North Central’s stars take on Sunraysia at Sea Lake

ALL eight clubs are represented in the Goldacres North Central Football League’s senior footy team to tackle the Sunraysia Football Netball League this Saturday at Sea Lake.

Reigning premier and unbeaten this season, Sea Lake Nandaly Tigers has eight players in the team of 22.

Another undefeated line-up, Wedderburn will be represented by seven of its best.

The Donnan family from Sea Lake Nandaly Tigers completes almost a fifth of the team as North Central will be coached by Joel and includes Kane at centre half-back, Wade in the centre, and Trent as ruck-rover.

It’s an all-Wedderburn half-forward line of Jordan Rosengren, Tom Campbell and Corey Lowry that faces Sunraysia’s defence.

A powerful attack includes the marking and leading power of Tigers’ star Billy McInnes at full-forward, clubmate Will Simpson in a pocket, and Birchip Watchem Bulls’ Will Sheahan in the other.

A key to North Central’s chances on the big ground will be control at centre ball-ups and stoppages through Tigers’ ruckman Ryan O’Sullivan, Trent Donnan, and Boort’s gun recruit and rover Matt Chisari.

The midfield includes the classy Jordan Collins from Charlton on one wing, and Adul Zuc from Wycheproof Narraport on the other.

Sunraysia will be coached by league legend Don Falvo.

A brilliant rover for Robinvale, Falvo was a four-time winner of the McLeod Medal as SFNL’s fairest and best.

Falvo’s first medal victory was in 1995 and was followed by being SFNL best in 2006, ’09 and 2013.

Captain of Sunraysia’s senior inter-league team is Irymple star Nick Mee.

A triple premiership player in the SFNL, Mee’s career began with Imperials and he played in the winning grand final in 2013 and was runner-up a year later.

Mee crossed to Irymple for the 2015 season and played in premiership teams in 2017 and ’19, and runner-up in 2018

He played TAC Cup, now known as NAB Cup, for the Bendigo Pioneers.

Mee’s premiership-winning team-mates from two seasons ago, Zack Wandin and Nick Pezzaniti are in the squad to face North Central.

Pezzaniti has kicked 18 goals in four matches to lead the league’s goalkicking race.

Sunraysia’s squad includes Merbein’s Ash Rowe who featured in a three-way tie with Irymple’s Nathan Hamence and Wentworth’s Derek Smith for the McLeod Medal in the 2016 season.

Unbeaten in four matches and top of the ladder, Imperials has five players in the SFNL squad.

Second-placed Merbein, also 4-0, has four players in the running to play on Saturday.

Luke Hickey kicked seven goals in Imperials’ latest win and will test North Central’s defence.

Mildura’s Josh Dean and Merbein’s Daniel Tung add to Sunraysia’s midfield strength.

Playing from half-back, Lachlan Murdoch was among Wentworth’s best in their latest hit out against the Merbein Magpies.

A powerful Imperials team has ruckman Reece McNally, key forward Jarrod McNally, key defender Matt Mazzini, and wingman Ben Galbraith in the squad.

Ouyen United’s representatives in the squad are rover Alex Morrish and defender Brad Vallance.

The senior match starts at 2pm.

A big day of football action kicks off at noon when the under-18s clash.

North Central’s young guns are being coached by Boort’s Andy Hawker.

Players to watch for NCFL include Sea Lake Nandaly’s Flynn McGarry in the centre, Wedderburn’s Isaac Holt, Boort’s Will Perryman and Charlton’s Sebastian Zagame in attack, and Donald rover Hayden Geddes.

On the netball court, the league’s rising stars will contest the 17-under match from 11.30am.

Charlton’s Kim Fitzpatrick and Wedderburn’s Sharyn Lockhart have joined forces to coach the NCFL 17-under team.

Ange McDonald is coach of Sunraysia’s team.

First pass in the open netball match will be at 12.45pm.

North Central is being coached by Kylie Walsh from Birchip Watchem.

The Sunraysia line-up is coached by Loretta Thompson.

Umpires for the netball are Noeline Hogan, Kayla Martin and Madelaine Couch.

North Central FL senior footy team:

B: Tom Douglas (SA), Jordan Hargreaves (W), Jordan Bath (D).

Hb: Jackson Guan (W), Kane Donnan (SLN), Jack Poulton (SLN).

C: Jordan Collins (C), Wade Donnan (SLN), Adul Zuc (WN).

Hf: Jordan Rosengren (W), Tom Campbell (W), Corey Lowry (W).

