White Hills breaks North Bendigo’s run of home wins

WHITE Hills broke North Bendigo’s long-running streak of home wins in Saturday’s third of the Bendigo Bank Heathcote District Football Netball League’s senior footy action.

The Demons were determined to end the Bulldogs run of dominance at Hibo Hotel Oval in Atkins Street which stretched back for June 13, 2015.

An evenly-fought opening quarter ended with White Hills up 19-14.

The Sam Kerridge-coached Demons then lifted the run from half-back and through midfield to score 5.3 to 1.2 in the second to gain a five goal break by half-time.

A Demons attack which had the marking power of Matt Sawyer, skill of Jed Lamb and elusiveness of Mitch Dole was causing headaches for North Bendigo’s defence.

At the other end of the ground, Jack Fallon and Hayden Wright were superb in the White Hills defence.

The Matt Dillon-coached North Bendigo played a brilliant third term.

Goals by Manny Thalasinos, Dylan Klemm, Storm Giri, Harry O’Meara, Aarryn Craig and Clay Davies lifted North Bendigo’s hopes.

The Demons did reply through Dole, Kerridge, Marc Millard and Dole for a 19-point lead at a quarter to go.

It was all White Hills in the last as a run of six unanswered goals included Mitch Walsh, Dole, Sawyer, Patrick Eifting, Kerridge and Jed Lamb being on target.

A game-high four goals by Dole and three majors apiece by Lamb, Millard and Sawyer capped a 121-64 victory for the red and black.

The classy O’Meara led North’s attack on three goals.

Kerridge was best afield as Fallon, Millard, Sawyer, Jake Dickens and Hayden Wright all starred in a superb victory by White Hills.

Best for North Bendigo were Dylan Klemm who took some great contested marks and flew high several times, along with ruckman Brodie Thomson, O’Meara, Craig, Koe Ngawati and Jordan Ford.

Heathcote celebrated its victory since the 13th round of the 2019 season as the Saints beat Leitchville Gunbower by 89 points at Pigeon Park in Heathcote’s Barrack Reserve.

Kai Cavallaro led the Saints attack on five goals as the classy Codie Price was best afield in the 141-52 victory for the Wayne Primmer-coached Heathcote.

The Saints led 29-6 at quarter-time and 79-26 by half-time.

It was a home team blitz in the third as Heathcote added 6.6 to a point.

A tally of 12 goalkickers included two each by Jack Brooks, Alex McIvor, Billy and Codie Price and Josh Shaw.

The Leitchville Gunbower attack was led by Bryce Bethune and Oskar Smartt on two.

Best for Heathcote were Codie Price, Cavallaro, Billy Price, Joseph Langford, Shaw and Jake Condon.

Will Brereton, Lee Pollock, Ayden Walton and Josh Hawken played well for the Bombers.

Lockington Bamawm United won three quarters on its way to a 106-59 victory on Mount Pleasant’s turf in Toolleen.

The Cats led 35-7 at quarter-time and won the next two quarters, 28-6 and 10-7.

Mount Pleasant fought back to win the last term, 39-33.

Goals and best players for LBU were not supplied.

The Blues’ attack was led by Dale Young and Daniel Whiting on three apiece.

Best for Mounts were Billy Mahony, Liam Collins, Dan Davie, Young, Travis Baird and Whiting.

Colbinabbin scored a 65-point win at home against Huntly.

The Grasshoppers triumphed 102-37 at M.J. Morgan Reserve.

Todd Clarked kicked four goals in a best on ground performance as Ryan Hon marked his comeback game with three goals.

Colbo’s best included Ben Southam, Ben Barton, Jed Brain, Stephen Tuohey and Nick Knight.

Tyler Miles, Luke Jones, Josh Harris, Jay McDonald and Jake Semmel worked hard for the Huntly Hawks.

Elmore had the bye.

Heathcote DFNL senior footy ladder:

White Hills 336 per cent, 12 points; Lockington Bamawm United 238 per cent, 12 points; Colbinabbin 115, 8; North Bendigo 100, 8; Heathcote 109, 4; Mount Pleasant 97, 4; Huntly 67, 4; Elmore 42, 0; Leitchville Gunbower 37, 0.

In Saturday’s fourth round, White Hills is at home against Heathcote at Tint-A-Car Oval in Scott Street.

Huntly tackles Mount Pleasant at Specialist Breeders Australia Oval in Huntly’s Strauch Reserve.

Leitchville Gunbower plays Colbinabbin at Degroot Roof Painting Oval in Leitchville.

Lockington Bamawm United clashes with Elmore at Lockington’s Nichol Trading Oval.

North Bendigo has the bye.


Written by Nathan Dole