Storm rolls Thunder at Weeroona Oval

STRATHFIELDSAYE Storm rolled Bendigo Thunder on Sunday in the 10th round of the Champions IGA-backed CVFL women’s football competition.

Storm went into the clash on Thunder’s turf at Weeroona Oval desperate to break a six-game winning streak.

After starting the season with a hat-trick of wins, Storm led the competition but had slumped dramatically.

On Sunday the Jake Donegan-coached Strathfieldsaye was back to the form of April as it triumphed 7.7 (49) to 5.3 (33).

A list of goals and best players for Storm was not supplied.

Britney Mueck and Kylie Wilson kicked two goals each for Thunder.

Wilson, Hannah Perry, Brianna Burt, Lucy Junor and  Imogen Kendal were Thunder’s best.

The round kicked off under Friday night lights when Golden Square played North Bendigo at Fur Life Vet Oval in Golden Square’s Wade Street.

The unbeaten Square was too slick and too strong for the winless North Bendigo.

Tiahna Cochrane kicked 10 goals in a 141-0 victory as Sarah Baldwin, Amanda Carrod and Gemma Free added two each.

Best afield honours went to Tiahna Cochrane as Carrod, Madeleine White, Carly Ladson, Baldwin and Bree Anderson also starred for the blue and gold.

Madelin Jelbart, Teagan Stuchbery, Alyssa Johnstone, Jade Crotty, Mackenzie Brouwer and Tanika Thomson played well for North Bendigo.

Kerang scored a three-point victory on Kangaroo Flat’s ground at Bendigo Mazda Oval in Dower Park on Sunday.

The Blues led 26-1 at quarter-time, but Flat struck back to trail 25-29 at half-time.

Defences dominated the third term as Kerang added a point and the Roos were scoreless.

Both teams added a goal in the last, but it was Kerang which celebrated a 36-33 win.

Donal Fellows kicked two goals for Kerang.

The Roos’ attack was led by Eloise Gretgrix on three.

Kerang’s best were Jemma Meehan, Sophie Peacock, Tenay Fellows, Emma Peacock, Donal Fellows and Hannah Stewart.

Monique Jones, Kelly Mensforth, Eileen Mitchell, Jemma Finning, Eloise Gretgrix and Ruby Campbell played well for the Kangaroos.

Six goals by Ebony Whiley highlighted Eaglehawk’s big win against Kyneton at S & R Park in Eaglehawk’s Canterbury Park.

The Hawks won 13.16 (94) to 1.0 (6).

An attack led by Whiley and Samantha Heron, three goals, was in great form, but the Two Blues also worked hard to keep the Tigers scoreless after quarter-time.

Elizabeth Snell was on target for Kyneton.

Whiley earned best afield honours as Rachel Thomas, Hannah Kenny, Taylor Bellesini, Eilish Cumming and Samantha Heron starred for the Two Blues.

Jordan Savoia, Ursula Van Dyk, Natalie Korfinsky, Rachael Williams, Marnie Love and Heidi Erasmus were best for the yellow and black.

Champions IGA-backed CVFL women’s footy competition ladder:

Golden Square 796 per cent, 40 points; Eaglehawk 215, 32; Bendigo Thunder 268, 28; Kangaroo Flat 126, 16; Strathfieldsaye 112, 16; Kyneton 63, 16; Kerang 47, 12; North Bendigo 0.7, 0.

Leading goalkickers:

38 Britney Mueck, BT; 31 Tiahna Cochrane, GS; 20 Grace Edlin, Eh; 19 Ebony Whiley, Eh; 17 Tameeka Morrissey, S’saye; 13 Shelby Knoll, KF; 12 Brianna Burt, BT; Amanda Carrod, GS; Georgia Gordon, BT; Samantha Heron, Eh; 10 Lily Campbell, GS; Eloise Gretgrix, KF.

In next Sunday’s 11th round, Strathfieldsaye plays Golden Square at Triple M Park in Strathfieldsaye’s Tannery Lane.

North Bendigo takes on Kangaroo Flat at Hibo Hotel Oval in North Bendigo’s Atkins Street.

Kerang and Kyneton clash at Kerang’s Riverside Park.

Eaglehawk and Bendigo Thunder meet at S & R Park in Eaglehawk’s Canterbury Park.

All matches start at 2.30pm.

Written by Nathan Dole.