BFNL Round 17 Football Review | Golden Square wins another thriller in Eaglehawk


GOLDEN Square and Eaglehawk played out another thrilling finish in Saturday’s 17th round of senior footy in the Bendigo Bank Bendidgo FNL season.

The Bulldogs and Hawks clashed on Eaglehawk’s turf at Canterbury Park.

There was plenty at stake as Golden Square needed to keep the heat on the ladder-leading Sandhurst, and Eaglehawk strived to strengthen its grip on the third rung.

Defensive pressure from both teams was outstanding.

The Travis Matheson-coached Eaglehawk led 15-8 at quarter-time and 28-23 by the long break.

In the third term the Two Blues added 1.4, but worked incredibly hard to limit the Bulldogs to a tally of 1.1.

Just as it had done against the Hawks in the eighth round, Golden Square overcame a three quarter-time deficit.

The Bulldogs scored 3.3 to 1.3 in the final term to complete a 51-47 victory.

Joel Brett led Square’s attack on three goals.

Leading goalkickers for the Hawks were Sam O’Shannessy and Ben Thompson with two.

Golden Square’s best were Jack Hickman, Tom Toma, Zack Shelton, Jack Threlfall, Jayden Burke and Harrison Burke.

Clayton Holmes, Dillon Williams, Billy Evans, Connor Dalgleish, Ben Thompson and Dylan Hanley played well for Eaglehawk.

It was a stunning turnaround by Gisborne as it took on South Bendigo at Gardiner Reserve.

When these clubs met in round eight, South Bendigo scored a 68-point victory.

This time it was the Bulldogs who have premiership-winning coach Rob Waters back in charge who dominated play.

Gisborne led 27-26 at quarter-time and then scored 18 goals across the next three quarters and held the Bloods to tally of seven.

The Bulldogs opened up a 25-point lead by half-time as it work in the stoppages and linking up with runners proved too much for the Bloods to stop.

Gisborne scored 5.5 to 1.5 in the second term and then added 13.8 to 6.2 in the second half for a 148-75 result.

Brilliant on-baller Brad Bernacki, James Gray and Harry Luxmoore kicked a team-high four goals.

Other multiple goalkickers were Ben Eales, Harry Thomas, Tom Wood, two.

The Bloods’ attack was led by Will Keck on five goals as Brock Harvey added three.

Gisborne’s best were Matt Weber, Zac Vescovi, Brad Bernacki, Macklan Lord, Flynn Lakey and Ben Eales.

On a disappointing day for the Nathan Horbury-coached South Bendigo it was Will Keck, Mac Cameron, Sam Griffiths, Andrew van Heumen, Brody Haddow and Sam Langley who were best.

Kyneton won a great contest with Kangaroo Flat on the Roos’ ground at Dower Park.

The Tigers led 44-35 at half-time and then took control in the third as they scored 5.1 to 1.4.

Although the Jeremy Hayes-coached Roos faced a five-goal deficit at the start of the final quarter they never gave up.

Kangaroo Flat won the last term, 26-9, but it was the Darren Chambers-coached Kyneton which took the points in an 84-71 victory.

The Tigers’ attack was led by Steven Georgiou, Bailey McGee and Jake Summers on two goals.

Luke Foreman kicked a match-high four goals for the Roos as Mitch Collins added two.

Best for Kyneton were Thomas Quinn, Harrison Huntley, Ben Cameron, Hamish Yunghanns, Bailey McGee and Ethan Foreman.

Ryan O’Keefe, Mitch Trewhella, Darcy McClure, Liam and Mitch Collins, and Zac Rouse were the Kangaroos’ best.

Sandhurst marked a 99-35 victory at Castlemaine’s Camp Reserve.

It was in quarters two and four where the Dragons fired up.

Sandhurst led 15-10 at quarter-time and then scored 5.6 to a point in the second.

The Brendan Shepherd-coached Castlemaine fought back to win the third term, 16-3.

The last went Sandhurst’s way, 45-8, for a 99-35 result.

Matt Wilkinson kicked five goals for the Dragons as Nick Stagg and Lachlan Wright added two each.

Best for a Dragons team jointly coached by Ash Connick and Bryce Curnow were Hamish Hosking, Matt Wilkinson, Sam Conforti, Noah Walsh, James Coghlan and Tanner Nally.

Riley Pedretti, Lloyd Butcher, Liam Wilkinson, Bailey Henderson, Brad Keogh and Brendan Josey were Castlemaine’s best.

