PREVIEW | Round 2 CVFL Women’s

History to be marked at Castlemaine’s Camp Reserve

CASTLEMAINE marks its arrival in the Champions IGA-backed CVFL women’s football competition this Saturday night.

The Magpies take on Kyneton in the historic game at Castlemaine’s Camp Reserve from 5.15pm.

The Castlemaine and Kyneton showdown kicks off round two.

A busy recruiting campaign by the Pies landed Tiahna Cochrane who kicked 40 goals for Golden Square last season as playing coach.

Other key players for the Magpies will include Michelle Barkla at full-back, ruck-rover Meg Ginnivan, Shelby Knoll and Lily McNair in attack.

The Magpies have named Meg Tong in the centre, Emma Pedretti in the ruck, and Britney Oliver in a back pocket.

The Phil Hawkes-coached Tigers will be keen to mark a new season with a victory.

Kyneton has welcomed Taylah Moore at centre half-back, Madeline Stott and Emma Williams in attack.

Players to watch in the Kyneton line-up include ruck-rover Heidi Erasmus, Ursula van Dyk on a wing, Shannon White at half-back, and Rachel Williams in the ruck.

All other matches will be on Sunday from 2.30pm.

After a scoreless start to the season, North Bendigo is up against Golden Square at Hibo Hotel Oval in Atkins Street.

The Ricky Crotty-coached North Bendigo line-up will be determined to hit back after a 146-point drubbing from Eaglehawk at Canterbury Park.

Maddie Jelbart, Cherelle Byrne, Sophie Perkins, Paris Keogh-Beacom and Mikala Creely were best for the red, white and blue in round one.

Unbeaten across 2019 and ’21, Golden Square has class all over the ground.

It’s a new-look for Square as Todd Deary is coach.

Newcomers include Emily Collins and Jorja Van den Berg.

Key players for the blue and gold include Letisha Stewart, Amanda Carrod, Bree Heiden and Andrea Wilson.

Kerang is at home to Bendigo Thunder at Riverside Park.

It’s a tough first-up assignment for the Stephen Arthur-coached Blues as Thunder scored a 146-0 win against Strathfieldsaye at Weeroona Oval in round one.

New players for Kerang include Zalie Ash, Stephanie Brennan and Rebecca Zerbe.

Thunder star Britney Mueck kicked nine goals in round one and will test the Kerang defence.

Mueck’s tally of 38 last season earned runner-up honours in the league goalkicking race.

The Jac Louttit-coached Thunder was brilliantly led by Jessica Kennedy, Megan Williamson and Abbey Barber last Sunday.

Other players to watch for Thunder include captain Phoebe Cuttriss, Hannah Perry, Georgia Gordon and Shae-Lee Murphy-Burke.

A tough start for Strathfieldsaye does not become any easier as Storm plays the Geoff West-coached Eaglehawk at Triple M Park in Tannery Lane.

Best for the Jake Donegan-coached Storm against Thunder were Eliza Long, Jorgie Formosa, Keisha Tonzking, Britt Tangey and Jessica Kopp.

The Hawks’ attack was led by Jasmine Burzacott, five goals; Samatha Heron, Freyja Pearce, and Kristal Lugosi on three each against North Bendigo.

Kangaroo Flat’s decision to not field a team has benefited the Hawks as Chloe Green marked her first game for the Two Blues by being best afield.

Lily den Houting, Lucy Dawe, Jasmine Burzacott and Anya Cardilini also played well in the season opener.

The Hawks’ squad includes Lily Den Houting, Charlotte and Grace Edlin, Grace and Olivia Murley, and Ebony Whiley.


Written by Nathan Dole.