Panthers rip through Calivil United defence at Marong

THE Marong Panthers tore Calivil United’s defence apart in Saturday’s start to the Bendigo Bank Loddon Valley Football Netball League’s senior footy season.

One of the league’s boom recruits, Kain Robins booted 10 goals in a best-on-ground performance as the Panthers won 21.17 (143) to 0.2 (2) at Discover Marong Oval in Malone Park.

A Michelsen medallist as the Bendigo FNL’s best and fairest in 2006 and star in Eaglehawk premierships wins, Robins showed he is still a force to be reckoned with.

The Linton Jacobs-coached Marong had plenty of new faces and most starred.

The Panthers led 76-1 at half-time and did not let up as they added four goals in the third term and six in the last.

It was a tough day for Calivil United in all areas of the ground.

Marong’s best included Jacob Ede, David Johnstone and Nathan Devanny.

Best for Calivil United were Mitchell A’Vard, former South Bendigo coach Brady Childs, Jack Demeo and Tim Lloyd.

Mitiamo’s premiership flag for the 2019 season was unfurled by Faye Forbes, wife of club great and LVNFL legend John Forbes who passed away last month.

The Mitiamo Superoos then kicked on to win a hard-fought contest with Bears Lagoon Serpentine by 23 points.

It was the Bears who made a superb start on Mitiamo’s turf at John Forbes Oval to lead 21-4 at quarter-time.

Mitiamo hit back to lead 41-34 at half-time.

The Superoos held a one-goal buffer at a quarter to go.

Mitiamo scored 2.7 to just two points in the windy conditions in the final term.

Andrew Cussen and Ryan Wellington led Mitiamo’s attack on two goals.

Justin Laird kicked a game-high three goals for the Bears.

Mitiamo’s best were Lucas Matthews, Max Simpson, Luke Lougoon and Ashley Benbow.

Darcy Poulter, Laird, Josh Walsh and Andy Gladman played well for the Greg Gadsden-coached Bears.

Pyramid Hill made a flying start on home turf at Mitchell Park against Inglewood.

Braidy Dickens and Bailey George were in hot form as they kicked 10 and nine goals respectively in the 181-14 victory.

The Bulldogs slammed on eight goals in the first and five in the second as they kept the Blues scoreless in the opening half.

Inglewood broke the ice with goals to Thomas Lake and Jayden Mitchell on what was a tough afternoon for the young Blues line-up.

Votes for Pyramid Hill’s best went to George, Dickens, Matt Ladson and Gavin James.

Inglewood’s best were Cody Stobaus, Tynan Hywood, Nathan Wallace and Kyle Simpson.

The Maiden Gully YCW Eagles were too strong for Newbridge under the Marist College Oval lights.

Maiden Gully led 60-20 at three quarter-time and then slammed on 7.1 to two points in the final term to complete a 103-22 victory.

Cohen Keckich kicked five goals for the Eagles as ruckman Chris Howgate added three.

Best for the Eagles were Brayden Aitken, Howgate, Jonathan Lanyon and Natnael McLaren.

Newbridge’s best were Ryan Burt, Harry and Mack Whittle, and Dylan Lloyd.

Bridgewater had the bye.

In this Saturday’s second round, Bears Lagoon Serpentine takes on Bridgewater at Serpentine.

Inglewood faces Mitiamo at Searle Bros Oval in Inglewood.

Newbridge and Pyramid Hill clash at Bendigo Locksmith Riverside Oval.

Calivil United plays Maiden Gully YCW at 5 Star Stockfeeds Oval in Calivil.

Marong has the bye.

Written by Nathan Dole