NCFL Round 7 Review


Demons defeat Redbacks at Wycheproof

THE Demons from Wycheproof-Narraport won a great contest with Weddeburn in Saturday’s sixth round of the Goldacres senior footy action in the North Central league.

Wycheproof-Narraport had home-ground advantage at Wycheproof as it faced an opponent which had achieved a win-loss tally of 3-1.

The Wayne Mitrovic-coached Demons started strongly and led 21-8 by quarter-time.

In the second it was Wedderburn which took control.

The Redbacks slammed on 5.4 to 2.1.

By the long break the visitors were up 42-34.

The Tom Metherell-coached Wedderburn led 57-53 going into the final quarter.

In the last it was the Demons who turned the heat up.

A score of 2.2 to just three behinds was enough for Wycheproof-Narraport to claim a 67-60 victory.

Josh Graboswki kicked four goals as Steven Kennedy added two in a best afield performance.

Wedderburn’s Tom Campbell kicked a match-high five goals.

Best for Wycheproof-Narraport were Steven Kennedy, Spencer Allan, Josh Walsh, Joe Kenny, Thomas Trewin and Josh Graboswki.

A list of Wedderburn’s best was not supplied.

Donald could not halt the charge by the Sea Lake Nandaly Tigers to victory.

An SLN team jointly coached by Billy McInnes and Bryce Delmenico led 21-8 at quarter-time of the clash on Donald’s turf.

The Josh Potter-coached Royals fought back strongly to be within a goal at half-time.

Sea Lake Nandaly scored 3.11 to 2.1 across the second half to record a 63-41 victory.

Adam Pattison led the Tigers’ attack on two goals.

Leading goalkicker for Donald was Noah Berry two.

Best for Sea Lake Nandaly were Thomas Cox, Adam Pattison, Wade Donnan, Ryan O’Sullivan, Tyson McKenzie and Kane Donnan.

Ryley Barrack, Andrew Browne, Jesse Wallin, Daniel Pearce, Tom Heuson and Ross Young played well for Donald.

A nine-goal blitz in the first quarter set up Nullawil’s win at home against Charlton.

The Darryl Wilson-coached Nullawil scored 9.3 to 1.1 in the opening term.

From there it was a far more competitive match.

A Charlton line-up coached by Mitch Collins scored 8.5 in the last three quarters as a wayward Nullawil racked up 7.17.

At the final siren Nullawil led 116 to 60.

A century goalkicker in his time at Violet Town, Jack Exell led Nullawil’s attack on six goals as Andrew Casey and Mitch Farmer added three.

Charlton’s leading goalkickers were Kade Blow and Thomas Finlay on two.

Nullawil’s best were Hunter Lawrence, Dean Putt, Mitch Farmer, Jack Exell, Dude Kelly and Matt Quigley.

Harrison Taylor, Tyler Fehsler, Mitch Collins, Sam Woods, Elliott Fitzpatrick and Jed Thompson played well for the Navies.

Birchip-Watchem marked a 116-point win against Boort at Birchip’s George Cartwright Oval.

A closely-fought first term went the Bulls way, 27-19.

In the second quarter, Birchip-Watchem slammed on 8.6 to 2.0.

A 50-point lead for the Trevor Ryan-coached Bulls at half-time became 90 at a quarter to go.

Brilliant forward Ben Edwards went on to kick seven goals as Joseph Reid and Nicholas Rippon added four and Hamish Hosking chipped in with two in a 161-45 victory.

Natnael McLaren kicked two goals for the Dale Cameron-coached Boort.

Best for Birchip-Watchem were Nicholas Rippon, Darcy Reid, Hamish Hosking, Ben Edwards, Joseph Reid and Marshall Reid.

Boort’s best were Ryan McGhie, Natnael McLaren, Jarrod Fitzpatrick, James Keeble, Jhye Baddeley-Kelly and James Byrne.

St Arnaud had the bye.

North Central FNL senior footy ladder:

Birchip-Watchem 229 per cent, 24 points; Sea Lake Nandaly 158, 20; Wedderburn 157, 12; Donald 104, 12; Wycheproof-Narraport 88, 12; Nullawil 108, 8; Boort 68, 8; Charlton 42, 0; St Arnaud 40, 0.

In next Saturday’s seventh round, Wedderburn is on home turf at Donaldson Park to tackle Birchip-Watchem from 2.30pm.

Charlton takes on Donald at Charlton Park.

Sea Lake Nandaly and St Arnaud clash at Sea Lake Recreation Reserve.

Boort faces Nullawil at Boort Park.

Wycheproof-Narraport has the bye.

Leading goalkickers:

43 Ben Edwards, Birchip-Watchem.

19 Nicholas Rippon, Birchip-Watchem.

18 Tom Campbell, Wedderburn.

18 Josh Jenkins, Sea Lake Nandaly.

17 Mitch Farmer, Nullawil.

16 Jack Exell, Nullawil.

16 Anthony Zelencich, Wedderburn.

14 Trent Grant, Donald.

13 Billy McInnes, Sea Lake Nandaly.

11 Joseph Reid, Birchip-Watchem.

9 Ethan Coleman, Boort.

9 Josh Graboswki, Wycheproof-Narraport.

9 Oscar Holt, Wedderburn.

9 Will Perryman, Boort.

8 Nicholas Grabowski, Wycheproof-Narraport.

8 Corey Jones, Wycheproof-Narraport.

8 Lachy McClelland, Sea Lake Nandaly.

7 Blake Grant, Donald.

7 Steven Kennedy, Wycheproof-Narraport.

7 Torin Petrie, St Arnaud.

7 Josh Potter, Donald.

7 Rylee Smith, Nullawil.