NCFL Round 15 Review | Nullawil wins every quarter against Demons


NULLAWIL marked a seven-goal victory against Wycheproof-Narraport in Saturday’s 15th round of senior footy in the Goldacres North Central FNL season.

The Demons made the trek to Nullawil desperate for the points to stay in touch with the top four.

It was Nullawil which led 30-7 at quarter-time and 51-25 by the main break.

The Brett Barker-coached Maroons did not let up in the final hour as they scored 4.2 to 2.3 in the third term and 2.1 to 1.2 in the last.

At the final siren Nullawil led 13.12 (90) to 7.6 (48).

Dean Smith capped a great match for the Maroons on five goals as Andrew Oberdorfer added three and Lucas Caccaviello chipped in with two.

The Demons’ attack was led by Matt Beckmans on three.

Nullawil’s best were Dean Smith, Austin Hogan, Patrick Kelly, Matt Quigley, David Isbister and Andrew Casey.

Dane McLennan, Rick Allan, Kristian McNicol, Lachlan Van Schaik, Justin Bateson and Josh Walsh played well for the Boe Bish-coached Demons.

A first quarter blitz of 33-nil put Birchip-Watchem in control of its clash with Wedderburn at Birchip’s George Cartwright Oval.

After the early onslaught, Wedderburn fought back to win the second term, 34-14.

The Trevor Ryan-coached Bulls scored seven goals and held the Redbacks to just three in the vital third term.

Although Wedderburn won the last, 19-8, Birchip-Watchem took the points in a 100-74 result.

Ben Edwards kicked seven goals for the Bulls as Nathan Gordon booted four and Nicholas Rippon chipped in with two.

Wedderburn’s attack was led by coach Sam Barnes, four; Danny Benaim and Jordan Rosengren on two each.

Best for the Bulls were Nicholas and Marshall Rippon, Ben Edwards, Nathan Gordon, Dale Hinkley and Cameron Williams.

Tom Campbell, Jordan Hargreaves, Jordan Rosengren, Jackson and Mitchell McEwen, and Darcy Jackson played well for the Redbacks.

Nine goals by Sam Dunstan were a highlight of Donald’s win at St Arnaud’s Lord Nelson Park.

The Royal Blues led 30-1 at quarter-time and then added 5.1 to 1.2 in the second.

A 52-point margin at the start of the third term was 84 by the end after the Rohan Brown-coached Donald scored 5.4 to just two behinds.

Led by the play of Feeny medallist Ross Young, Sam Dunstan and Hayden Geddes, Donald marked a 121-18 victory.

The Royals’ attack was led by Sam Dunstan, nine; and Jesse Wallin, two.

Goalkicker for the Saints were Jake Male and captain Kurtis Torney.

Best for Donald included James Wall, Jesse Wallin and Dyson Bell-Warren.

Daniel Gifford, Harley Durward, Jake Male, Simon Elliott, Matthew Goode and Zac MacDonald worked hard for the Anthony Bourke-coached Saints.

Sea Lake Nandaly marked an 85-point win at home against Charlton.

The unbeaten Tigers led 46-14 at quarter-time and then added 7.5 to 2.3 in the second.

Jointly coached by Billy McInnes and Bryce Delmenico, SLN surged to a 13-goal lead at a quarter to play.

The final quarter was to be the best by the Andy Nisbet-coached Charlton as it scored 3.1 to 2.2.

At the final siren the yellow and black led 21.14 (140) to 8.7 (55).

Leading goalkickers for the Tigers were Billy McInnes, five; Thomas Cox and Tyson McKenzie, three; Bryce Delmenico and Will Simpson two.

Charlton’s attack was led by Nick Thompson with four as Chris Gavaghan added two.

Best for the Tigers were Thomas Cox, Billy McInnes, Tyson McKenzie, Callan Noonan, Kane Donnan and Luke Martin.

Jesse Taylor, Darcy McCallum, Cobi Fitzpatrick, Nick Thompson, Kris Clifford and Harrison Taylor played well for the Navies.

Boort had the bye.

Goldacres North Central FNL senior footy ladder:

Sea Lake Nandaly 248 per cent, 52 points; Birchip-Watchem 156, 40; Nullawil 157, 36; Donald 126, 36; Wycheproof-Narraport 96, 30; Wedderburn 98, 20; Boort 81, 14; Charlton 53, 12; St Arnaud 28, 0.

In next Saturday’s 16th round, Donald is at home to play Nullawil from 2.30pm.

Wycheproof-Narraport tackles Sea Lake Nandaly at Wycheproof in the battle of the Demons and Tigers.

Boort and Birchip-Watchem meet at Boort Park.

Wedderburn and St Arnaud meet in the Redbacks’ web at Wedderburn’s Donaldson Park.

Charlton has the bye.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

71 Sam Dunstan, Donald.

58 Ben Edwards, Birchip-Watchem.

40 Sam Barnes, Wedderburn.

39 Billy McInnes, Sea Lake Nandaly.

37 Nathan Gordon, Birchip-Watchem.

36 Nick Thompson, Charlton.

35 Adam Thomson, Nullawil.

30 Tom Campbell, Wedderburn.

27 Daniel Castellano, Birchip-Watchem.

27 Gedd Hommelhoff, Wycheproof-Narraport.

25 Will Simpson, Sea Lake Nandaly.

24 Josh Jenkins, Sea Lake Nandaly.

24 John Summerhayes, Sea Lake Nandaly.

23 Nicholas Rippon, Birchip-Watchem.

21 Jarrod Fitzpatrick, Boort.

21 Dean Smith, Nullawil.

20 Danny Benaim, Wedderburn.

20 Thomas Cox, Sea Lake Nandaly.

20 Chris Gavaghan, Charlton.

19 Mitch Farmer, Nullawil.

19 Cody Green, Wycheproof-Narraport.

19 Jordan Humphreys, Nullawil.

16 Ben Fraser, Wycheproof-Narraport.

15 Tyson McKenzie, Sea Lake Nandaly.