Round kicks off under Golden Square’s lights

ROUND nine in the Champions IGA-backed CVFL women’s football competition kicks off this Friday night under the Golden Square lights in Wade Street.

The ladder-leading Golden Square takes on the neighbouring Kangaroo Flat at Fur Life Vet Oval from 7pm.

Most recent meeting between these clubs was on May 22 when the ladder-leaders won by 76 points at Bendigo Mazda Oval in Dower Park.

In last Sunday’s play, Kangaroo Flat was beaten in a great contest with Eaglehawk by eight points, while Square outplayed Bendigo Thunder in a 69-22 result.

Kangaroo Flat’s defence faces a huge task against a blue and gold attack led by Tianha Cochrane, 20 goals; Amanda Carrod, 10; Lily Campbell, 10; Andrea Wilson, nine; and Ella Cochrane, eight.

The Kangaroos will be determined to not allow Golden Square to dominate contests in the centre square or around the ground.

Key players for Kangaroo Flat include Shelby Knoll, 12 goals; Eloise Gretgrix, Kelly Mensforth,

A skilful Golden Square has had Bree Heiden, Lily Campbell, Madeleine White, Carly Ladsonn and Sarah Baldwin star in many matches.

In-form teams, Eaglehawk and Kerang meet on the Borough’s turf at S & R Park in Canterbury Park from 2.30pm on Sunday.

The Hawks have won their past four matches and have joined Bendigo Thunder on a 6-2 record.

Kerang broke a six-game losing run by beating North Bendigo at home and then followed up with 50-15 victory against Strathfieldsaye at Riverside Park last Sunday.

In round two, Eaglehawk won 83-19 on Kerang’s turf.

Players to watch for the Hawks include Grace Edlin, 18 goals; Ebony Whiley, 13 goals; Samantha Heron, Shanae Sawyer in the centre, Taylor Bellesini at full back, and Lily Den Houting at half back.

Donal Fellows kicked three goals in Kerang’s win against Storm and will test the Borough defence.

Sophie Peacock is one of Kerang’s most valuable players, along with Hannah Stewart at centre half-forward, Hannah Spencer on a wing, Rachael Booth at full-back, and Maddison Price in the ruck.

North Bendigo faces Bendigo Thunder at Hibo Hotel Oval in Atkins Street from 2.30pm on Sunday.

Both line-ups are on the rebound from defeat, although North Bendigo worked hard to be within 49 points of Kyneton at the final siren.

In round two, Thunder beat North Bendigo by 136 points at Weeroona Oval.

A strong Thunder attack is led by Britney Mueck, 29 goals; Georgia Gordon, 12; and Brianna Burt, eight.

Key players for Thunder include Shardae Sharp at half-back, Sophie Sarre on a wing, Jacinta Louttit at full-back, Hannah Perry in the centre, and Ramya Rajkumar.

North Bendigo’s most consistent players the past four rounds have been Alyssa Johnstone, Cassandra  Coughlan, Melissa Freestone and Madelin Jelbart.

Locked on three wins apiece, Strathfieldsaye and Kyneton meet at 2.30pm on Sunday at Triple M Park in Tannery Lane.

The round two showdown on the Tigers’ turf ended in a 31-point win for Storm.

Strathfieldsaye won its opening three games of the season and led the ladder, but has slid to fifth.

Despite the streak, Storm is only a win behind fourth-placed Kangaroo Flat.

The Strathfieldsaye attack is led by Tameeka Morrissey, 16 goals; and Alana Long, six.

Storm’s best at Kerang were Alana Long, Claire Macgill, Georgia Vozlic and Tracey Anderson.

Win and the Tigers leap above Storm on the ladder.

Kyneton will look to Heidi Erasmus, Ursula Van Dyk, Shannon Prendergast, Jordan Savoia, Belinda Hateley, Jennifer Schellekens and Shannon White to lead the way to victory.

Champions IGA-backed CVFL women’s football ladder:

Golden Square 654 per cent, 32 points; Bendigo Thunder 265, 24; Eaglehawk 181, 24; Kangaroo Flat 146, 16; Strathfieldsaye 114, 12; Kyneton 71, 12; Kerang 43, 8; North Bendigo 0.3, 0.


Written by Nathan Dole.