South Bendigo’s young Bloods in form

THE young Bloods from South Bendigo were in great form across the weekend’s return to the Bendigo Junior Football League season.

Many closes matches were played in the 11th round.

The Bloods achieved a win-loss tally of 3-2 from their games in the under-12B, under-14 seniors, under-14 reserves divison one, under-14 girls, and under-16 reserves competitions.

South Bendigo was incredibly accurate in the under-12B match against Quarry Hill at Ken Wust Oval in Quarry Hill.

The young Bloods scored 10.1 on theer way to a 61-26 victory.

Lachlan Bray and Nate Sandstrom kicked three goals and Zach Watters added two.

Oisin Dunne, Josh Kelly and Hale Salvador McIntosh were on target for Quarry Hill.

Best for South Bendigo were Henry Turnbull, Lachlan Bray, Zaviar Mills, Eamon White, Zach Watters and Nate Sandstrom.

Tyler Wharton, Finnegan Jackson, Finnegan Parker, Hale Salvador McIntosh, Wally Minne and Oisin Dunne played well for the Quarry Hill Demons.

South Bendigo won the under-14 seniors clash with Eaglehawk at S & R Park in Eaglehawk’s Canterbury Park.

The Bloods led 35-12 at half-time and went on to score a 59-33 victory.

Cooper Russell kicked two goals for South Bendigo as Jack Bell, Jasper Irwin, Harrison Jackman, Zak Lythgo, Archer Obst and Harry Purcell added one each.

Goalkickers for the Hawks were Logan Campbell, William Malone, Jaryd Neaves, Maysen Pettersen and Jamarson Tewhata.

Ethan McMahon, Angus Martin, Luke Feuerherdt, Jack Bell, Zak Lythgo and Alfie Taylor were South Bendigo’s best.

James Coates-Moore, Max Miller, Logan Moss, Anderson Pithie, Isaiah Phillips-Adams and Logan Campbell played well for the Borough.

The Bloods were beaten in the under-14 reserves, division match by Strathfieldsaye.

Storm led 38-19 at half-time of the match at Enterprise Oval in Strathfieldsaye’s Tannery Lane and kicked on for an 82-32 victory.

Oliver Elms booted two goals for South Bendigo.

Storm’s attack was led by Josh Mundy, three; Harrison Bennett and Brodie Schintler, two.

Best for the Bloods were Jacob Taylor, Jack Conway, Ryan Foster, Angus Cummins, Spencer Lavery and Jackson Butcher.

Josh Mundy, Digby Parkinson, Noah Filo, Brodie Schintler, Cooper Wilson and Charles Loorham played well for Strathfieldsaye.

In the under-14 girls match, South Bendigo played a closely-fought contest with Castlemaine at Camp Reserve.

South Bendigo led 6-2 at quarter-time after a goal by Tatiyana Hodgkiss, but the Magpies led 9-6 by the long break.

The Bloods added a point and kept Castlemaine scoreless in the third term.

The Magpies goaled twice in the last quarter to complete a 23-7 victory.

Tegan Barry, Maddyson Hewson and Chelsea Lewis kicked Castlemaine’s goals.

South Bendigo’s best were Nykhita Cook, Clara Haines, Maya Murphy, Emma Georgeson, Jade Bateson and Tatiyana Hodgkiss.

Abbey Carr, Rhian Selwood, Sarah Jardine, Tayah Williams, Tegan Barry and Shelby Kitchingman played well for Castlemaine.

Lincon Hocking kicked seven goals as South Bendigo scored a big win in the under-16 reserves match against Kangaroo Flat.

The Bloods had a convincing win as Lincon Hocking, seven; Tyrone Hutton, three; Tyson Hoggan, Ben Leech and Xavier Thomas, two, led the attack at Bendigo Mazda Oval in Kangaroo Flat’s Dower Park.

Best for South Bendigo were Jakob Toman, Ben Leech, Maxwell McKellar,  Kade Kalms, Lincon Hocking and Tadhg McBurney.

