NCFL Round 14 Review | Bulls charge to win on Royals’ turf at Donald


THE Birchip-Watchem Bulls charged to victory on Donald’s ground in Saturday’s 14th round of senior footy in the Goldacres North Central FNL season.

In a rematch of the ’22 grand finalists it was the Bulls who charged to a 39-2 lead by quarter-time.

The Royal Blues fought back to win the second term, 26-7.

A three-goal for Birchip-Watchem was up to 38 points at a quarter to play after it scored 6.4 to 3.2 in term three.

The Rohan Brown-coached Donald fought on to add 6.1 to 2.3 in the as the Bulls claimed a 101-85 victory.

Ben Edwards led the attack for the Trevor Ryan-coached Bulls on eight goals as Nicholas Rippo chipped in with two.

Donald’s leading goalkicker was Sam Dunstan on five as Trent Grant added four.

Best for Birchip-Watchem were Darcy Reid, Nicholas Rippon, Ben Edwards, Marshall Rippon, Lachlan Ryan and Nathan Gordon.

Donald’s best were Josh Potter, Dyson Bell-Warren, Rian McGough, James Wall, Hayden and Logan Geddes.

Nullawil fought for a 27-point win at Charlton Park.

The Andy Nisbet-coached Charlton made a great start to lead 24-15 at quarter-time and 44-36 by the main break.

In the third it was Nullawil which dominated play to score 4.5 to 1.1.

Led by the play of Daniel Watts, Dean Smith and Matt Quigley, Nullawil kicked away to win 98-71.

The Maroons’ attack was led by Dean Smith and Adam Thomson with four goals each as captain Jordan Humphreys added two.

The in-form Chris Gavaghan kicked five goals for Charlton as Nick Thompson chipped in with two.

Best for the Brett Barker-coached Nullawil included Dean Putt, Kyle Doran and Zac Kelly.

Aaron Walklate, Jed Thompson, Chris Gavaghan, Jaydon Cowling, Sam Woods and Cobi Fitzpatrick played well for the Navies.

Key forwards Tom Campbell and Sam Barnes kicked five and four goals in Wedderburn’s win against Boort.

The Redbacks led 35-13 at quarter-time of the clash at Wedderburn’s Donaldson Park.

Boort struck back to win the second, 22-19.

A brilliant third quarter by Wedderburn resulted in a tally of 5.6 as it kept the Magpies scoreless.

The Redbacks kicked on to win 18.21 (129) to 8.6 (54).

Wedderburn’s other multiple goalkicker was Danny Benaim on two.

Boort’s attack was led by Frasier Holland on four.

Best for Wedderburn were Jackson McEwen, Jordan Rosengren, Tom Campbell, Corey Lowry, Jordan Hargreaves and coach Sam Barnes.

Ryan McGhie, Jack Smith, Frasier Holland, Alex Davis, Darcy Hawker and Sam Green were best for the Dale Cameron-coached Magpies.

Wycheproof-Narraport scored an 11-goal win at Wycheproof against St Arnaud.

The Demons dominated the opening term to score 5.2 to just two behinds.

By half-time the Boe Bish-coached Demons led 46-4.

Wycheproof-Narraport had scored 10 goals by three quarter-time and held the Saints to a major by the final change.

The Demons went on to win 13.8 (86) to 2.8 (20).

Cody Green led the Demons’ attack on four goals as Gedd Hommelhoff added three and Rick Allan chipped in with two.

St Arnaud’s goalkickers were coach Anthony Bourke and Jake Hicks.

Best for the Demons were Joe Kenny, Gedd Hommelhoff, Spencer Allan, Lachlan Van Schaik, Alex Hogan and Justin Bateson.

Harley Durward, William Bertalli, Zaccariah MacDonald, Daniel Gifford, Nick Birthisel and Anthony Bourke worked hard for the Saints.

Sea Lake Nandaly had the bye.

North Central FNL senior footy ladder:

Sea Lake Nandaly 247 per cent, 48 points; Birchip-Watchem 157, 36; Nullawil 155, 32; Donald 114, 32; Wycheproof-Narraport 101, 30; Wedderburn 101, 20; Boort 81, 14; Charlton 54, 12; St Arnaud 30, 0.

In next Saturday’s round 15 action, Nullawil faces Wycheproof-Narraport at Nullawil Recreation Reserve.

Birchip-Watchem is at home against Wedderburn at Birchip’s George Cartwright Oval.

St Arnaud tackles Donald in Saints’ territory at Lord Nelson Park.

Sea Lake Nandaly faces Charlton at Sea Lake Oval.

Boort has the bye.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

62 Sam Dunstan, Donald.

51 Ben Edwards, Birchip-Watchem.

36 Sam Barnes, Wedderburn.

35 Adam Thomson, Nullawil.

34 Billy McInnes, Sea Lake Nandaly.

33 Nathan Gordon, Birchip-Watchem.

32 Nick Thompson, Charlton.

30 Tom Campbell, Wedderburn.

27 Gedd Hommelhoff, Wycheproof-Narraport.

26 Daniel Castellano, Birchip-Watchem.

24 Josh Jenkins, Sea Lake Nandaly.

23 Will Simpson, Sea Lake Nandaly.

23 John Summerhayes, Sea Lake Nandaly.

21 Jarrod Fitzpatrick, Boort.

21 Nicholas Rippon, Birchip-Watchem.

19 Mitch Farmer, Nullawil.

18 Danny Benaim, Wedderburn.

18 Chris Gavaghan, Charlton.

18 Cody Green, Wycheproof-Narraport.

18 Jordan Humphreys, Nullawil.

17 Thomas Cox, Sea Lake Nandaly.

16 Dean Smith, Nullawil.