Sandhurst snaps Storm’s streak at Strathfieldsaye

SANDHURST broke Strathfieldsaye’s unbeaten run at Triple M Park as the Bendigo Bank Bendigo Football Netball League’s senior footy action marked a return on Good Friday.

The Dragons overcame a 26-point deficit in the final quarter to win 11.12 (78) to 8.17 (65).

It was Storm’s first loss on home turf at Tannery Lane since July 1, 2017 when Golden Square won the round 11 clash by 46 points.

Storm dominated throughout most of the first half, but 1.8 would prove costly as it led 3.11 to 2.5 at the long break.

The Dragons were within two points early in the third, but Storm kicked clear once again.

Despite the heat and injury concerns, Sandhurst never gave in.

The Ashley Connick-coached Sandhurst slammed on the six goals of the contest to stun Storm and the hundreds of fans.

There were many stars for a Sandhurst line-up in which ruckman Chris Down dominated the centre ball-ups in the final term and had great support from co-captains Nick Stagg and Lee Coghlan.

The play of Lachlan Ross, Blair Holmes and Sean O’Farrell was also crucial for Sandhurst.

A list of 10 goalkickers for the Dragons was led by Matt Thornton on two.

Storm’s best were Callum McCarty, Riley Clarke, Patrick Blandford, Cooper Jones, Jake Hall and Jordan Wilson.

The classy Lachlan Sharp led Storm’s attack on four goals.

A challenging start to the Daryl Wilson and Shannon Geary-coached Strathfieldsaye rolls on as Storm heads south next Saturday to play Gisborne at Gardiner Reserve.

Sandhurst is on home turf at Queen Elizabeth Oval to face Maryborough.

Other matches are Castlemaine against South Bendigo at Camp Reserve; Eaglehawk takes on Kangaroo Flat at Canterbury Park; and Kyneton hosts Golden Square at Kyneton Showgrounds.