Redbacks aim to trap Demons in web

THE Wedderburn Redbacks will aim to halt Wycheproof Narraport in Saturday’s second round of senior footy in the Goldacres North Central Football League.

It’s second against third on Wedderburn’s turf at Donaldson Park.

Both clubs made a winning start to the 2022 season.

The Redbacks won at Charlton Park by 53 points as Tom Campbell, five goals; Danny Benaim, four; Ben DeAraugo and Jaran McKay, two, led the way in the forward 50m arc.

The play of Jackson Guan at half-back, ruckman Jordan Hargreaves, McKay in an on-ball role and Luke Holt at half-forward was a highlight for the red  and black.

Other key players for Wedderburn include Adam Postle at full back, Jordan Rosengren in the centre, Hamish Winter-Irving, and Mitch McEwen.

They will need to play well against the Boe Bish-coached Wycheproof Narraport team which won a hard-fought battle with St Arnaud by 18 points.

Cody Green, three; and Justin Bateson, two; led the Demons attack in a match where former Eaglehawk midfielder Gedd Hommelhoff, Dan McLennan, Conner Burge and Lachlan Van Schaik were best.

The Demons will look for the likes of Lachlan Longmire, Dylan Turner, Daniel Allen and Harry Moore to have an impact on the contest.

Boort faces a huge task against Birchip Watchem at Boort Park.

The Andy Hawker-coached Magpies were held to just four goals in the first-round match at Donald.

Brodie Leonard-Shannon kicked two goals from limited opportunities for Boort.

The play of Keiren Wilson, Ben Knight, Tom Hawker, Jarrod Starr, ruckman Nathan Twigg, and Matt Chisari will be a key to the Magpies’ chances.

The Magpies’ squad includes Darcy Hawker, Levi Moss, Keanu Padula, Cam Barr and Jarrod Starr.

Birchip Watchem showed it will again be a major challenger for the premiership.

Dylan Adkins kicked two goals and was best afield for the Bulls in a 59-48 victory against Sea Lake Nandaly Tigers.

A talented Birchip Watchem team coached by Trevor Ryan includes Daniel Castellano, Clayton Hinkley, Riley Hogan, Sam Simmons and Kyle Stevens and ruckman Locky Sirett

Sea Lake Nandaly Tigers have rarely had to bounce back from defeat in recent years.

The Joel Donnan-coached Tigers will aim to do so against Charlton at Sea Lake.

Billy McInnes kicked three goals in round one and his marking power will test the Navies defence.

Players to watch for Sea Lake Nandaly include Kane Donnan at centre half-back, ruck-rover Trent Donnan, Flynn McGarry at half-forward, and Austin Mertz at centre half-forward.

Ruckman Ryan O’Sullivan, John Summerhayes and Bryce Delmenico are also stars for the Tigers.

Charlton’s attack against Wedderburn was led by Kris Clifford, Bailey Kemp, Rhys Thompson and Riely Thiesz on two goals each.

Best for the Navies were Aaron Walklate, Tim Hill, Rhys Thompson and Ben Roberts.

It will be a massive test for a Charlton defence that includes Tim Hill, Ricky Welch, Daniel Thiesz and Cameron White.

The Navies will look to Thomas Finlay, Fergus Bourke and Patrick Sait to not allow the Tigers to dominate the centre clearances.

St Arnaud faces the ladder-leading Donald at St Arnaud’s Lord Nelson Park.

On the rebound from a three-goal loss to Wycheproof Narraport, the Torin Petrie-coached Saints are up against a formidable on-ball and forward line from Donald.

The Saints leading goalkickers against the Demons were Josh Hicks, three; and Angus Grant, two.

St Arnaud will look to Mitch Birthisel, Bailey and Harley Durward, Jake and Josh Hicks, and Jacob Tillig to continue their great form.

A St Arnaud defence that includes Petrie, Thomas Bertalli and Harley Durward could be in for a tough afternoon against Leigh Burke and Shane Neaves who kicked three goals apiece in a 101-point win for the Rohan Brown-coached Donald against Boort.

The Royals have bolstered midfield and onball strength through the return of Brody Haddow from South Bendigo.

Rian McGough, Ross Young and Will Burke are able to win plenty of the footy.

All matches start at 2.30pm.

North Central FL senior footy ladder:

Donald 436 per cent, 4 points; Wedderburn 189, 4; Wycheproof Narraport 133, 4; Birchip Watchem 122, 4; Sea Lake Nandaly 81, 0; St Arnaud 74, 0; Charlton 52, 0; Boort 22, 0.

Leading goalkickers:

5 Tom Campbell, W’burn; 4 Danny Benaim, W’burn; 3 Leigh Burke, D; Cody Green, WN; Joshua Hicks, SA; Billy McInnes, SLN; Shane Neaves, D..


Written by Nathan Dole.