Tigers tear St Arnaud apart at Sea Lake

SEA Lake Nandaly racked up a 154-point victory against St Arnaud in Saturday’s fifth round of the Goldacres North Central Football League’s senior footy action.

Seven goals by gun forward Billy McInnes was among many highs for the Tigers in the 27.17 (179) to 4.1 (25) result.

The Tigers led 32-nil at quarter-time and 82-nil by half-time.

St Arnaud struck back to score three goals in the third and worked hard to limit Sea Lake Nandaly to a score of 4.5.

It was all the Tigers in the last term as they added 11.2 to 1.1.

Multiple goalkickers for SLN were Will Simpson, five; John Summerhayes, three; Wade Donnan, Matt Elliott and Justin Ellis, two.

Josh Hicks led the Saints’ attack on two goals.

Best for the Tigers were ruckman Ryan O’Sullivan, Austin Mertz, Trent Donnan, Matt Elliott, Brodie Adcock and Charlie Cox.

William Bertalli, Ben Batters, Jake Hicks, Daniel Gifford, Joe Pickthall and Kurtis Torney worked hard for St Arnaud.


Donald’s winning run kept rolling as the Royals won all quarters in a 12.20 (92) to 6.7 (43) result on Wycheproof Narraport’s ground at Wycheproof.

The Royal Blues led 21-9 at quarter-time and 36-23 at the long break.

The Demons kept the heat on to be within 27 points at a quarter to go, but Donald kicked clear in the last to score 5.4 to two goals.

Brody Haddow led the Royals attack on three goals as Will Burke added two.

Leading goalkicker for the Demons was Samuel Faure on two.

Donald’s best were Josh Potter, Ryan Hards, Will Burke, Ross Young, Haddow, and Scott Wood.

The Demons’ best were Lachlan Van Schaik, Damien Horbury, Joe Kenny, Faure, Jack McHutchison and Justin Bateson.


Birchip Watchem dominated the first half on its way to a 125-40 victory at Charlton Park.

The Bulls slammed on 6.8 to nil in the second to lead 68-9 by the long break.

Charlton struck back to score four goals in the third as the Bulls scored 4.2.

Despite wayward kicking, Birchip Watchem chalked up 4.7 to 1.1 in the last to complete an 18.17 (125) to 6.4 (40) result.

William Sheahan led the Bulls’ attack on six goals as Daniel Castellano added four.

Charles Patullo was the Navies’ multiple goalkicker on two.

Sheahan earned best afield honours as Marshall Rippon, Dale Hinkley, Lochy Sirett, Elliot Jaeschke and Stefan Pye played well for Birchip Watchem.

Best for Charlton were Thomas Finlay, Tim Hill, Patrick Soulsby, Rhys Thompson, Jackson Zagame and Jed Thompson.


Wedderburn set the winning platform in the first half of its clash with Boort at Wedderburn’s Donaldson Park.

The Redbacks led 39-13 at quarter-time and then scored 5.1 to 2.0 in the second for a 45-point margin by the main break.

Boort hit back to win the third term as it added three goals and held the home team to a tally of 2.3.

It was a hard-fought final quarter which the Redbacks won 15-14 on their way to a 100 to 57 result.

Tom Campbell and Jordan Rosengren kicked four goals apiece for Wedderburn.

The Magpies’ attack was led by Levi Moss with three as Cody Gunn and Keanu Padula added two each.

Wedderburn’s best were Jackson Guan, Jayden Jones, Tom Campbell, Tyson Webster, Corey Lowry and Samuel Lockhart.

Jesse Muscatello, Matt Chisari, Sam Green, Darcy Hawker, Jarrod Starr and Tom Potter played well for the Magpies.


North Central FL senior footy ladder:

Donald 329 per cent, 20 points; Sea Lake Nandaly Tigers 429, 16; Birchip Watchem 218, 16; Wedderburn 161, 16; Wycheproof Narraport 58, 8; Boort 49, 4; Charlton 29, 0; St Arnaud 28, 0.

It’s a general bye next Saturday.

The season resumes on May 21 when round six is contested.

Charlton and St Arnaud will be fighting to break their season ‘duck’ on the Navies turf at Charlton Park.

Donald tackles Wedderburn in the Royals house at Donald Recreation Reserve.

Birchip Watchem plays Wycheproof Narraport on the Bulls’ turf at George Cartwright Oval in Birchip.

Boort and Sea Lake Nandaly meet in the clash of the Magpies and Tigers at Boort Park.


Leading goalkickers:

28 Billy McInnes, SLN.

18 William Sheahan, BW.

16 Daniel Castellano, BW.

15 Tom Campbell, W’burn; Jordan Rosengren, W’burn.

14 Danny Benaim, W’burn.

13 Justin Ellis, SLN; Blake Grant, D.

10 Leigh Burke, D.

9 Ben DeAraugo, W’burn; Cody Green, WN; Riely Thiesz, C.

8 Joshua Hicks, SA; Elliot Jaeschke, BW; Josh Potter, D; Will Simpson, SLN.

7 Dylan Adkins, BW; Brody Haddow, D; Jaran McKay, W’burn.

6 Will Burke, D; Matt Elliott, SLN; Brodie Leonard-Shannon, B; Ross Young, D.


Written by Nathan Dole.