NCFL Round 16 Preview | Crucial match on Donald’s ground


IT MAY be a first semi-final prelude when Donald tackles Nullawil this Saturday in round 16 of the Goldacres North Central FNL senior footy action.

Donald is on home turf as fourth takes on third from 2.30pm.

Both teams are locked on 36 premiership points.

When they met in round seven it was the Rohan Brown-coached Royal Blues who won at Nullawil by two goals.

In last Saturday’s play, Sam Dunstan kicked nine goals as Donald won at St Arnaud’s Lord Nelson Park.

Feeny medallist and gun on-baller Ross Young racked up many possessions as Sam Dunstan and Hayden Geddes were to the fore in a 103-point victory.

Key players for Donald include Ryley Barrack, Rian McGough and Jesse Wallin.

Nullawil put a dent in Wycheproof-Narraport’s finals aspirations as it marked a 42-point win against the Demons.

The Brett Barker-coached Maroons won every quarter in which Dean Smith led the attack on five goals.

A talented Nullawil line-up includes Lucas Caccaviello, Austin Hogan, Patrick Kelly, Andrew Oberdorfer and Matt Quigley.

It’s the battle of the Demons and Tigers as Wycheproof-Narraport meets Sea Lake Nandaly at Wycheproof.

Massive test for the Boe Bish-coached Demons against the unbeaten SLN team.

Defences were on top for a lot of the round seven showdown at Sea Lake where the Tigers won 67-34.

At three rounds to play, Wycheproof-Narraport is six points adrift of Nullawil and Donald.

The Demons play at Charlton in the 17th round and then have a bye.

Key players for Wycheproof-Narraport include Rick Allan, Justin Bateson, Lachlan Van Schaik and Josh Walsh.

Sea Lake Nandaly dominated its latest home game to beat Charlton by 85 points as co-coach Billy McInnes kicked five goals and was among the best.

The Tigers line-up also has Thomas Cox, Trent Donnan, Ryan O’Sullivan and John Summerhayes capable of winning plenty of the footy.

Former Adelaide and Geelong key forward Josh Jenkins is also back for the yellow and black.

Boort and Birchip-Watchem clash at Boort Park.

The Dale Cameron-coached Boort had the bye last round.

In the seventh round, Birchip-Watchem beat Boort by 51 points.

The play of Jarrod Fitzpatrick, Ryan McGhie, Natnael McLaren and Keanu Padula will be vital to Boort achieving an upset victory.

The Magpies do regain Western Bulldogs premiership player Shane Biggs.

Also back for Boort is on-baller Matt Chisari.

Massive test for a Boort defence against the likes of Ben Edwards, Nathan Gordon and Nicholas Rippon.

The Trevor Ryan-coached Bulls charged to a 33-nil lead in the first quarter of last Saturday’s clash at Wedderburn and went on to win 100-74.

In-form players for Birchip-Watchem include captain Dale Hinkley, Marshall Rippon and Cameron Williams.

Ruckman-forward Lochlan Sirett is also back for the Bulls.

Wedderburn is home at Donaldson Park to take on St Arnaud.

The Redbacks beat the Saints by 62 points in the seventh round.

A strong attack for Wedderburn is led by coach Sam Barnes and includes Danny Benaim, Tom Campbell and Jordan Rosengren.

Players to watch for the red and black include Jordan Hargreaves, Darcy Jackson, Jackson and Mitchell McEwen.

Been a tough run for the Anthony Bourke-coached St Arnaud.

Will be desperate to improve on last week’s goal tally of two.

The Saints will look to Harley Durward, Simon Elliott, Daniel Gifford, Jake Male and captain Kurtis Torney to win many contests.

Charlton has the bye.

Goldacres North Central FNL senior footy ladder:

Sea Lake Nandaly 248 per cent, 52 points; Birchip-Watchem 156, 40; Nullawil 157, 36; Donald 126, 36; Wycheproof-Narraport 96, 30; Wedderburn 98, 20; Boort 81, 14; Charlton 53, 12; St Arnaud 28, 0.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

71 Sam Dunstan, Donald.

58 Ben Edwards, Birchip-Watchem.

40 Sam Barnes, Wedderburn.

39 Billy McInnes, Sea Lake Nandaly.

37 Nathan Gordon, Birchip-Watchem.

36 Nick Thompson, Charlton.

35 Adam Thomson, Nullawil.

30 Tom Campbell, Wedderburn.

27 Daniel Castellano, Birchip-Watchem.

27 Gedd Hommelhoff, Wycheproof-Narraport.

25 Will Simpson, Sea Lake Nandaly.

24 Josh Jenkins, Sea Lake Nandaly.

24 John Summerhayes, Sea Lake Nandaly.

23 Nicholas Rippon, Birchip-Watchem.

21 Jarrod Fitzpatrick, Boort.

21 Dean Smith, Nullawil.

20 Danny Benaim, Wedderburn.

20 Thomas Cox, Sea Lake Nandaly.

20 Chris Gavaghan, Charlton.

19 Mitch Farmer, Nullawil.

19 Cody Green, Wycheproof-Narraport.

19 Jordan Humphreys, Nullawil.

16 Ben Fraser, Wycheproof-Narraport.

15 Tyson McKenzie, Sea Lake Nandaly.