Nine teams represent Eaglehawk across four age groups

EAGLEHAWK is represented by nine teams across four age groups in this season’s Bendigo Junior Football League action.

The Hawks had mixed results in the season’s fifth round.

Highs were wins by the under-14 senior boys against Maryborough, the under-12A team against Golden Square, and the under-12C clash with Maiden Gully YCW.

The Two Blues also compete in the under-18, 16 and 14 girls’ competitions.

Eaglehawk kicked clear in the last quarter of the under-14 seniors match against Maryborough at California Gully.

The Two Blues led 47-35 at three quarter-time and then scored 5.4 to two points in the last term for an 81-37 victory.

Maysen Pettersen kicked five goals to be among the best with Deacon Marsh, Lennox Barker and Oscar Feldbauer.

Best for Maryborough were Chardy Bond, Liam Clark. Jayden Brydon and Jack Skinner.

The Hawks took on Sandhurst in the under-16 seniors match at Ewing Park.

Louis Banfield, Billy Bassett, Lachlan Borchard, Wilson Butler and Tobie Travaglia all kicked three goals for the Dragons.

The Hawks’ goalkickers were Seth Boyd and Corey May.

Best for Sandhurst were Banfield, Logan Kilcullen, Butler and Jacob Austin.

Eaglehawk’s best were Zak Myers, Riley Naughton and James Trew.

The Hawks came up against White Hills in the under-16 reserves match, the Demons led 79-20 at half-time at Tint A Car Oval in Scott Street. Eaglehawk fought on to score three goals in the second half.

Connor Burkitt kicked seven goals and Darcy Lawler added five majors for the Demons.

Tamati Ensor and Max Miller kicked two goals each for the Borough.

Best for White Hills were Jack Monaghan, Mitchell Jeffrey, Tobias Gray and Isaac Meersbergen.

Tyler Underwood, William Chandler, Joshua Scott and Oliver Hicks worked hard for Eaglehawk.

The Hawks played Golden Square in the under-14 reserves (2) match at Fur Life Vet Oval in Wade Street.

Izaya Hunt, Jylan Holborn and Kyle McClellan were on target for the Borough with the final score 3.4 (22) to 10.22 (82).

Eaglehawk’s best were Ashton Frankling, Hunt, Cohen-James Brown and Hayden Elgar.

In the under-18 girls competition, Eaglehawk was within four points of Strathfieldsaye at half-time of Sunday’s match at Triple M Park in Tannery Lane.

Storm surged in the second half to score 7.5 as the Hawks added 1.2.

At the final siren, Strathfieldsaye led 9.11 (65) to 3.4 (22).

Tia Davidge kicked three goals and Madeline Bennett added two in Storm’s victory.

Keely Fullerton kicked two goals for the Borough.

Best for Eaglehawk were Drew Ryan, Keely Fullerton, Lexie Moss and Kayla Cox.

In the under-16 girls competition, Eaglehawk led 19-7 at quarter-time of the clash with Sandhurst at California Gully where Sandhurst took over after the first break to score 10.11 to a point on the way to a 78-20 victory.

Jazz Rusbridge, Akaisha Lee, Mayah Chilver and Shanae Daly were Sandhurst’s best.

Jayda Matthews-Shanley, Ella Torr and Lilly Stevenson led the way for the Two Blues.

Eaglehawk won the under-12A match against Golden Square by three goals.

The Bulldogs led 26-24 at half-time at California Gully, but the Hawks scored 3.3 to a point in the second half to win 45-27.

Kingston Uerata led the Hawks attack on two goals.

Best for the Two Blues were Logan Wilson, Zaxon Shelton, Harry Miller and Jamieson Webster.

Billy Buhagiar, Will Thomas, Jack Allen and Euan Flood played well for Golden Square.

It was the Hawks against the Eagles as Eaglehawk took on Maiden Gully YCW in the under-12C match at California Gully.

The Hawks led 21-20 at three quarter-time and then charged away to win 49-26.

Taj Ferguson kicked four goals as Valentino Lauria chipped in with two.

Best for Eaglehawk were Jack Frankel, Cashius Burke, Ferguson and Taiglan Turton.

Jack Moresi, Asha Richens, Jake Smith and Mitch Cathrine played well for the Eagles.


Results from round five in the Bendigo JFL season:

Under-16 seniors:

Strathfieldsaye 15.12 (102) d Kangaroo Flat 9.5 (59).

Maiden Gully YCW 9.11 (65) d Dockers 7.9 (51).

Maryborough 10.10 (70) d Castlemaine 7.4 (46).

Golden Square 11.17 (83) d Kyneton 2.5 (17).

Sandhurst 22.18 (150) d Eaglehawk 2.4 (16).

Under-16 reserves:

Marong 9.8 (62) d Kangaroo Flat 0.0 (0).

White Hills 25.16 (166) d Eaglehawk 6.5 (41).

Sandhurst 16.11 (107) d Strathfieldsaye 2.9 (21).

South Bendigo 9.12 (66) d Golden Square 8.6 (54).

Under-14 seniors:

Eaglehawk 12.9 (81) d Maryborough 5.7 (37).

Strathfieldsaye 42 d South Bendigo 37.

Sandhurst 18.10 (118) d Maiden Gully YCW 1.6 (12).

Golden Square 16.9 (105) d Kyneton 5.6 (36).

Under-14 reserves 1:

Sandhurst 9.9 (63) d Kangaroo Flat 1.1 (7).

White Hills 30.28 (208) d Maiden Gully YCW 0.0 (0).

Castlemaine 17.18 (120) d Huntly 1.6 (12).

Strathfieldsaye 11.13 (79) d South Bendigo 1.4 (10).

Under-14 reserves 2:

Sandhurst 9.13 (67) d Strathfieldsaye 5.0 (30).

White Hills 14.15 (99) d Marong Dockers 6.9 (45).

Golden Square 10.22 (82) d Eaglehawk 3.4 (22).


Strathfieldsaye 6.3 (39) d Kangaroo Flat 4.3 (27).

St Therese’s Gold 11.15 (81) d Maiden Gully YCW 3.0 (18).

St Therese’s Maroon 7.8 (50) d St Francis 8.0 (48).

Eaglehawk 7.3 (45) d Golden Square 3.9 (27).


Huntly 5.11 (41) d South Bendigo 3.2 (20).

Kyneton v St Kilian’s-St Peter’s not supplied.

Castlemaine 9.7 (61) d Quarry Hill 7.9 (51).

Strathfieldsaye bye.


St Monica’s 10.23 (83) d St Therese’s 1.2 (8).

Strathfieldsaye 8.7 (55) d White Hills 2.4 (16).

Eaglehawk 7.7 (49) d Maiden Gully YCW 4.2 (26).

Maryborough 7.5 (47) d Marong 4.3 (27).

St Francis bye.


Huntly 4.3 (27) d Heathcote 4.1 (25).

Golden Square 4.5 (29) d Strathfieldsaye 3.2 (20).

Kangaroo Flat 8.7 (55) d Maiden Gully YCW 1.5 (11).

South Bendigo bye.