NCFL Round 15 Preview | Nullawil face heat from Demons


NULLAWIL faces the heat from the Wycheproof-Narraport Demons in Saturday’s 15th round of senior footy in the Goldacres North Central FNL season.

The third-placed Nullawil is on home turf to take on a Demons line-up desperate for victory to stay in the race for a top-four finish.

When these clubs met in round six it was Nullawil which marked a 57-point victory at Wycheproof.

The Brett Barker-coached Nullawil fought for a 27-point win at Charlton Park last round as Daniel Watts, Dean Smith and Matt Quigley led the way.

Nullawil’s team for this round includes Lucas Caccaviello, Dude Kelly, Andrew Oberdorfer, Dean Putt and Adam Thomson.

The Boe Bish-coached Demons won last Saturday’s home match against St Arnaud by 11 goals.

Cody Green led the attack on four goals as Gedd Hommelhoff added three and Rick Allan chipped in with two.

In-form players for Wycheproof-Narraport include Spencer Allan, Justin Bateson, Joe Kenny, Alex Hogan, Gedd Hommelhoff and Lachlan Van Schaik.

Birchip-Watchem is on home turf at Birchip’s George Cartwright Oval to take on Wedderburn.

The Bulls will be determined to build on the momentum of last week’s 16-point victory at Donald.

Key players for the Trevor Ryan-coached Bulls included Ben Edwards who kicked eight goals against Donald, and Nicholas Rippon.

A talented squad which has plenty of premiership players includes Lachy Foott, Nathan Gordon, Darcy Reid, Marshall Rippon, Lachlan Ryan and Sam Simmons.

Wedderburn’s Tom Campbell and Sam Barnes kicked five and four goals in last Saturday’s win against Boort.

Both will play important roles in trying to stop the Bulls’ run.

The Redbacks have the experience of Danny Benaim, Jordan Hargreaves and Adam Postle.

Players to watch for the red and black include Corey Lowry, Jackson and Mitchell McEwen, Jordan Rosengren and Robert Whyman.

St Arnaud tackles Donald in Saints’ territory at Lord Nelson Park.

Been  a tough run for the Anthony Bourke-coached Saints who face the Royals on the rebound from defeat.

St Arnaud’s best in last week’s showdown with Wycheproof-Narraport were Harley Durward, William Bertalli, Zaccariah MacDonald, Daniel Gifford, Nick Birthisel and Anthony Bourke.

The Rohan Brown-coached Donald has a strong attack led by Sam Dunstan.

The Royal Blues will look to Ross Young, Rian McGough, Josh Potter, Dyson Bell-Warren and James Wall to lead the way to victory.

Refreshed by the bye, Sea Lake Nandaly is back on home soil to take on Charlton.

The unbeaten Tigers will start hot favourites, but there was a lot to like about Charlton’s play in a 27-point loss to Nullawil last round.

Jointly coached by Bryce Delmenico and Billy McInnes, Sea Lake Nandaly has plenty of attacking options.

A formidable line-up in the yellow and black includes captain Ryan O’Sullivan, Kane and Trent Donnan, Will Simpson, John Summerhayes and Matthew Farrelly.

The Andy Nisbet-coached Charlton worked hard to lead 44-36 by half-time of the clash with Nullawil.

The in-form Chris Gavaghan kicked five goals for Charlton as Nick Thompson chipped in with two.

Charlton’s team to tackle the Tigers includes captain Tim Hill, Aaron Walklate, Jaydon Cowling, Cobi Fitzpatrick, Travis Baird and Sam Woods.

Boort has the bye.

North Central FNL senior footy ladder:

Sea Lake Nandaly 247 per cent, 48 points; Birchip-Watchem 157, 36; Nullawil 155, 32; Donald 114, 32; Wycheproof-Narraport 101, 30; Wedderburn 101, 20; Boort 81, 14; Charlton 54, 12; St Arnaud 30, 0.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

62 Sam Dunstan, Donald.

51 Ben Edwards, Birchip-Watchem.

36 Sam Barnes, Wedderburn.

35 Adam Thomson, Nullawil.

34 Billy McInnes, Sea Lake Nandaly.

33 Nathan Gordon, Birchip-Watchem.

32 Nick Thompson, Charlton.

30 Tom Campbell, Wedderburn.

27 Gedd Hommelhoff, Wycheproof-Narraport.

26 Daniel Castellano, Birchip-Watchem.

24 Josh Jenkins, Sea Lake Nandaly.

23 Will Simpson, Sea Lake Nandaly.

23 John Summerhayes, Sea Lake Nandaly.

21 Jarrod Fitzpatrick, Boort.

21 Nicholas Rippon, Birchip-Watchem.

19 Mitch Farmer, Nullawil.

18 Danny Benaim, Wedderburn.

18 Chris Gavaghan, Charlton.

18 Cody Green, Wycheproof-Narraport.

18 Jordan Humphreys, Nullawil.

17 Thomas Cox, Sea Lake Nandaly.

16 Dean Smith, Nullawil.