Round kicks off under Castlemaine’s lights

ROUND four in the Champions IGA-backed CVFL women’s footy competition kicks off this Saturday night under Castlemaine’s lights.

Kyneton and Kerang meet at Castlemaine’s Camp Reserve from 6pm.

The Tigers and Blues will be desperate for the premiership points.

After an impressive round one victory on North Bendigo’s turf, Kyneton has endured consecutive defeats at home against Strathfieldsaye and Kangaroo Flat.

A goal for the Tigers will be to create more scoring chances.

Teagan Ainslie leads Kyneton’s goalkicking list on three from Shaelyn Evans, two.

Best in Kyneton’s latest match were Rebecca Evans, Heidi Erasmus, Belinda Hateley and Shannon White.

Kerang is yet to claim a victory.

A tough run started on Strathfieldsaye Storm’s ground at Triple M Park and was followed by home games against Eaglehawk and Bendigo Thunder.

Sophie Peacock, Donal Fellows, Jemma Meehan and Olivia Basile played well in Kerang’s latest game.

Highlight of Sunday’s showdowns will be Golden Square against Strathfieldsaye at Fur Life Vet Oval in Wade Street.

Both teams are in great form.

Golden Square scored an eight-goal win on Eaglehawk’s turf at S & R Park in Canterbury Park on Anzac Day as Strathfieldsaye blitzed North Bendigo.

The Golden Square defence will have to work hard to stop the in-form Tameeka Morrissey who has kicked 10 goals and Alana Long, five.

In-form players for Storm include Emily Galtieri, Alana and Eliza Long, Ireland O’Rourke, Maeve Tupper and Georgia Vozlic.

A talented Golden Square squad includes Carly Ladson, Carly McRae, Bree Heiden, Lily Campbell, Andrea Wilson and Liz Watkins.

Kangaroo Flat takes on North Bendigo at Bendigo Mazda Oval in Kangaroo Flat’s Dower Park.

The Roos will start hot favourite.

Players to watch for Kangaroo Flat include Best for the Ruby Campbell, Shelby Faulkner, Eloise Gretgrix, Shelby Knoll, Molly Metcalf and Britney Oliver.

North Bendigo will be doing all it can to register a goal or two.

In a tough run, Mackenzie Brouwer, Madelin Jelbart, Cassandra Couglan, Alyssa Johnstone and Zoe Biggs have been among the best for the red, white and blue.

It’s second against fourth as Bendigo Thunder takes on Eaglehawk at Weeroona Oval.

Thunder was in awesome form as it scored an 82-point win at Kerang’s Riverside Park.

Britney Mueck leads the competition’s goalkicking race on 16 and has great support from the likes of Brianna Burt, Phoebe Cuttriss, Georgia Gordon and Jaime Sawers.

Key players for Thunder include Melissa Alvarez, Emily Fitt, Jessica Laidlaw, Jacinta Louttit, Shasta Martion and Hannah Perry.

The Eaglehawk attack is led by Ebony Whiley, six goals, and Grace Edlin, four.

Best for the Borough in the clash with Golden Square were Kirstin Shaw, Emily Field, Hannah Kenny and Rachel Thomas.

The Hawks will look for big games from Grace and Olivia Murley, Skylah Roberts, Georgina Hyett and Shanae Sawyer.

Champions IGA-backed CVFL women’s footy ladder:

Strathfieldsaye 1923 per cent, 12 points; Bendigo Thunder 512, 8; Golden Square 284, 8; Eaglehawk 122, 8; Kangaroo Flat 177, 4; Kyneton 86, 4; Kerang 11, 0; North Bendigo 0, 0.

All of Sunday’s matches start at 2.30pm.

Written by Nathan Dole