, Spencer Allan, Joe Kenny and Justin Bateson played well for the Demons last round.

A powerful Bulls line-up includes Lochlan Sirett in the ruck, Daniel Castellano, Will Sheahan and Nathan Gordon in attack; Elliot Jaeschke, Stefan Pye, Dale Hinkley and Lachlan Ryan.


Boort heads into Tigers’ territory to play Sea Lake Nandaly at Sea Lake.

The Boort Magpies worked extremely hard to lead by 21 points at the start of the final quarter of last Saturday’s clash with Wedderburn, but were overrun.

Brodie Leonard-Shannon kicked five goals and the experienced Ben Knight added three in Boort’s latest hit-out.

The Andy Hawker-coached Magpies face a massive challenge in trying to limit the scoring chances set up by the Joel Donnan-coached Sea Lake Nandaly team.

Boort will look for big games from the likes of Keirin Wilson, Matthew Chisari in the centre, Nathan Murphy, Sam Green, Levi Moss, ruckman Nathan Twigg, Keanu Padula and Tom Potter.

In round six, Billy McInnes kicked eight goals for the Tigers at Boort Park.

A formidable Tigers’ attack includes Wade Donnan, Justin Ellis and Will Simpson.

Other players to watch for the Joel Donnan-coached Tigers include Brodie Adcock, Ben Daniels, Austin Mertz, Ryan O’Sullivan and Brody Weir.


North Central FL senior footy ladder:

Birchip Watchem 263 per cent, 44 points; Sea Lake Nandaly Tigers 297, 40; Donald 264, 40; Wedderburn 113, 32; Boort 52, 16; Wycheproof-Narraport 69, 12; St Arnaud 38, 8; Charlton 27, 0.


Leading goalkickers:

51 Billy McInnes, SLN.

37 Daniel Castellano, BW.

35 Will Sheahan, BW.

32 Blake Grant, D.

27 Will Simpson, SLN.

26 Tom  Campbell, W’burn; Jordan Rosengren, W’burn.

23 Leigh Burke, D; Justin Ellis, SLN; Cody Green, WN.

20 Danny Benaim, W’burn; Brody Haddow, D; Brodie Leonard-Shannon, B.

17 Trent Donnan, SLN; Elliot Jaeschke, BW.

16 Dylan Adkins, BW.


Written by Nathan Dole.