F: Will Simpson (SLN), Billy McInnes (SLN), Will Sheahan (BW).

Foll: Ryan O’Sullivan (SLN), Trent Donnan (SLN), Matt Chisari (B).

Inter: Josh Potter (D), Luke Holt (W), Mitch McEwen (W), John Summerhayes (SLN).

Legend – B Boort, BW Birchip Watchem, C Charlton, D Donald, SA St Arnaud, SLN Sea Lake Nandaly, W Wedderburn, WN Wycheproof Narraport.

Sunraysia FNL senior squad:

Imperials: Matt Mazzini, Ben Galbraith, Luke Hickey, Jarrod McNally, Reece McNally.
Irymple: Nick Mee, Zac Wandin, Nick Pezzaniti, Nando Cirillo.
Merbein: Josh Carmichael, Daniel Tung, Ash Rowe, Harley Cole.
Mildura: Zac Nelson, Finn Ellis Castle, Josh Dean.
Ouyen United: Brad Vallance, Alex Morrish.
Robinvale Euston: Braidyn Turner, Ryan Middlebrook.
South Mildura: Jackson McEwen, Dom Scullino, Tyler Curtis.
Wentworth: Lachlan Murdoch, Jack Cottrell, Cambell Davison.

North Central FNL under-18 footy team:

B: Mason Heenan (C), Pat Soulsby (C), Angus Collins (SLN).

Hb: Ben Daniels (SLN), Kris Stevens (SLN), Tadhg Lowry (BW).

C: Cormace Wilson (BW), Flynn McGarry (SLN), Aaron Schofield (D).

Hf: Pat Sheahan (BW), Isaac Holt (W), Sebastian Zagame (C).

F: Thomas Cox (SLN), Will Perryman (B), Ned Gorrie (SA).

Foll: Beau Griffiths (D), Tom Potter (B), Hayden Geddes (D).

Inter: Will Burke (D), Will Toose (B), Tom Myers (SA), Pat Sait (C).

Legend – B Boort, BW Birchip Watchem, C Charlton, D Donald, SA St Arnaud, SLN Sea Lake Nandaly, W Wedderburn.

Sunraysia FNL under-18 football squad:

Imperials: Gerard Krake.
Irymple: Bailey Anderson, Hudson Bartels, Max Cirigliano.
Merbein: Cooper Dodds, Harrison Pinyon.
Mildura: Jesse Gosman, Josh Goss, Jack Norton, Archer Olsen, Jack Walker, Cameron Kiel.
Ouyen United: Heath Smith.
Robinvale Euston: Jesse Stevens, Moala Polata, Joseph Mezzatesta, Ricardo Liparota.
Red Cliffs: Jed Connolly, Bailey Kelly.
South Mildura: Taj Stevens, Flynn Tiley, Mason Fitzgerald.

North Central NA open netball team:

Carly Isaac (Boort), Kirsty McKenzie (Charlton), Meg Lockhart (Wedderburn), Grace Lockhart (Wedderburn), Asela Finch (Sea Lake-Nandaly), Ebony McLean (Sea Lake-Nandaly), Khiana Brooks (Birchip-Watchem), Cheyenne Parsons (Birchip-Watchem).

Coach: Kylie Walsh (Birchip-Watchem).

Sunraysia FNL open netball team:

Elizabeth Rowe (Wentworth), Ebony Littore (Imperials), Abbey Madden (Mildura), Demi Wall (Wentworth), Shakara Delcastegne (Irymple), Alle Littore (Imperials), Maddison Toms (South Mildura), Christie Becker (Wentworth), Catherine Brown (Ouyen United), Meg McManus (Imperials).

Coach: Loretta Thompson.

North Central NA 17-under netball team:

Isabel Coutts (Boort), Aliza Lockhart (Wedderburn), Olivia Lockhart (Wedderburn), Maddison Fitzpatrick (Charlton), Abby Thompson (Charlton), Kiara Berry (Donald), Grace Leeder (Donald), Claudia Griffiths (Donald), Natalie Hickey (Sea Lake-Nandaly).

Coaches: Kim Fitzpatrick (Charlton) and Sharyn Lockhart (Wedderburn).

Sunraysia FNL 17-under netball team:

Ella Higgins (Mildura), Kate Euvrard (Mildura), Alexandra Leng (Mildura), Ava Zadow (Mildura), Chloe O’Brien (Ouyen United), Jazmin Parker (Red Cliffs), Millie Kuhne (Imperials), Morna Naguto (South Mildura), Ruby McInerney (Wentworth).

Coach: Ange McDonald.