North Bendigo fights for victory at White Hills

NORTH Bendigo answered a spirited last-quarter fightback from White Hills to win Saturday’s round 10 clash in the Bendigo Bank Heathcote District Football Netball League senior footy action.

The Demons broke North Bendigo’s long-running streak of home wins in round three and went into this match as favourite.

Bulldogs’ coach Matt Dillon made several key positional moves for this match at Tint-A-Car Oval in Scott Street.

Shane Harris was switched from key forward to an onball role against White Hills coach Sam Kerridge, and Bailey Wingrave was at full-back against Jed Lamb who had kicked 57 goals.

It was the Bulldogs who dominated the first term.

The classy Harry O’Meara soccered the first two goal.

After striking the post twice, Dylan Klemm ran onto the loose ball in the goalsquare to cap an attack that began with a Manny Thalasinos tackle and free at half-forward.

Bulldogs’ captain Aarryn Craig marked a pass across the Demons’ defensive 50 to make it 23-1 in the 22nd minute.

A right-foot snap by Craig went through to cap a superb start by him.

The Demons brought up their first goal with a snap by Patrick Eefting from a contest.

It was Allport who set up another Demons major when he dodged opponents through the centre and kicked into attack where Jed Lamb snapped a fine goal.

Bulldogs’ run and link on the Botanical Gardens wing was capped by a Jack Francis goal.

After a 50m penalty, Rohan Bowles made no mistake to put the Demons within 20 points at half-time.

Defences were on top until the 18th minute mark of the third term when Jed Lamb was on target from a tight angle.

The Bulldogs replied through Storm Giri after Jordan Ford’s leap and strong mark on a defensive kick-in.

A left-foot snap goal Demons’ captain Mitch Dole and then another major by Nathan Moffat cut North’s lead to seven points.

As he does so often, Aarryn Craig lifted his team once again with a running goal after Ryan Alford was rewarded with a strong tackle at centre half-forward and handpassed to the skipper.

White Hills lifted its workrate dramatically at the start of the final term.

Allport goaled after a free kick to cap play by James Stewart after he marked at centre half-back and played on quickly.

Jed Lamb was held in a marking contest and goaled to put the Demons in front by a point.

When Dole snapped a left-foot goal the Demons led 63-56 in the 13th minute.

Unlike the previous round at Lockington where they were overrun, the Bulldogs lifted.

Klemm’s snap over the shoulder lifted North Bendigo.

A star across half-back all match, Jordan Ford made his way inside the Dogs’ attacking 50 and marked a Craig pass.

Ford’s goal put North Bendigo back in front, 68-64.

The Bulldogs added another three points and then celebrated a 9.17 (71) to 9.10 (64) victory.

Triple premiership-winning team-mates, Ford and Craig were the Buldogs best as onballer/forward Koe Ngawati, Harris, ruckman Jeremy Lamben and half-back flanker Tom Metherell all played key roles in the victory.

Demons’ full-back Hayden Wright took many marks to be best along with ruckman Lachlan Sidebottom, Eli Pearce, David Wright, Rhys Irwin and Jason Clark.

Lockington Bamawm United’s impressive run rolled on as the Cats beat Mount Pleasant by 77 points at Lockington’s Nichol Trading Oval.

The Blues made a great start to be within seven points of the unbeaten ladder leaders at quarter-time.

LBU dominated the second term as it scored 5.3 to 1.2 to gain a 32-point break.

Jarod Bacon was in outstanding form in attack as a six-goal haul lifted his season tally to 29.

James McPhee added three goals as LBU kicked away to win 16.13 (109) to 4.8 (32).

The Cats defence worked extremely well to keep the dangerous Ben Weightman goalless.

Key defender Tom Holman was best on ground as Jarod Bacon, Marcus Angove, Brodie Collins, Bart Phillips and Jesse Collins led LBU to victory.

Michael Whiting, Bryce Hinneberg, Billy Mahony, Dale Young and Brayden Dorrington were best for the Blues.

Colbinabbin won a hard-fought contest on Huntly’s turf at Specialist Breeders Australia Oval in Strauch Reserve.

Grasshoppers’ coach Julian Bull and his players were wary of an opponent which almost upset White Hills the previous round.

Colbinabbin led 15-7 at quarter-time and had gain a 16-point lead by the main break.

The Hawks kept working hard, but Colbo’s running power and skill through midfield proved decisive.

The Grasshoppers scored 8.7 to 3.3 in the second half to complete a 91-41 victory.

Matt Riordan kicked a game-high three goals for Colbo as Nick Knight, Ben Southam and Stephen Tuohey added two each.

Luke Jones and Ryan Semmel both kicked two majors for the Hawks.

Colbinabbin’s best were Southam, Ben Barton, Knight, Hadleigh Sirett, Riordan and Daniel Hill.

Jake Maher, Mitch Billings, Josh Harris, Jay McDonald, Jordan Formosa and Brandon Dimech played well for the Stacy Fiske-coached Huntly.

Four goals to nil in the opening term played a big part in Heathcote’s win against Leitchville Gunbower at Degroot Roof Painting Gunbower Reserve.

The Saints led 28-nil at the first break.

From there it was the Bombers who outstcored the opposition across the next three quarters, 50-45.

Will Long and Alex McIvor kicked two goals apiece as Heathcote won 11.7 (73) to 7.8 (50).

Tom Brereton and Will O’Shea kicked two goals each for the Bombers.

The consistent Jake Condon was best afield as Ryan Bailey, Mitch McLean, Billy Price, Tom Pain and Tom Bourke played well for the Saints.

Leitchville Gunbower’s best were Tom Brereton, Nathan McLellan, Darcy Elliott, Austin Windridge, Brett Johnson and Lee Pollock.

Elmore had the bye.

Heathcote DFNL senior footy ladder:

Lockington Bamawm United 296 per cent, 36 points; White Hills 169, 32; Colbinabbin 151, 24; North Bendigo 99, 24; Mount Pleasant 87, 16; Huntly 94, 12; Elmore 59, 12; Heathcote 77, 8; Leitchville Gunbower 35, 0.

In next Saturday’s 11th round, Elmore faces Lockington Bamawm United at Elmore.

Mount Pleasant tackles Huntly at Toolleen.

Colbinabbin and Leitchville Gunbower clash at M.J. Morgan Reserve in Colbinabbin.

Heathcote and White Hills play at Pigeon Park in Heathcote’s Barrack Reserve.

North Bendigo has the bye.

Written by Nathan Dole.