CMFNL Round 4 Football Review


Blues outplay Tigers at Kerang

KERANG marked a 20-point victory against Woorinen in Saturday’s fourth round of Radio 3SH-backed senior footy in the Central Murray season.

The Blues had home-ground advantage at Kerang’s Riverside Park.

Despite plenty of attacking in the first quarter, Kerang was goalless by the break, but held a four-point lead after scoring six behinds.

The Blues scored three goals in the next quarter to gain a 19-point buffer by the main break.

Led by the play of Jarryd Pertzel, Sean Hunter and Josh Nitschke, Kerang was up 46-28 going into the final quarter.

Three goals straight as the Tigers added 2.4 meant Kerang sealed a 64-44 victory.

The Blues’ attack was led by Jarryd Pertzel on four goals in a best afield performance.

Sole multiple goalkicker for the Tigers was Jason Iannucci on two.

Kerang’s best included Jesse Clark, Tyson Clingan and Harry Bremner.

The Tigers’ best were Henry Thompson, Regan Vesty, Matthew Gardner, Otto Conlan, Arnold Kirby and Daniel Mase.

Tooleybuc Manangatang won the clash on the Cohuna Kangas ground by 19 points.

The Brad Morris-coached Saints led 41-28 at half-time and then scored 3.1 to 2.1 in the crucial third quarter.

Connor Nutting went on to kick four goals as Johnathan Marsden added three and Harrison Maher chipped in with two as the Saints won 80-61.

Multiple goalkickers for Cohuna were Izaac Johnson and Xavier Mitchell on two.

Best for Tooleybuc Manangatang were Elliot Chalmers, Blake Grant, Jaicob Kenny, Jesse Wilson, Harrison Maher and Connor Mcdonald.

Jack Donat, Joel Helman, Rhys Thrum, Zac Poole, Sam Leitch and Brenton Conforti were best for the Jack Geary-coached Kangas.

Seven goals by Brandyn Grenfell were a highlight in Nyah Nyah West United’s win at home against Mallee Eagles.

An evenly-fought first half ended with the Demons in front, 40-37.

The NNWU line-up dominated most of the final hour and with superb accuracy as it scored 14.1 to 5.4.

By the final siren the Demons were up 125-71.

Co-coach Nick O’Neill continued his great form with five goals as Dominic Gallo added two.

Mallee’s attack was led by Darcy Hourigan and Andrew Mead-Harding, four; and Jayden Post on two.

Best for the Demons were Jordan Iudica, Dominic Gallo, Brandyn Grenfell, Darcy Butler, Nick O’Neill and Lucas Iudica.

Wes Bennett, Andrew Mead-Harding, Darcy McGregor, Brady Fordham, Kieren Bourke and Jacob O’Meara played well for the Eagles.

Lake Boga was too strong for Koondrook Barham at Lake Boga Sports Club.

The Magpies led 38-16 at half-time and added 6.6 to 3.5 in the second half for an 80-39 victory.

David Gourdis and Koben Ryan kicked three goals and Aaron Lonergan added two.

There were no multiple goalkickers for Koondrook Barham.

Best for Lake Boga were Josh Wills, Will Doquile, Koben ryan, Kadek Irvan, Kai Everett and Zac Warne.

Scott Wood, Patrick Goble, Mitch Christensen, Jack Shannon, Kye Attwell and Cambell Davison worked hard for the River Raiders.

Balranald marked a nine-goal win on home turf at Greenham Park against Tyntynder.

The Kangaroos led 42-23 at half-time and then won the third, 33-14.

Colin Andrews kicked a match-high five goals and Lachlan Lellman added three as Balranald won 115-61.

Tyntynder’s attack was led by Jason Eagle and Jayden Magro on three goals.

Best for Balranald were Jordan Wilkins, Colin Andrews, Cruz Jolliffe, Drew Lloyd, Jaxon Neagle and Harrison Soraggi.

Matt Corney, Justin Ellis, Jason Eagle, Jayden Magro, Harry Simpson and Ben Hallam played well for the Bulldogs.

Swan Hill had the bye.

Central Murray FNL senior footy ladder:

Nyah Nyah West United 161 per cent, 16 points; Balranald 167, 12; Kerang 140, 12; Tooleybuc Manangatang 113, 12; Woorinen 108, 8; Tyntynder 84, 8; Cohuna Kangas 104, 4; Mallee Eagles 85, 4; Lake Boga 71, 4; Swan Hill 65, 0; Koondrook Barham 42, 0.

In next Saturday’s fifth round, Mallee Eagles play Cohuna Kangas at Lalbert.

Swan Hill is at home to face Nyah Nyah West United.

Koondrook Barham faces Balranald at Barham.

Woorinen tackles Lake Boga in the Tigers’ den at Woorinen Recreation Reserve.

It’s a bye for Kerang, Tooleybuc Manangatang, and Tyntynder.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

21 Brandyn Grenfell, Nyah Nyah West United.

13 Colin Andrews, Balranald.

12 Darcy Hourigan, Mallee Eagles.

10 Drew Lloyd, Balranald.

10 Clayton McCartney, Woorinen.

10 Nick O’Neill, Nyah Nyah West United.

9 Jason Eagle, Tyntynder.

9 Jydon Neagle, Balranald.

9 Josh Williams, Tooleybuc Manangatang.

8 Joel Helman, Cohuna Kangas.

8 Dylan Johnstone, Cohuna Kangas.

7 Charlie Boulton, Nyah Nyah West United.

7 Archer Dibsdale, Kerang.

7 Lachlan Gardner, Woorinen.

7 David Gourdis, Lake Boga.

7 Kai Kearns, Tooleybuc Manangatang.

7 Johnathan Marsden, Tooleybuc Manangatang.

7 Jordan McNeil, Kerang.