Tigers face Hawks under Kyneton Showgrounds lights

KYNETON and Eaglehawk meet under the Kyneton Showgrounds lights in this Saturday night’s start to round five in the Champions IGA-backed CVFL women’s football competition.

The Tigers and Hawks won their latest hit-outs and will be desperate for points as they are fifth and sixth on the ladder.

Kyneton teamed well to defeat Kerang, 87-8 in last Saturday night’s match at Castlemaine’s Camp Reserve.

The Tigers attack was led by Teagan Ainslie, five goals, and Jennifer Shellekens on four.

A tally of eight has Ainslie in third place in the league’s goalkicking race.

In-form players for the yellow and black include Belinda Hateley, Shannon White, Ursula Van Dyk and Paige Webber-Mirkin.

Eaglehawk is on the rebound from a two-goal loss to Bendigo Thunder at Weeroona Oval.

Players to watch for the Two Blues include Ebony Whiley, leading goalkicker on six goals, as well as Charlotte and Grace Edlin, Hannah Kenny, Rachel Thomas and Kayla Manning.

The Tigers and Hawks clash from 5.30pm.

In Sunday’s play, Strathfieldsaye faces Bendigo Thunder at Triple M Park in Tannery Lane.

Storm began last round on top spot, but dropped to the third rung after Golden Square won 104 to 10 at Fur Life Vet Oval in Wade Street.

Storm’s best on a tough afternoon against the reigning champs were Alana Long, Angela Gamble, Maeve Tupper and Jessica Kopp.

Tameeka Morrissey leads Strathfieldsaye’s attack on 11 goals and will test Thunder’s defence.

At the other end of the ground, Thunder has Britney Mueck in hot form.

A tally of 17 goals has Mueck in front for the goalkicking award.

Thunder also has Georgia Gordon in form near goal.

Best for Thunder last round were Ayrlea Bailey-McClanahan, Bridget Fellows, Jacinta Louttit, Hannah Perry and Shardae Sharp.

North Bendigo faces a huge test against Golden Square at Hibo Hotel Oval in Atkins Street.

After being scoreless in its opening three games, North Bendigo did score in last Sunday’s game on Kangaroo Flat’s ground at Bendigo Mazda Oval in Dower Park.

Best for the red, white and blue were Cassandra Coughlan, Indianna Phillips, Rose Wilkens, Tanika Thomson, Madelin Jelbart, Kayla-Brea McIntosh.

The North Bendigo defence is likely to be in for another busy afternoon as it tries to stop a Golden Square attack led by Tiahna Cochrane, Andrea Wilson and Lily Campbell.

A formidable line-up includes Sarah Baldwin, Carly McRae, Amanda Carrod, Ella Cochrane, Bree Heiden and Carly Ladson.

Kerang is back on home turf at Riverside Park to take on Kangaroo Flat.

Best for Kerang against Kyneton were Sophie Peacock, Jemma Meehan, Arieta Laweloa and Rachael Booth.

The Blues worked hard to score three goals in the first of their home against Eaglehawk in round two.

Kangaroo Flat’s Eloise Gretgrix, Shelby Knoll and Kelly Mensforth all kicked four goals in the latest victory.

In-form players in the Roos line-up are Chloe Green, Abbey Barber, Knoll, Ruby Campbell, Millicent Hipwell and Mensforth.

All of Sunday’s games start at 2.30pm.

Standings in the Champions IGA-backed CVFL women’s footy competition:

Golden Square 438 per cent, 12 points; Bendigo Thunder 407, 12; Strathfieldsaye 222, 12; Kangaroo Flat 446, 8; Kyneton 158, 8; Eaglehawk 109, 22; Kerang 10, 0; North Bendigo 0.2, 0.


Written by Nathan Dole