Roos tackle Machine in big clash at Mitiamo

TWO  of the dominant clubs in senior footy across the past 10 years meet in this Saturday’s ninth round of the Bendigo Bank Loddon Valley Football Netball League season.

There’s plenty at stake as Mitiamo tackles Bridgewater at John Forbes Oval in Mitiamo.

The Superoos and Mean Machine are third and fourth as the league reaches the halfway mark of the home and away series.

A win for the Marcus McKern-coached Mitiamo will give it a decisive two-game win on the Rick Ladson-coached Bridgewater in the battle for a top-three position and double chance at finals time.

Mitiamo had the bye last round as Bridgewater marked a big final quarter at home to score a 64-point win against Maiden Gully YCW.

The Machine’s attack was led by Cameron Ross, four goals, Joshua Martyn and Brayden Stepien, three.

Bridgewater’s leading goalkicker Andy Collins did not play against the Eagles, but was named in a ‘from’ squad to travel to Mitiamo.

Key players for the Machine include Harry Donegan, Emile Pavlich, Alex Pollock, Lloyd Needs, Harry and Jack Symons, Lachlan Allison and Tyler Estrada.

Mitiamo’s most recent hit-out ended in an 11-point win on Maiden Gully YCW’s turf at Maiden Gully where Ross Turner, Harry McCormick, Jarryd Wiegard and Troy Rogers were best for the Superoos.

The play of Jay Reynolds and Ryan Wellington in attack, Michael I’Anson, Doug Thomas, Harry McCormick and Kyle Patten will be a key to Mitiamo’s success.


The heat is on Inglewood as the Blues fight to hold fifth place.

This round the Darrell Billett-coached Inglewood is at home against the unbeaten Pyramid Hill at Dissy Machinery Oval.

A massive task for Inglewood which will rely a lot on Bregon Cotchett, Cody Stobaus, Charlie Ingham, Alex Lowe and Nathan Angelino winning plenty of contests.

The Blues’ defence will be up against the likes of Bailey George, Braidy Dickens, Sebastian Relouw and Scott Mann.

Other players to watch for the Bulldogs include Steven Gunther, Billy Micevski, Brad Ladson, Adrian Holland and Nathan Catherwood.


Newbridge faces Calivil United at Holloway Air Riverside Oval in Newbridge.

A win could lift Newbridge from the bottom of the ladder.

Key players for the Luke Freeman-coached Maroons include Harry Whittle, Mitch Hocking, Caleb Sanders, Chris Dixon, Tyler McLeod and Brandon Etherington.

In round eight, Newbridge’s defence was under siege from Pyramid Hill.

The pressure will not be as high this time as Calivil United has scored just one goal in its past two games.

Both goals were kicked by Jake Lawry.

The Jack Daley-coached Demons have Jacob Greenwood as a quality target near goal, and will also look to Evan Ritchie, Ben Daley and Ben Baker to keep the heat on the Newbridge defence.

Players to watch in the red and blue include Phil Ryan on a wing, Jordan Lea, Lachlan Brook, Mitch Avard, Dylan Lloyd and Blair Richards.


Maiden Gully tackles Bears Lagoon Serpentine at Marist College Oval.

The Eagles were right in the game until three quarter-time at Bridgewater as Jason Butty led the way on six goals and had great support from the likes of Jonathan Carroll, Hamish McCartney and Corey Walsh.

Bears Lagoon Serpentine will be determined not to relax.

The Justin Laird-coached Bears played brilliant football to win their clash with Inglewood at Gadsden Finance Serpentine Reserve by 81 points.

Half-back flanker Josh Walsh was in superb form as Charlie Gadsden, James Bailey and Andrew Gladman also starred.

Players to watch for the Bears include Kalam Paxton, Harrison Gadsden, Ryan Prendergast, Rhonen Maher, Beau Roy-Clements and Miggy Podosky.

Marong has the bye.


Loddon Valley FNL senior footy ladder:

Pyramid Hill 286 per cent, 28 points; Marong 279, 28; Mitiamo 127, 20; Bridgewater 121, 16; Inglewood 76.7, 12; Bears Lagoon Serpentine 76.2, 12; Calivil United 59, 4; Maiden Gully YCW 47, 4; Newbridge 42, 4.


Leading goalkickers:

58 Brandyn Grenfell, Mar.

26 Bailey George, PH.

24 Josh Martyn, B’water.

20 Jason Butty, MGYCW.

19 Andy Collins, B’water; Justin Laird, BLS.

16 Braidy Dickens, PH.

15 Chris Dixon, New.

14 Jacob Greenwood, CU; Jay Reynolds, Miti.

13 Andrew Gladman, BLS; Ryley Taylor, Mar.; Harry Whittle, New.

12 Nathan Devanny, Mar.; Kyle Manley, Mar.; Ryan Wellington, Miti.

11 Steven Gunther, PH; Rhonen Maher, BLS; Adrian Pappin, Mar.

10 Traiton Kendal, I’wood; Charlie McGaw, I’wood; Billy Micevski, PH; Lloyd Needs, B’water; Kain Robins, Mar.


Written by Nathan Dole.