NCFL Round 16 Review | Donald wins tough contest with Nullawil


DONALD took the points against Nullawil in a hard-fought 16th round of senior footy in the Goldacres North Central FNL season on Saturday.

The Royal Blues were on home turf at Donald to take on Nullawil.

At quarter-time it was the Brett Barker-coached Nullawil which led 25-20.

Donald fought back to win the second term, 5.2 to 3.2.

A goal separated the teams going into the last quarter.

Although it scored just 1.3 in the final term, Donald’s defensive effort to limit the Maroons to a tally of four behinds was enough to seal a 68-57 victory.

Sam Dunstan led Donald’s attack on four goals as Feeny medallist and gun on-baller Ross Young added two.

Leading goalkickers for Nullawil were captain Jordan Humphreys, three; and Dean Smith, two.

Ross Young, Dyson Bell-Warren, Jesse Wallin, Josh Potter, Hayden Geddes and Jamie Papalia were best for the Rohan Brown-coached Donald.

David Isbister, Patrick Kelly, Jonathan Casey, Dean Smith, Josh Bamford and Daniel Watts played well for Nullawil.

A 10-goal haul by Wedderburn coach Sam Barnes was a major highlight of the home win against St Arnaud at Donaldson Park.

The Redbacks scored 8.10 to a goal in the first quarter.

St Arnaud struck back to score 2.1 in the second as Wedderburn added 2.4.

It was an 11-goal onslaught by the Redbacks in the third quarter and a tally of 6.9 in the last on the way to a 188-27 victory.

The 10th goal by Barnes was his 50th of the season.

Multiple goalkickers for the red and black were Sam Barnes, 10; Jordan Rosengren, four; Danny Benaim, three; Tom Campbell, Hamish Lockhart, Jackson McEwen, two.

St Arnaud coach Anthony Bourke and Harley Durward both kicked two goals.

Best for Wedderburn were Jordan Rosengren, Jayden Jones, Isaac Holt, Mitch McEwen, Tom Campbell and Sam Barnes.

Owen Lowe, Matt Goode, William Bertalli, Harley Durward, Daniel Gifford and Riley Burke worked hard for the Saints.

Boort could not halt Birchip-Watchem charging to a big win at Boort Park.

The Bulls led 25-7 at quarter-time and then added 5.8 to a behind in the second.

Quarter three was to be the most even of the game as Birchip-Watchem scored 3.4 and Boort added 3.1.

The Trevor Ryan-coached Bulls then charged away in the final term to add 8.1 to 2.0 for a 134-39 result.

A red-hot run by Ben Edwards kept rolling as he kicked 11 goals for the Bulls.

Other multiple goalkickers for the reigning premier were Daniel Castellano and Marshall Rippon, two.

Boort’s attack was led by Western Bulldogs premiership player Shane Biggs on two.

Best for Birchip-Watchem were Nicholas and Marshall Rippon, Patrick Sheahan, Sam Simmons, Nathan Gordon and Sean Hogan.

Matt Chisari, Ryan McGhie, Alex Davis, Angus Trethowan, Sam Green and Matt Hodoras played well for the Dale Cameron-coached Boort.

The unbeaten Sea Lake Nandaly was just a goal short of the century mark by half-time of its clash with Wycheproof-Narraport at Wycheproof.

The Tigers were wayward in the first term as they scored 3.9 to 1.1.

In the second, SLN slammed on 10.7 to 1.1 for a 94-14 scoreline at the main break.

As the Tigers did plenty of atacking in the final hour they also worked hard to keep the Demons goalless.

Former Adelaide and Geelong key forward Josh Jenkins kicked a match-high seven goals to be best afield in the 169-17 victory.

John Summerhayes also kicked five majors for the yellow and black.

Other multiple goalkickers for the Tigers were Tyson McKenzie, four; Billy Poulton and Will Simpson, two.

Goalkickers for the Demons were Rick Allan and Gedd Hommelhoff.

Best for a Tigers team jointly coached by Bryce Delmenico and Billy McInnes were Josh Jenkins, Thomas Cox, Matt Farrelly, John Summerhayes, Jack Poulton and Tyson McKenzie.

Gedd Hommelhoff, Thomas Trewin, Josh Walsh, Spencer and Rick Allan, and Justin Bateson were best for the Boe Bish-coached Demons.

Charlton had the bye.

Goldacres North Central FNL senior footy ladder:

Sea Lake Nandaly 270 per cent, 56 points; Birchip-Watchem 164, 44; Donald 126, 40; Nullawil 151, 36; Wycheproof-Narraport 83, 30; Wedderburn 113, 24; Boort 74, 14; Charlton 53, 12; St Arnaud 27, 0.

Highlight of next Saturday’s round 17 action will be the Sea Lake Nandaly showdown with Donald at Sea Lake from 2.30pm.

Nullawil is at home to take on Wedderburn.

Charlton faces Wycheproof-Narraport at Charlton Park.

St Arnaud plays Boort at St Arnaud’s Lord Nelson Park.

Birchip-Watchem has the bye.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

75 Sam Dunstan, Donald.

69 Ben Edwards, Birchip-Watchem.

50 Sam Barnes, Wedderburn.

39 Billy McInnes, Sea Lake Nandaly.

38 Nathan Gordon, Birchip-Watchem.

36 Nick Thompson, Charlton.

36 Adam Thomson, Nullawil.

32 Tom Campbell, Wedderburn.

31 Josh Jenkins, Sea Lake Nandaly.

29 Daniel Castellano, Birchip-Watchem.

29 John Summerhayes, Sea Lake Nandaly.

28 Gedd Hommelhoff, Wycheproof-Narraport.

27 Will Simpson, Sea Lake Nandaly.

24 Nicholas Rippon, Birchip-Watchem.

23 Danny Benaim, Wedderburn.

23 Dean Smith, Nullawil.

22 Jarrod Fitzpatrick, Boort.

22 Jordan Humphreys, Nullawil.

20 Thomas Cox, Sea Lake Nandaly.

20 Chris Gavaghan, Charlton.

19 Mitch Farmer, Nullawil.

19 Cody Green, Wycheproof-Narraport.

19 Tyson McKenzie, Sea Lake Nandaly.

16 Ben Fraser, Wycheproof-Narraport.

16 Jordan Rosengren, Wedderburn.