Superoos outpoint Pyramid Hill at Mitiamo

MITIAMO marked another victory at John Forbes Oval as it beat Pyramid Hill by 38 points in Saturday’s seventh round of senior footy in the Bendigo Bank Loddon Valley Football Netball League season.

In the rematch of the 2019 grand finalists it was Mitiamo which kicked away to lead 35-8 at quarter-time on the Superoos’ turf.

Pyramid Hill fought back to score four goals in the second, but the Superoos added five majors to lead 68-34 by half-time.

The Superoos lead was reduced by a goal at a quarter to play, but it was Mitiamo which finished strongly to score 3.1 to 1.3 in the last to cap a 16.11 (107) to 10.9 (69) victory.

Classy forward and co-coach Tyrone Downie led Mitiamo’s attack on three goals as Brayden Baines, Tim Brooks, Lee Dale, Lucas Matthews and Dylan Mutu added two each.

The Mitiamo defence worked superbly to limit Pyramid Hill star forwards Braidy Dickens and Bailey George to one goal each.

Jacob Heavyside was Pyramid Hill’s leading goalkicker on three.

The talented Dylan Mutu was best afield as Max Simpson, Dale, Brooks, Ross Turner and Tyrone Downie all played key roles for Mitiamo.

Bailey George, Tom Brennan, Scott Mann, Billy Micevski, Jacob Heavyside and Jake Willcocks were Pyramid Hill’s best.

Calivil United scored an impressive 85-point win against Inglewood at 5 Star Stockfeeds Oval in Calivil.

The Demons and Blues were both desperate to break their winless run.

Calivil United led 28-2 at quarter-time and then opened up a 32-point buffer by the long break.

Inglewood worked hard to win the third quarter, 18-15.

It was all Calivil United in the last as it slammed on 9.4 to just two behinds.

A six-goal haul by Jake Lawry capped a 17.18 (120) to 5.5 (35) victory for the Demons.

After battling for goals all season, Calivil United had 11 goalkickers in this win against the Blues.

Best for the Demons were Jack Sinclair, Lawry, Lachlan McAllister, Jordan Lea, Tim Lloyd and Blair Richards.

Inglewood’s best were Cody Stobaus, Dakota Bannister, Taj Rodwell, Jaxon Billett, Tynan Hywood and Nathan Wallace.

Bridgewater was too strong for Maiden Gully YCW Eagles at Bridgewater Bakehouse Oval.

Despite several key players being on the sidelines, Bridgewater still had plenty of skill and goalscoring power.

The Mean Machine led 40-16 at quarter-time and held a four-goal margin by the long break.

In the final hour, Bridgewater scored 7.7 to 3.4 to complete a 16.16 (112) to 8.13 (61) victory.

The in-form Alex Powell led Bridgewater’s attack on four goals as Jarrod Fitzpatrick and Josh Martyn chipped in with three apiece.

Leading goalkickers for the Eagles were Brayden Aitken, Oscar Keogh and coach Wayne Mitrovic on two each.

Bridgewater’s best were Peter Rothacker, Jake Rusbridge, Zeb Broadbent, Caillum Brady, Fitzpatrick and Tom Broadbent.

Travis Mercadante, Nathan Murley, Chris Howgate, Sean Moyle, Grayson Brown and Natnael McLaren worked hard for the Eagles.

Marong bounced back to the winner’s list in style.

The Panthers dominated the opening half of the clash with Bears Lagoon Serpentine at Discover Marong Park in Malone Park.

Marong led 24-3 at quarter-time and 54-10 by the long break.

The Bears clawed their way back to score 8.6 in the second half, but the Panthers added 11.3 to win 19.9 (123) to 9.10 (64).

Key forward Kain Robins was in superb form once again as he kicked eight goals.

A Michelsen medallist and premiership star in his time at Eaglehawk, Robins will play a key role in Marong’s quest for more success.

Other multiple goalkickers for the Panthers against the Bears were Adrian Pappin, three; Corey Gregg, Richard Tibbett and Adam Ward on two each.

The Bears’ attack was led by Brodie Hawke and Rhys Smith on two each.

Best for Marong were David Johnstone, Braden Hender, Josh Cooper, Nathan Devanny, Corey Gregg and Kain Robins.

Nathan Twigg, Zach Stone, Jeremy Hancock, Anthony Lewin, Ryan Prendergast and Bailey Harrison were best for BLS.

Despite the defeat, the Bears are a win clear of sixth-placed Maiden Gully YCW in the fight to gain a finals berth.

Newbridge had the bye.

Standings in the Loddon Valley FNL’s senior footy competition:

Mitiamo 304 per cent, 28 points; Bridgewater 316, 24; Pyramid Hill 234, 16; Marong 161, 16; Bears Lagoon Serpentine 100, 12; Maiden Gully YCW Eagles 84, 8; Newbridge 51, 4; Calivil United 27, 4; Inglewood 17, 0.

The race for the goalkicking title is heating up.

Braidy Dickens leads the way on 32 from Josh Martyn, 28; Kain Robins, 26; Bailey George, 24; Alex Powell, 22; Tyrone Downie, 21; and Mitiamo team-mates Ryan Wellington, 19, and Tim Brooks, 16.

Highlight of next Saturday’s eighth round will be showdown between Pyramid Hill and Bridgewater on the Bulldogs’ turf at Mitchell Park.

Inglewood takes on Marong at Dissy Machinery Oval in Inglewood.

Bears Lagoon Serpentine meets Maiden Gully YCW Eagles in a crucial contest for both clubs at Serpentine.

Newbridge clashes with Calivil United on the Maroons’ turf at  Simonds Homes Riverside Oval in Newbridge.

Mitiamo has the bye.

Written by Nathan Dole