Premiership the big goal for Roulston medallist


A PREMIERSHIP is the target for North Bendigo young gun Nathan Anderson, a joint winner of the David Roulston Medal as fairest and best in the Bendigo Bank Heathcote DFNL under-18s footy in 2023.

Anderson and Heathcote’s Thomas Johnson were locked on 20 votes when the last of voting cards was called.

Both were in action across last weekend’s semi-finals.

Anderson and his North Bendigo team-mates took on White Hills in the second semi-final at Colbinabbin’s M.J. Morgan Oval.

The Bulldogs marked an 18-point victory to qualify for another grand final.

Last September, Anderson was in the North Bendigo team-mate which was beaten by White Hills in the under-18s grand final by nine points.

The Demons’ team of ’23 will fight to gain another crack at North Bendigo in the upcoming grand final by beating Huntly in this Saturday’s preliminary final.

Key players for the Demons include Patrick Conlan who polled 18 votes to be runner-up for the league medal.

The season for Johnson and his Heathcote team-mates ended in a 47-62 loss to Huntly in Sunday’s first semi on Elmore’s turf.

Club-by-club voting for the David Roulston Medal in the Heathcote DFNL under-18s football competition for the ’23 season:


6 Evan McAuley; 4 Ray Pearson, Elijah Wallace; 3 Josh Kelly, Ned Morgan; 1 Dylan Wilson.


16 Mattia Curry; 9 Gus Hay; 6 Jack Smith; 5 Oscar Cail, Xavier Grant; 1 Nash Hayes.


20 Thomas Johnson; 16 Daniel Butler; 14 James Pringle; 4 Ryan Foster; 2 Kynan Baldwin, James Prince.


13 Archer Billings; 6 Deacon Wheelhouse; 5 Judd Gilchrist, Ethan Oaten; 4 Jack Cook; 3 Patrick Henderson, Josh Trotter; 1 Xavier Cain, Kade Kalms.

Leitchville Gunbower:

13 Fletcher Ball; 12 Bryce Barnstable; 10 Noah Hore; 6 Darby Jones; 3 Hudson Connelly; 1 Hawley Wells.

Lockington Bamawm United:

13 Jai Milligan; 7 Cody Betts; 5 Noah Condliffe, Cooper Mitchell; 2 Jacob Haines, Nicholas Mitchell, Finn Palmer; 1 Toby Coutts, Bailey Miller, Reece Mitchell.

Mount Pleasant:

9 Oliver McCooke; 7 Will Bowles; 4 Billy Bassett; 2 Max Harrop, Lenny McNamara; 1 Jett Malone, Darby Whatley.

North Bendigo:

20 Nathan Anderson; 16 Zavier Holmes; 11 Jett Grundy; 9 Brandyn Barilari; 6 Will Gilmore; 3 Senna Marsili; 2 Harry Pysing, Jack Pysing, Carter Reid; 1 Mason Lane.

White Hills:

18 Patrick Conlan; 13 Macauley Johnson, Harry Sheilds; 10 Isaac Meersbergen; 9 Seth Boyd, Oliver Edmiston; 3 O’Malley Parker; 2 Jack Monaghan, Melvic Pambai, Taj Taylor.