Flynn Rowbottom, Riley Kerr, Ryan Miller and Fletcher Waters worked hard for the Kangaroos.

Bendigo JFL round 11 scoreboard:


Strathfieldsaye 5.4 (34) d Kangaroo Flat 2.3 (15).

Golden Square 10.6 (66) d Eaglehawk 2.3 (15).

St Therese’s Gold 13.11 (89) d Maiden Gully 2.4 (16).

St Francis 8.7 (55) d St Therese’s Maroon 3.5 (23).


South Bendigo 10.1 (61) d Quarry Hill 3.8 (26).

Castlemaine 7.0 (42) d St Kilian’s-St Peter’s 4.3 (27).

Kyneton 4.11 (35) d Strathfieldsaye 2.1 (13).

Huntly bye.


Eaglehawk 12.5 (77) d St Francis 3.1 (19).

White Hills 4.4 (28) d St Therese’s 1.1 (7).

Maryborough 8.1 (49) d St Monica’s 1.10 (16).

Marong 8.14 (62) d Strathfieldsaye 3.9 (27).

Maiden Gully YCW Eagles bye.


Strathfieldsaye 4.5 (29) d Huntly 4.2 (26).

Golden Square 5.6 (36) d Kangaroo Flat 2.5 (17).

Heathcote 5.8 (38) d Maiden Gully 2.1 (13).

South Bendigo bye.

Under-14 seniors:

South Bendigo 8.11 (59) d Eaglehawk 5.3 (33).

Kyneton 7.8 (50) d Strathfieldsaye 7.5 (47).

Sandhurst 8.15 (63) d Maryborough 2.4 (16).

Maiden Gully YCW Eagles 13.12 (90) d Castlemaine 5.10 (40).

Golden Square 22.22 (154) d White Hills 2.4 (16).

Under-14 reserves, div. 1:

Sandhurst 14.8 (92) d Kangaroo Flat 6.7 (43).

Huntly 20.15 (135) d Maiden Gully YCW Eagles 1.1 (7).

Strathfieldsaye 12.10 (82) d South Bendigo 5.2 (32).

Under-14 reserves, div. 2:

Strathfieldsaye 16.11 (107) d Eaglehawk 5.2 (32).

White Hills 17.10 (112) d Golden Square 6.5 (41).

Sandhurst 11.8 (74) d Marong Dockers 3.5 (23).

Under-16 seniors:

Golden Square 27.25 (187) d Dockers 1.1 (7).

Kyneton 7.13 (55) d Eaglehawk 6.8 (44).

Kangaroo Flat 17.20 (122) d Maiden Gully YCW Eagles 3.5 (23).

Strathfieldsaye 20.19 (139) d Maryborough 3.3 (21).

Sandhurst 9.15 (69) d Castlemaine 7.5 (47).

Under-16 reserves:

South Bendigo 24.13 (157) d Kangaroo Flat 0.2 (2).

Sandhurst 9.5 (59) d Golden Square 7.14 (56).

Eaglehawk 11.15 (81) d Strathfieldsaye 9.8 (62).

White Hills 13.16 (94) d Marong 6.2 (38).

Under-14 girls:

Strathfieldsaye 10.13 (73) d White Hills 0.1 (1).

Castlemaine 3.5 (23) d South Bendigo 1.1 (7).

Sandhurst 5.10 (40) d Golden Square 1.2 (8).

Kyneton bye.

Under-16 girls:

White Hills 11.9 (75) d Strathfieldsaye 5.5 (35).

Sandhurst 8.9 (57) d Golden Square 5.1 (31).

Kangaroo Flat 4.4 (28) d Eaglehawk 4.3 (27).

Huntly bye.

Under-18 girls:

Strathfieldsaye 12.11 (83) d Woorinen 0.1 (1).

Sandhurst 13.18 (96) d Golden Square 0.2 (2).

Eaglehawk bye.


Written by Nathan Dole.