CMFNL Netball Grand Final Review | Swan Hill claims netball title in extra time


SWAN Hill clinched victory as the Central Murray FNL’s A-grade netball grand final showdown with Lake Boga on Saturday went into extra time.

Scores were locked on 41-all at the end of regulation time on the court at Swan Hill Recreation Reserve.

In extra time it was the Swans who capitalised on chances to record a 50-44 victory against the Mapies.

After gaining an 11-10 lead by quarter-time, Swan Hill  charged clear to be up 23-19 at half-time.

In the third quarter it was Lake Boga which fought back brilliantly to make it 32-all going into the last term.

Both line-ups added nine goals in the fourth quarter.

Swan Hill won extra time, 9-3, and the match 50-44.

Zoe Morris scored a game-high 33 goals for the Swans as Ingrid Condly added 17.

The Magpies’ attack was led by Sarah and Katie Hepburn on 24 and 20 goals.

Best on court honours went to Swan Hill’s Ingrid Condely.

The Swans’ team was coached by Madeleine Nalder, Kelsey McCoy and Mollie Quin.

Swan Hill:

Kelly Bonney, Carly Marie Clark, Ingrid Condely, Jenna Jenkins, Kelsey McCoy, Karli McIntyre, Zoe Morris, Peyton Oliver, Mollie Quin, Holly Rogers, Ava Seymour, Maeve Sheldrick.

It was a one-goal thriller between Mallee Eagles and Balranald in A-reserve.

Scores were 12-all at quarter-time before Balranald won the second term, 9-7.

The Kangaroos bounced away to a five-goal lead going into the fourth quarter.

In the last it was the Meg Allen-coached Mallee which dominated play to win the term, 13-7, and the match, 41-40, to complete an unbeaten season.

A tally of 27 goals earned Julia Amezdroz from the Eagles the best on court award.

Balranald’s goalers were Bec Harvey, 24; and Macy Lloyd, 16.

Mallee Eagles:

Julia Amezdroz, Alana Bookham, Emily Bookham, Alicia Harvey, Amy Hinton, Jessica Jobling, Jorja McDonald, Dakota Meehan, Nevaeh Roberts, Milly Saville, Emelia Shannahan.

Woorinen won the B-grade decider against Koondrook Barham by six goals.

The Tigers led 8-6 at quarter-time and 18-12 by the long break.

Koondrook Barham hit back to be within three goals going into the last quarter.

The Toni Bolton-coached Tigers steadied to record a 33-27 victory.

Woorinen’s attack was led by Melissa Rushton, 18; and Toni Bolton, 15.

Best on court honors went to Skye Kelly from Woorinen.

Goalers for the River Raiders included Sassi-Jo McGrath, 10; and Mandy Fulton, 8.

The Tigers were beaten just once in the run to premiership glory.


Eva Bolton, Toni Bolton, Donal Fellows, Tenay Fellows, Stacey Hanns, Skye Kelly, Courtney Lolicato, Greta Miller, Sharni O’Connor, Melissa Rushton, Taylor Wright.

Kerang capped a remarkable run from the elimination final to win the B-reserve grand final against Koondrook Barham by 12 goals.

The Zenda Peacock-coached Kerang was down 11-14 at quarter-time, but hit back to win the second term, 11-7.

A five-goal buffer for the Blues at the start of the last was 12 by the end after a 14-7 term.

At the final siren Kerang led 48-36 as Mikala McNeill earned best on court honours.

Goalers for the Blues were Zenda Peacock, 30; and Harley Tarr, 18.

The River Raiders’ attack was led by Jordyn Donovan, 29; and Paige Mooring, 7.

Koondrook Barham was beaten just once in the run to the grand final.


Jedda Birch, Kiama Birrer, Denai Buckow, Ebony Hipworth, Terri McKenzie, Mikala McNill, Melissa Ottosson, Zenda Peacock, Harley Tarr, Kobie Waddingham, Bianca Wise, Jamison Wise.

Tyntynder won three of four quarters against Cohuna to be the 18-and-under premiers.

The Emma Smith-coached Tyntynder led 12-8 at quarter-time and 27-16 by half-time.

Cohuna bounced back to win the third term, 11-8, but Tyntynder finished strongly to win the last, 15-10, and the match, 50-37.

A team-high 26 goals earned Olivia Stead from Tyntynder the best on court honours as Tahni Smith chipped in with 16.

Cohuna’s attack was led by Ebony Black, 29; as Sammi Moon added eight.

After an unbeaten run of 14 matches in the home-and-away series, Tyntynder hit back from a three-goal loss to Cohuna in the second semi to record a two-goal win against Mallee Eagles in the preliminary final.


Isabella Corrie, Rose Crowe, Audrey Domaille, Zarlie Featherby, Harmonie Martin, Myah Monk, Milla Nalder, Amidel Sait, Tahni Smith, Olivia Stead.

A goal separated Kerang and Woorinen at the end of the 16-and-under grand final.

The Tara Cordina-coached Kerang led 11-10 at quarter-time, but was down 23-22 by the main break.

Unbeaten in the home and away series and victorious in the second semi, Woorinen fired up to gain a five-goal lead going into the last term.

The Blues staged a remarkable fightback to score 11 goals as it held the Tigers to a tally of five in the final quarter.

With Lily Wise in hot form, Kerang won 43-42.

Details on Kerang’s goalers were not supplied.

Willow Conlan scored 32 goals for Woorinen.


Brylee Clingan, Brooke Heffer, Alli Hunter, Chloe Meehan, Hallie Murphy, Joli Robertson, Maia Velleley, Kobie Waddingham, Jamison Wise, Lily Wise.

The 14-and-under premiership went Lake Boga’s way as the Magpies swooped for an eight-goal win against Tyntynder.

The Taigan O’Shannassey-coached Lake Boga led 7-4 at quarter-time and 13-11 at half-time.

Lake Boga charged clear as it won the third term, 7-4.

It was a closely-fought final quarter which went the Magpies’ way, 9-6, to record a 29-21 victory.

Best on court honours went to Ruby Ryan from Lake Boga.

Details on goalers for the Magpies and Bulldogs were not supplied.

Lake Boga:

Imogen Frost-Thomas, Morgan Heil, Lani Holt, Brealle Lynas, Holly Lynas, Maddox Parsons, Zoe Robertson, Ruby Ryan, Hope Tonkin, Pippa White.