Season resumes under Golden Square’s lights

THE Champions IGA-backed CVFL women’s football competition resumes this Friday under the Golden Square lights.

An unbeaten Golden Square takes on North Bendigo in the 10th round showdown at Fur Life Vet Oval in Wade Street from 6.30pm.

Aiming to be undefeated champions for the second year running, a star-studded Golden Square shone under Friday Night Lights when it beat Kangaroo Flat by 35 points in the ninth round played on June 25.

The previous meeting between the blue and gold against the red, white and blue in round five ended in a 134-nil win for Golden Square on North Bendigo’s turf at Hibo Hotel Oval in Atkins Street.

Players to watch for Golden Square include rover Madeleine White, Carly Ladson in the ruck, Sarah Baldwin in defence, and Bree Heiden as ruck-rover.

A powerful attack is led by  Tiahna Cochrane, 21 goals; Amanda Campbell and Lily Campbell, 10; and Andrea Wilson, nine.

North Bendigo’s best in its latest clash with Kyneton were Alyssa Johnstone, Melissa Freestone, Rose Wilkens and Cassanda Coughlan.

Madelin Jelbart, Bianca Rogers and Melissa Freestone have also featured among the best in recent games.

All other matches will be played from 2.30pm on Sunday.

Eaglehawk takes on Kyneton at S & R Park in Eaglehawk’s Canterbury Park.

In round five, Eaglehawk scored a 32-point win on Kyneton’s turf in a match for the Pride Cup.

Grace Edlin kicked four goals in that match and leads the Hawks’ goalkicking tally on 19.

Ebony Whiley, 13 goals, and Samantha Heron will also test the Tigers’ defence.

Other key players for the Two Blues include Kristal Lugosi, Grace and Olivia Murley, Lily Den Houting and Shanae Sawyer.

Kyneton scored a two-goal win against Strathfieldsaye in Storm territory at Triple M Park in round nine.

Jordan Savoia kicked two goals in a best afield performance as Urusla Van Dyk, Natalie Korinfsky and Shaelyn Evans led Kyneton’s charge from a 10-point deficit at half-time to win 36-24.

The Tigers will also look to Teagan Ainslie, Jennifer Schellekens and Belinda Hateley to play their part in an upset win on the Borough’s turf.

Kangaroo Flat will play Kyneton at Bendigo Mazda Oval in Kangaroo Flat’s Dower Park.

The Roos won the fifth round match at Kerang’s Riverside Oval by 29 points.

Kangaroo Flat’s best in the match against Golden Square were Jemma Finning, Abbey Barber, Molly Metcalf and Ruby Campbell.

An attack led by Shelby Knoll and Eloise Gretgrix is likely to kick enough goals to beat the Blues.

Kerang’s leading goalkicker is Donal Fellows on six.

The Blues were outplayed in the first half of their recent hit-out at Eaglehawk, but worked hard to score four goals in the second half.

Players to watch for Kerang include Sophie Peacock, Tiana Shepherd, Hannah Spencer, Remi Maher and Hannah Stewart.

It’s Thunder against Storm at Weeroona Oval.

The round five clash at Strathfieldsaye’s Triple M Park ended in a 59-9 win for Thunder.

Storm’s defence faces a huge challenge trying to stop Britney Mueck who has kicked 36 goals to be the league’s leading goalkicker.

Thunder also has Brianna Burt and Georgia Gordon, 12 goals each, in great form.

Best in Thunder’s latest win at North Bendigo were Phoebe Cuttriss, Burt, Lucy Junor and Mueck.

Tameeka Morrissey has kicked 17 goals to be the key target in Storm’s attack.

After a three-nil start to the season and being top of the ladder, Strathfieldsaye is now 3-6, but only a win behind the fourth-placed Kangaroo Flat.

Storm will look for big games from the likes of Alana Long, Claire Macgill, Chelsea Reeves, Jessica and Lucy Jackson, Bridget Chalkley and Emily Galtieri.

Standings in the Champions IGA-backed CVFL women’s football competition:

Golden Square 675 per cent, 36 points; Bendigo Thunder 316, 28; Eaglehawk 184, 28; Kangaroo Flat 130, 16; Kyneton 75, 16; Strathfieldsaye 108, 12; Kerang 43, 8; North Bendigo 0.8, 0.


Written by Nathan Dole.