NCFL Round 18 Review | Sea Lake Nandaly caps undefeated run


SEA Lake Nandaly has capped an undefeated run in the home and away series of the Goldacres North Central FNL senior footy action.

The SLN Tigers made their way to Wedderburn’s Donaldson Park for Saturday’s round 18 showdown.

Wedderburn put in a great effort to score 4.1 in the first term as the wayward Tigers racked up 3.7.

By half-time the Redbacks led 41-39.

In the third term it was Sea Lake Nandaly which dominated play.

Jointly coached by Bryce Delmenico and Billy McInnes, Sea Lake Nandaly slammed on 9.3 to 1.2 in the third quarter to put the result beyond doubt.

It was a ruthless performance by the Tigers as they scored 3.6 to nil for a 120-49 victory.

John Summerhayes led the attack on four goals as Thomas Cox, Billy McInnes and Tyson McKenzie added three each.

Tom Campbell kicked two goals for Wedderburn.

Best for Sea Lake Nandaly were Trent Donnan, Austin Mertz, Thomas Cox, Wade Donnan, Ryan O’Sullivan and Charlie Cox.

Adam Postle, Jordan Rosengren, Jayden Jones, Mitchell McEwen, Darcy Jackson and Luke Holt worked hard for the Sam Barnes-coached Redbacks.

A 15-goal haul by Ben Edwards highlighted a big win by reigning premier Birchip-Watchem against St Arnaud at Birchip’s George Cartwright Oval.

The Bulls charged to a seven-goal lead by quarter-time and led 10.4 (64) to 0.3 (3) at the long break.

A tally of six goals in the third quarter was followed by nine in the last as the Trevor Ryan-coached Bulls won 161-5.

Edwards capped off plenty of the Bulls’ dominance in the midfield and on-ball duels.

Other multiple goalkickers for Birchip-Watchem were Daniel Castellano, three; Ben Christodoulou, and Nicholas Rippon, two.

Best for the Bulls were Ben Edwards, Nicholas Rippon, Lochlan Sirett, Cormacc Wilson and Darcy Reid.

Mitchell Birthisel, Mitch Egan, Heath McNally, coach Anthony Bourke, Harley Durward and Daniel Gifford were best for the Saints.

A brilliant second term set up Nullawil’s victory at Boort Park.

The Maroons led 20-13 at quarter-time and then slammed on 8.4 to 1.2 in the second.

The Brett Barker-coached Nullawil won the next, 27-14, but the Dale Cameron-coached Boort marked its final term of the season with a score of 5.3 to 3.3.

At the final siren Nullawil led 120-68.

Nullawil captain Jordan Humphreys kicked six goals and Andrew Oberdorfer added five.

Other multiple goalkickers were Dean Smith and Adam Thomson with two.

Boort’s attack was led by Frasier Holland and Natnael McLaren on two each.

Best for Nullawil were Dean Smith, Patrick Kelly, Jordan Humphreys, Matt Quigley, Jonathan Casey and Andrew Oberdorfer.

Jarrod Fitzpatrick, Tom Potter, Alex Davis, Matt Chisari and Matt Hodoras played well for the Magpies.

Donald marked a 142-point win on its turf against Charlton.

The Royal Blues scored seven straight goals in the opening quarter for a 32-point lead.

A 53-point lead by the long break was up to 96 at a quarter to play after Donald slammed on 7.3 to 0.2 in the third term.

Donald’s dominance did not ease up as it scored 8.2 to four behinds in the last for a 171-29 result.

Sam Dunstan led Donald’s attack on 10 goals as Trent Grant and Ross Young chipped in with four.

Other multiple goalkickers for the Rohan Brown-coached Royals were Stephen Dinnell and Hayden Geddes on two.

Goalkickers for Charlton were Chris Gavaghan, Harrison Taylor and Sam Woods.

Donald’s best were Sam Dunstan, Blake Grant, Ross Young, Dyson Bell-Warren, Jesse Wallin and Hayden Geddes.

Sam Woods, Jed Thompson, Jaydon Cowling, Anthony Judd, Jesse Taylor and Nick Thompson worked hard for the Andy Nisbet-coached Navies.

Wycheproof-Narraport had the bye.

Final standings in the Goldacres North Central FNL senior footy action for the 2023 home-and-away series:

Sea Lake Nandaly 272 per cent, 64 points; Birchip-Watchem 181, 48; Donald 127, 44; Nullawil 148, 40; Wycheproof-Narraport 83, 30; Wedderburn 106, 28; Boort 77, 18; Charlton 52, 16; St Arnaud 27, 0.

First semi-finals will be played next Saturday.

The day’s action kicks off with the Uniting Church under-14s match between Boort and Charlton.

It’s Birchip-Watchem against Sea Lake Nandaly in the Charlton and District Community Bank under-17s match.

Boort takes on Birchip-Watchem in the Haeuslers reserves final.

Finale to the day is the seniors clash between Donald and Nullawil.

Leaders in the senior footy goalkicking race:

89 Sam Dunstan, Donald.

84 Ben Edwards, Birchip-Watchem.

57 Sam Barnes, Wedderburn.

46 Billy McInnes, Sea Lake Nandaly.

41 Nick Thompson, Charlton.

40 Adam Thomson, Nullawil.

39 Nathan Gordon, Birchip-Watchem.

36 Josh Jenkins, Sea Lake Nandaly.

36 John Summerhayes, Sea Lake Nandaly.

35 Tom Campbell, Wedderburn.

32 Daniel Castellano, Birchip-Watchem.

32 Jordan Humphreys, Nullawil.

30 Gedd Hommelhoff, Wycheproof-Narraport.

27 Will Simpson, Sea Lake Nandaly.

26 Nicholas Rippon, Birchip-Watchem.

25 Chris Gavaghan, Charlton.

25 Dean Smith, Nullawil.

24 Danny Benaim, Wedderburn.

24 Jarrod Fitzpatrick, Boort.

23 Thomas Cox, Sea Lake Nandaly.

23 Tyson McKenzie, Sea Lake Nandaly.

19 Mitch Farmer, Nullawil.

19 Cody Green, Wycheproof-Narraport.

19 Natnael McLaren, Boort.

19 Andrew Oberdorfer, Nullawil.

18 Ben Fraser, Wycheproof-Narraport.

18 Ross Young, Donald.

17 Jordan Rosengren, Wedderburn.

16 Andrew Casey, Nullawil.

16 Jake Hicks, St Arnaud.

16 Frasier Holland, Boort.

15 Rick Allan, Wycheproof-Narraport.

15 Corey Jones, Wycheproof-Narraport.