It was another brilliant performance by Strathfieldsaye’s attack against Maryborough at Strathfieldsaye’s Triple M Park.

The Darryl Wilson-coached Storm led 96-nil at half-time.

Storm captain Lachlan Sharp was in hot form again as he kicked eight goals in a team tally of 32.

Other multiple goalkickers in the 226-8 victory were Baxter Slater and Jordan Wilson, five; Caleb Ernst, four; Lachlan Monti, three; and Lachlan Gill, two.

Jai Howell goaled for Maryborough.

Storm’s best were Lachlan Gill, Daniel Clohesy, Cooper Jones, Matt Harvey, James Schischka and Luke Webb.

Brady Neill, Kya Lanfranchi, Josh Britten, Dylan Reece, Nic Swan and Darcy Bond worked hrd for the Coby Perry-coached Maryborough.

Bendigo FNL senior footy ladder:

Sandhurst 228 per cent, 62 points; Golden Square 237, 60; Eaglehawk 198, 46; Strathfieldsaye 159, 44; South Bendigo 127, 36; Kyneton 82, 36; Gisborne 118, 28; Kangaroo Flat 59, 20; Castlemaine 40, 8; Maryborough 19, 0.

It’s first against third as Sandhurst takes on Eaglehawk in next Saturday’s 18th and final round of the home and away series.

Kyneton tackles Strathfieldsaye in Tigerland at Kyneton Showgrounds.

South Bendigo and Castlemaine meet in the Bloods’ home at Harry Trott Oval in Neale Street, Kennington.

Golden Square hosts Kangaroo Flat in the battle of the neighbours at Fur Life Oval in Golden Square’s Wade Street.

Maryborough and Gisborne clash at Maryborough’s Princes Park.

Leaders in the goalkicking race for the Ron Best Medal:

87 Lachlan Sharp, Strathfieldsaye.

76 Joel Brett, Golden Square.

60 Brock Harvey, South Bendigo.

52 Steven Stroobants, South Bendigo.

44 Lachlan Wright, Sandhurst.

38 Will Keck, South Bendigo.

34 Lewin Davis, Eaglehawk.

34 Cameron Manuel, Kyneton.

30 Braydon Vaz, Golden Square.

29 James Schischka, Strathfieldsaye.

26 Andy Collins, Sandhurst.

26 Jack Stewart, Golden Square.

25 Matt Thornton, Sandhurst.

24 Thomas Quinn, Kyneton.

24 Harry Whitty, Kangaroo Flat.

23 Ryan Hartley, Golden Square.

22 Nick Stagg, Sandhurst.

21 Hamish Morcom, Golden Square.

21 Noah Wheeler, Eaglehawk.

20 Darcy Richards, Eaglehawk.

20 Baxter Slater, Strathfieldsaye.

20 Tom Toma, Golden Square.

18 Brad Bernacki, Gisborne.

18 Jed Brereton, Strathfieldsaye.

18 Ethan Foreman, Kyneton.

18 Harry Luxmoore, Gisborne.

18 Matt Merrett, Gisborne.

17 Cam McGlashan, Eaglehawk.

16 Sam Conforti, Sandhurst.

16 Zac Denahy, Gisborne.

16 Billy Evans, Eaglehawk.

16 Jack O’Shannessy, Eaglehawk.

16 Jordan Wilson, Strathfieldsaye.

15 Luke Ellings, Gisborne.

15 Liam Marciano, Eaglehawk.

15 Jake Summers, Kyneton.

14 Jack Hickman, Golden Square.

14 Nic Keogh, Kangaroo Flat.

14 Cobi Maxted, Sandhurst.

14 Callum McCarty, Strathfieldsaye.

14 Zavier Murley, Golden Square.

13 Liam Collins, Kangaroo Flat.

13 Dylan Hird, Eaglehawk.

13 Brad Keogh, Castlemaine.

13 Sam Langley, South Bendigo.

13 Jack Reaper, Gisborne.

13 Matt Wilkinson, Sandhurst.

12 Sam Barnes, Kangaroo Flat.

12 Liam Barrett, Golden Square.

12 Braidon Blake, Gisborne.

12 Luke Foreman, Kangaroo Flat.

12 Kallen Geary, Eaglehawk.

12 Bailey Henderson, Castlemaine.

12 Tom Strauch, Golden Square.